We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmm cheap holiday in a depressing hotel”
Review of Las Piramides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Piramides
Reviewed March 6, 2014

only paid £385 all inclusive for a wk,so it was cheap.walked into reception and thought my god whats with all the bamboo poles stuck up covering tiled pillars,old basket weave sofas n chairs n tables n picture frames,infact it was everywere.very depressing!!!this was the theame throughout the hotel.entertainment was bingo with a lovely young lady with a voice that you needed earplugs to block out the annoying voice.did not want to stay in the entertainment room it was dark n dirty no atmosphere, infact crap!food was edable but dinning area was dirty and needed decorating.good location so went out quite abit.in desperate need of a revamp to bring it upto date,some of the staff were ok and some were miserable.glad id only paid what I did felt sorry for some of the other guests that had paid much more.i would think long n hard before I stayed again!!

Room Tip: ok if you can get it for under £400 for a wk, wouldn't pay more for the way it is now
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,049)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 3,049 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at Las Piramides.

At the end of the day you get what you pay for , and as this was cheap there is no point in complaining about the basic repetitive food . In fact it is still repeating on me just now!


Evening reception was very unwelcoming, unless you were Macy Gray selling your wares around the hotel who seemed to be welcomed by the guy on reception more than we were.

The part of the hotel where we stayed has an ingenious card system for the gates ,where you can gain access to where the rooms are without the need for a card , but to get back out you need to have a key card. Burglars don't stand a chance with that set up!

The security guys were so caring that they would chap your door in the early hours just to make sure everything was ok , even if you weren't making any noise at all .Bless .

The main pool area is ok, but they either need to play no music at all or update their tunes as you can only take hokey cokey and music man for so long.

Any atmosphere in the bar area is created by the guests , seems like the hotel doesn't want to do anything to keep the guests in the hotel at night.

Overall the place is a bit dated with very little entertainment but a decent enough base to be before hitting the classy heights of Veronicas.

So , If you like pork done more ways than you thought possible , an unwelcoming reception , no entertainment and security guards on a mission then this is the place for you .

Room Tip: Different Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned last night from a week in this hotel....luckily we were given a room on the ground floor which had a terrace area otherwise this could be a different story. They have 4 pools, 2 near the main area of which you will not get a sunbed unless you get up at silly o clock and 2 quieter ones round the back where you will still struggle for a bed. We had to sneak up in the night to grab 2 beds and placed them on our terrace so we were good for the week as we had our own suntrap. The rooms are ok I guess, maid comes 5 times a week changes the bed once and towels twice!! The restaurant is awful, food is awful, eggs at breakfast are left under a heat lamp which doesn't work so always cold, whatever has been cooked for dinner is what you get the next day for lunch (although it's mixed with other stuff and called something different), dinner doesn't start until 7pm which is far too late especially for those with kids, so you have to hunt for a table and then queue for your dinner... The bar area is so uninviting there is no atmosphere and the so called entertainment (4 shows that lasted 10-20 mins) is rubbish.. We used to have our drinks in the reception area and people watch.. No good for families this is basically for teens on drinking binges.. Will never return...

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was very worried about this hotel with all the mixed reviews but I have to say how happy I was when we arrived. The place doesn't look great from the outside but inside is amazing. Lovely and spacious. There are 4 pools, 1 of which is heated. The food is ok. Breakfast was the best, sometime lunch and evening meal food was very similar and lacked choice. You could get 2 drinks at a time per person on the all inclusive. They had a good choice and included cocktails aswell. Location is amazing, just a short walk from Veronica's. I travelled with a friend and we will certainly be returning. Weather was also amazing!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emzjofos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just back from a weeks all inc holiday at Las Piramides and have to say pleasantly surprised after reading negative comments,
We stayed with 2 x young teenagers and found everything better than expected after reading bad reviews we did call our travel company to find alternative accommodation but then decided to wait and see ,
Food was great and a fantastic choice available ,
Noise levels was as you would expect an a holiday hotel , there was a couple of hen and stag party guests but none of the loud hen and stag parties some have written about in the reviews ,
We would definitely book again !
The only downside to the Las Americas resort is the lucky lucky men offering drugs along side sun glasses and watches :0(

Room Tip: Apartments at the rear of the main buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CIH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice hotel, a little dated but clean. Food choice was good and edible. Location is excellent, close to bars and restaurants. My only criticism of this hotel is the bar area for the evening entertainment. The bar area is more like a reception with no atmosphere and the only shows that were on were geared up for children, reptile, parrot shows etc. Most people tended to have a few drinks and then go out. The hotel and bar staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Overall we had a lovely time and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have just returned from a week at this hotel where I was with my family (kids aged 24, 18 and 13)
When we first got to the room first impressions was that it was large enough for all five of us, but then the damp smell kicked in. The maid came back and sprayed some air freshness which for an initial 10 mins stopped the smell, but the smell lingered all week and if it was not for the fact that my partner and the kids did not want me to ask for a move of room I would of insisted on a move, but for the remainder of the week I avoided spending anytime in the room. The food was good, there was always plenty choice but avoid peak times (7.30pm) as there was always a lack of tables and queuing for food, I don't know how the hotel will cope in the height of season. The pool was clean and they had just taken a delivery of new sun beds, but again I don't know if there would be enough room around the pools during high season. There was no entertainment apart from bingo and animal shows. We spent a lot of time in the local bar called the Anchor, and enjoyed day trips to Siam water park and another on a cantata man. Nice beach within a10 min walk.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
1.4 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#52 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife by Melia
Sol Tenerife by Melia
#33 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,136 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#47 of 60 in Costa Adeje
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Piramides

Address: Avenida Americas S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 58 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $85 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Las Piramides Playa De Americas
Las Piramides Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing