We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel manager must be saving on the wages bill !!! 1 barman all day D:”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“hotel manager must be saving on the wages bill !!! 1 barman all day D:”
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We were recomended to use the Bitacora by someone who raved about it from 3 years back. This was before the days off AI obviously.
The Hotel was just not geared up for the number of customers at the Bars day or night. 1 person serving so no surprise that as per other reviews they were miserable at times - There was a constant line of thirsty holiday makers waiting to be served.
The Evening Bar - expect to wait 20 mins for order to be taken and another 20 for it to arrive - No exaggeration.
The manager is saving on the wages and gaining on the cost of AI as despite paying up front you could not get a drink !
Also they require long trousers for dinner - my partner was sent out as his were long style 3/4 lengths !
The Pool Guard is a horror - not even a rubber ring or a small ball allowed in the pool. He chucked out a 4 year old with a ring. We were timing him in the end to see how quickly he appeared after some poor child got their lilo, ring or ball out.
On the positive side the food was ok but in a week we ate out 3 evenings so we could dine al fresco - the hotel dining room is basement level.
I'd recommend staying elsewhere as its not cheap either.

Room Tip: book elsewhere :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manchester101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bitacora O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Bitacora Hotel on Tripadvisor. Naturally, I am disappointed to learn of you rating your stay so poorly... All of us here at Bitacora are very proud of the number of positive contributions that our guests left for us and I am sorry that you did not feel the same way. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for highlighting the parts that you enjoyed .

We will take note of your complaint into consideration in order to keep improving our service

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and apologize once again for the inconveniences you may have experienced
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,801
    1,048
    341
    100
    58
See reviews for
1,669
1,096
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,023)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is the second year running that we have stayed at this hotel during the month of April. Last year we had to stay an extra 4 days due to the ash flume. We were treated very well by the staff especially the receptionists who had a mammoth workload due to the delays.
Our room and bathroom this year was kept spotless all the 10 days, beds were changed regularly, the food was superb, variety incredible no-one should have left the dining room at breakfast or evening feeling hungry.
.Waitresses were friendly and cleared the tables quickly, putting on fresh table cloths immediately.
The reception areas and lounges were kept spotless. The only downside was the number of children there as some children were on Eater holidays. The pool areas were packed like sardines, as we don't use the pool the fact sunbeds were hard to find didn't bother us, but did affect other guests we spoke to. Apart from picking school holidays times I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacknanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much last year, that you decided to come back!!!

We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Best regards

Spring HOteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

This hotel lives on nits past excellent reputation which under new management has sadly gone downhill bigtime. Queues for meals just like Butlins dissatisfied staff too noisy on lower floors. entertainment poor . access to bars limited.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TOMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are sorry about how you feel about the new management being a repeating customer, and the new positive changes that are happening, like the renovation of the rooms, new flat screen Tv and a new computer system that might be causing queues at first.

Best regards

Spring HOteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackrock
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed in late April for 1 week. 2 adults 3 children under 12. Found the hotel to be really nice. Second time here. Spotlessly clean. Rooms well maintained, cleaned daily. As some have said they may need a little updating but I believe this is upcoming. Flat screen TV in the room a nice touch with good selection of channels. The food really is very good here. Plenty of choice at all meal times. Staff very efficient and polite ( didn't meet any rude ones ). All inclusive option good value for us. Evening entertainment not great. Too many singers. Best thing about this hotel is the entertainment team. Loads to do for adults and kids during the day. Great fun and wonderful staff. Overall we loved this place and will hopefully return next year.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you had a great stay with your family, and your be pleased to hear that the rooms are going to be renovated very shortly.

We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Best regards

Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinner
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Good location - in between two vibrant centres. Food fantastic - NEVER a bad meal in 11 days. Service wonderful - in both bar & dining room. Lovely staff.
Negatives - sometimes couldn't find sun loungers - people tended to leave towels very early on them & then didn't actually occupy the sunlungers 'til into the afternoon.

Room Tip: Nice to have a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeePinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam

Thank you very much for your comment. we are glad to hear you had a nice stay.

We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.

Best Regards

Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Overall the hotel, food, rooms and ammenities were good but the overall experience was let down by rude and unhelpful staff.

The hotel is well placed for the night life of Veronicas and Starco and is a short walk from the beach. It is however better suited for couples, families and older visitors than younger travellers.

I would just about recommend the hotel to others and if you can ignore the rude staff (as we did eventually) then you will enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad to hear that you liked the hotel and its facilities, but are sorry to hear that you consider our staff to be rude.

Best regards

Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

The hotel is run very efficiently, but due to it's size the staff don't even have time to ask if you're having a nice time. They recognise you, but that's all. It just feels like a factory - no soul.

We were booked out the first night and were upgraded for the rest of our stay to full board from half-board. Very good until we got to the end of our stay and the hotel tried to charge us for full board. Luckily I had a copy of our original booking to show the reception. The reception staff obviously had no idea who we were and the history of the booking. Not impressive at all.

I would describe Playa de las Americas as a poor man's version of Las Vegas. Pretty tacky and run down.

It was a good break in that you didn't have anything to do and the hotel entertainment was good, but since we're not a family who wants to spend their whole day lying by the pool it wasn't the best holiday for us. We enjoy hotels with more client / customer contact.

On a good point there are some very good, protected, local, sandy beaches for those who want to leave the hotel about 15 mins walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: 6th to 8th floor pool side for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, E-commerce at Spring Hotel Bitacora, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, but are sorry to hear the way you feel about Playa de las Americas,.

Best regards

Spring Hoteles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Bitacora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Bitacora

Property: Spring Hotel Bitacora
Address: C/ California, 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Bitacora 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring Hotel Bitácora**** situated in the center of Playa de Las Americas and surrounded by a, sub-tropical garden is the perfect family hotel. It is only a short stroll from the shopping centers and entertainment area. A fabulous beach is just few minutes away and also near the golf course Las Americas (1 km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Spring Hotel Bitacora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bitacora Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Bitacora Tenerife
Bitacora Tenerife
Spring Hotel Bitacora Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing