We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Las Dalias
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As two sixty year olds we found the hotel a little tired but the staff were fantastic on arrival we were given a basic room at the end of a long corridor facing the road paid 12Euros a night to get pool and sea view was worth it food was good with show chef at every meal we were A/I drinks were great with many named brands it was a steep hill to the beach / harbour taxi cost 3.5Euros save your legs entrance faced a large shopping mall with plenty of duty free bargains bit of a race for sun beds in morning ppol not open till 8 45 in mornings so no 5.00 am people getting the best beds .hotel has gym sqash court ,pool tables table tennis tables games room

Room Tip: choose higher floors when you book save having to change wheh you get there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,681 - 2,687 of 4,768 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in September for two weeks, the hotel was very clean, rooms need updating but rooms were kept clean and beds made every day, went to look at a pool view room and they cost 15 euro's a day so we stayed where we were [not in the room long enough to bother really], best to go all inclusive as the drinks were very expensive, we only found out when we got there [booked half board] so went all inclusive the next day, 2 pools there with plenty of sunbeds, although the cleaning staff would not let you put towels on the beds until at least 9am, so if your an early riser you will have a lot of waiting about. the entertainment staff were brilliant, funny, and daft, there was always something to do every day, entertainment at night was good, with the staff putting on a few of their own shows. Some of the waiter staff were a bit rude, you could stand at the bar and they would walk right past you and serve someone else, the all inclusive was not left to local drinks only, you could have smirnoff vodka, baileys [not the real one but good enough] and bottles of cava, the food was ok, much of the same most nights,the soups were lovely, plenty of choice though with the food have just booked to go back next September, the weather was still very hot. Don't bother filling your suitcase up with toiletries there is a supermarket across the road which is very cheap with a great selection. Went on a boat trip to see the pilot whales and was not disappointed. Cant wait to go back.
P.S Just one downer the dreaded cockroaches, but never once saw any in the room.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrscEssex_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

As a couple 60 and 57 we stayed 2 weeks in September, Upgraded to all inclusive on arrival , The drinks are dear at the bar so A/I works out very well. The hotel is well laid out with a good pool area. All the bars are good with a good choice of drinks with many well known brands
The hotel although up a slight incline is very well placed for most things in the area.
The rooms are a good size and well looked after by excellent cleaners, bedding and towells changed regurally
If you are a pool person the all inclusive package is a better option than the half board



The food was ok but slightly disappointing, they tended to cater for the Spanish holiday makers and not for the Brits

Room Tip: Most of the rooms tend to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George290152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If I was asked in 2010 what I thought of this hotel I would of rated it 5 out of 5 but come on, leeking roof, no air con except for your room and feeling for the buttons for the lift because they wont put the lights on! Its uncomfortable sitting in a restaurant or bar watching the entertainment with no aircon at all, sweating like a pig. This wasnt the only problem. The aircon in the rooms sounds like a diesel engine (not just ours), the beds slide accross the floor when you move and are very uncomfortable, the toilet leaked pee despite the maintenance people looking at it and the door handle and curtains fell off. The rooms are very dated and in need of a revamp.
The entertainment staff (with the exception of Rebecca whos not interested) again were superb, they really make the plaice and work really hard especially with the guests interaction.
The food is good with plenty of choice but very little of it is hot. A problem which everyone talks about is the lack of information. Theres nothing worse than finding out on the last day of your holiday that you could of had ice cream from the bar and little things like that. Its like ythey dont want you to know so you dont have it.
The pools are superb for families young and old but several people did have their belongings stolen whilst swimming etc.

Room Tip: Dont expect much sleep if you go to be early or have young children as the entertainment is based pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank porsche996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Las Dalias, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

It is very unfortunate to read that that during your stay some belongings of some of our guests disappeared. Nevertheless, we would like to point out that in order to avoid uncomfortable situations, suspicious against our employees, gaps of credibility or lack of confidence by our customers; we do offer safes to all our guests. We are awfully sorry about the incident but without the relevant complaint made to the police there is very little that we can do.

We are glad to inform you, that facing next season and due to a few comments like yours related to the issue with the air conditioning and the lights, a project is set up to adapt the dates of its working to the reality of the climatologic circumstances and daylight hours instead of planning it accordingly to the theoretic dates of heat. We strive to offer as much comfort as possible and thanks to the fact that our guests are sharing the experience of their stay with us; we can adapt our services to their needs.

Further, we would like to point out that despite the fact that our hotel was built a few years ago, we do our utmost to take good care of it, maintaining all of the installations the best we can. Even so, we took good note of your commentary which was passed to the head office and we commit to study the possibility to renovate some of the areas.

Also, we lament you find there is a lack of information regarding the available services. We will try our best to remedy this.

On the other hand, we are very satisfied that you are so enthusiastic about all of our prime pillars to offer a splendid stay to all our guests. Service orientation and helpfulness of our staff, cleanliness of the in- and outside installations, gastronomical delights and a perfect location are the four most important elements of our company and reading that you find all four marvelous, fills us with joy and proud. We thank you for high lightening these aspects of your holiday as they motivate and stimulate us to keep meeting our outstanding quality standards.

We will take your comments in our consideration and we will try our very best to improve these points. Comments like yours keep motivating us to improve our exclusive and personal service, so our guest can enjoy a wonderful time in our hotel.


Faithfully yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were there for half term, adults and a 16 yr old. It rained almost all week but we still had a great time.

We had rooms 455 and 456 over the main entrance with a view to a small road and the shopping centre and apartments beyond. Reasonable rooms, big enough, clean and with a nice balcony. No issues at all.

Breakfast was a wide choice of breads, including two different brown breads, a big range of pastries, butter, jam etc plus a toaster, then there was cold meat including ham, cheese including a great blue cheese, pate, salad. There were 4 choices of yoghurt with a range of fruit, many cereals with a choice of milk types, fresh fruit including melon, dried fruit. There was also the hot counter - sausage, bacon, tomato, fried eggs, omelette, boiled eggs, scrambled egg, fried potatoes, baked beans and then there was pancakes and cheese and ham toasties. Drinks were hot chocolate, fruit juices, coffee, water, tea. The problem was what to leave out.

Lunch - well there seemed to be a burger and hot dog stall outside, but we didn't bother. Inside was a range of cold meats, cheeses, salads, fish, fruit , bread, pate etc. then there was the hot counter - always pasta with bolognese sause, tomato sauce and cheese, always another pasta choice and pizza. A salad buffet - different choices of made salads every day, chefs salad, seafood salad etc and usually a plate of cold roast meat. There was a grill station with one meat, one fish and one vegetable grill - chicken, turkey, steak, hake, cod, salmon. Then a good range of potatoes and vegetables plus always some meat stew and something like lamb steak in gravy. Finally a superb dessert buffet with rice pudding, tiramisu, lemon merangue pie etc and loads of tiny deserts so you can try a range. Always a cheese board with crackers.

Dinner was similar to lunch, just a wider choice. One night there was a full cheese board with about 15 cheeses plus a chocolate fountain with a huge range of fruit and some wonderful profiteroles.

On top of this was continental breakfast from 10 to 1 and afternoon tea from 3 to 6:30, so food was available from 7am to 9:30pm, but nothing later than that, even as a late night snack for the kids who were pretty hungry by then.

The one big disappointment was drinks in the restaurant for all inclusive. A nice touch of a glass of water each when sitting down but then the choice was 3 very bland house wines, beer, coke, sprite etc and a very reasonable sangria. It would have been nice to be allowed to order (and pay for) a bottle of wine but this just didn't seem to be possible, so we went to the bar first for a drink and brought it in, then back to the bar for a drink after dinner.

The bar - well it was amazing. A long bar menu and most of the drinks were available all inclusive, those that weren't were cheaper to all inclusive guests. I enjoyed the Iberostar cocktail and the snowball and cava, hubby enjoyed gordans and tonic, bacardi and coke. Service was quick and friendly - the problem again was making sure not to over indulge. Bottles water was available to take out. Range also of coffees and hot chocolate throughout the day. The 3rd floor bar was more formal, a very good place for a quiet drink.

Entertainment - we went down to watch most nights. Mama Mia was fun, top hats and heels was hilarious, Elton John wasn't very popular but the oldies stayed to watch. Three tenors, hits from the musicals, haloween all worthwhile. The main entertainments team left at the start of our week but it was still good.

The hotel generally was fine, it was clean, there was space for everyone. The pool was small but always room for some serious swimming later in the day. Well placed, just a stroll to the shopping centre and not far to the beaches. It rained, rained and rained all week, too much to go out a lot of the time but the hotel coped, the kids were kept entertained, we all drank and ate a little too much.

Booked with direct holidays but the paperwork all said Thomas Cook. We never found the Thomas Cook rep, but I guess it didn't matter - the bus times for the airport were up on the notice board, we sorted out the problems with the hotel not having a booking for us by ourselves. It would have been nice to know contact details for an emergency though.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skitandoori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having read a couple of reviews of this hotel I was wondering what to expect on arrival. This is my honest appraisal of the hotel.

Firstly, I travel a lot on international business and stay in a lot of decent hotels, Dubai, South Africa, USA, Asia etc, I know what a good hotel is and how much good hotels cost.

Think about what you are paying for at the Iberostar Las Dalias, I travelled with my wife and two kids (8&3) during half term week and paid around £2200 with Thomas Cook out of Birmingham for an AI package, booked the week prior to the trip. Once you take the flight cost off (Let's say £1000 for four flights, comparable with Easyjet prices to Tenerife South) transfer cost off (let's say £60 for a return taxi) and the room cost off (let's say £50 per room per night and we had two adjoining rooms) you are left with £440 for the AI package and entertainment for a week - bargain in my opinion.

You are really paying £50 per room per night, that is a cheap night in reality, what would you expect for that money? I paid £80 at the Premier Inn the night before the flight to put it in perspective.

Rooms - clean and tidy, fresh towels every day, flat screen large TV in adults room with BBC/ITV/Channel 5 another TV in the kids room, bathrooms clean and decent quality. We had pool view rooms with balconies. Being honest, they could do with a refresh but for £50 per night I wasn't bothered at all.

Pools - three pools available and good pool scene, again kept very tidy, cleaned daily. Kids loved the main kids pool, in and out non stop.

Food - I wouldn't say it was the best food I have every had but again, you get what you pay for and at these prices it was decent, plenty of food and choice available, didn't get overly busy and didn't really have to queue. One small issue I had was that men had to wear trousers and a short or long sleeve shirt to dinner, I guess this does make the place look a lot tidier and stops people wearing vests and shorts etc. I don't see the problem with wearing a pair of tailored shorts for example.

Bars - several bars available, pool bar, indoor entrainment room bar, reception area bar, branded drinks available on the AI package

Staff - this is where I think the hotel really excels. Every, and I mean every, member of staff was friendly and helpful at all times, really made everyone feel welcome. They certainly have a good team and a few characters!

Entertainment - again, very good, the animation team are very good, always encouraging people to join in with the day and night time activities, but by no means over the top in their encouragement. Lots on offer for all ages. The main evening entertainment was different every night. Sometimes performed by the animation team themselves but more often by shows brought in. There is an outdoor entertainment stage and an indoor room too.

I did hear a few people complaining about about the number of kids at the hotel - what did they expect at half term!!!

On the other hand I met a number of people who visit the hotel on an annual basis and I think that speaks volumes.

All things considered, I was impressed with the hotel and felt that we got value for money there, we didn't feel the need to venture outside of the hotel much as we were adequately entertained onsite and had everything right there. I will go back to the hotel again if I can get it for the same money.

Hope you found that useful.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
22  Thank hywel1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel between the 23rd October and the 30th October 2012

I have just returned from this holiday with my wife and six year old daughter. Now we can be fussy buggers, but hey there was absolutely no room to complain about this hotel or the holiday. Our holiday started on a really good footing. We arrived in Tenerife our bags were the first of the carousel, and the first to be dropped off at the hotel.

We were greeted in the reception area with a warm welcome and a glass of champaigne, the booking in took no longer that 5 minutes, we were instructed on how to get to our room. The room was very clean, very airy and very bright and comfortable. The room is used as a base to sleep, shower and change, and anyone who goes on holiday to sit in a room is waisting their money, and thay should stay at home and complain from there.

The food was really good, something different every night, the only small critisism would be that they should put a few more kid friendly items on the menu, however my little girl certainly didn't starve, and always managed to clear her plate. The restaurant staff could not do enough for you, as soon as your plate was clear they were there clearing it away. They were constantly asking if your glass needed filling, or if all was okay. The men have to wear long trousers in the restaurant for the evening meal, which is a nice touch.

The bar area's were always clean and tidy, and the staff happy and smiling and constantly filling your glass, couldn't do enough for you.

The children's club was fantastic, they were always smiling and joking with the kids. They do a circuit in the morning at 10:30 collecting the kids, and then like the pied piper lead them to there activities, which result in cirtificates and diploma's. They are then returned between 12:30 and 13:00 ready for a dip in the pool before going into lunch. They are then collected again at 15:00 hrs and returned again at 16:30 in time for another dip before getting ready for dinner.

The entertainment team work continually to make sure that you have nothing but a fun time on your holiday, of course it is up to you whether you wish to engage and join in the fun or just sit and read a book or sunbath or just have a drink. They will try to encourage you, however aren't overly pushy, they just want you to have a great holiday. Colin who is the chief entertainer and his team consisting of Anthony, Gaetan, Leo, Olivier, Rebecca, Kelly and the rest of the entertainment team you guys are legends, and you really do make the holiday what it is, "Superb", please please please do not change the way you do things, the adult activities, the entertainment team shows in the evening, the mini disco "BRILLIANT".

We went to Siam Parque and Loro Parque, they are fantastic, do not book through Thomas Cook or any of the other travel agents, you will find tickets cheaper localy.
We booked this holiday with Thomas Cook, purely for the security of a rep on site, however we saw him just the once, and that was just to go to the obligtory greeting meeting, this was absolutely pointless, the meeting was the rep just trying to sell trips and excursions at an inflated prices. There was also a Thomas Cook skin care expert who was trying to tell you that the lotions that you have brought with you are no good, and trying to sell you their suntan lotions and aftersun lotions at over 20 - 25 euros a bottle.

The hotel feels very secure for children, there is only one way in and one way out, and that is through the main reception area.

We've met some really nice people on this holiday, really nice families, my little girl made some lovely friends
Overall this holiday was superp, I am going to book again for this time next year, however I am going to book direct with the hotel or Iberostar and not with Thomas Cook as I will be able to secure a better deal without them.

I hope that this is of some help to whom ever reads it

Russ, Jan and Alice from Kent

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank russell h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#13 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,764 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,047 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#5 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,643 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Jardines del Teide
Melia Jardines del Teide
#15 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,468 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Las Dalias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Las Dalias

Address: Gran Bretana, 38679 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $167 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Las Dalias 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Las Dalias is a complete hotel where you can spend a comfortable holiday in Costa Adeje, Tenerife. Every guest will find the kind of relaxation they’re searching for within its convivial, family atmosphere. Located 500 metres from Playa del Bobo, the Las Dalias hotel features 429 rooms with excellent installations, and has services such as a hairdressers, all inclusive, two pools and a children’s pool, live show cooking, Miniclub, Maxiclub, professional shows, free Wi-Fi, children’s park, fitness room, athletic activities, massage service and a top-rate culinary offering at two restaurants and three bars. This hotel has also been recognised because of the friendliness and attentiveness of the hotel staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Las Dalias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Las Dalias Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Iberostar Hotel Las Dalias
Las Dalias Iberostar
IBEROSTAR Las Dalias Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing