We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over booked!!”
Review of Las Piramides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Piramides
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Overall it was ok, but as per the previous review, we checked in and apparently our room and my parents room had problems with plumbing so we were put in a 2 bedroom apartment for the first night which was very outdated and quite a distance from the main building. When we went to reception the following day, we were told our rooms weren't ready as we had to wait for the previous people to move out and the rooms be cleaned before we could move in. So clearly the "plumbing" thing was a lie. We did eventually get our seperate rooms that day after a number of visits to the reception. Everyone we spoke to in the hotel had the same problem with the majority of them being moved to other hotels for the first night.

The only complaint I have was the queue for the buffet in the evening. You need to expect to queue for at least 20 mins before you get some food if you get to the restaurant between 7 and 8pm. They shoulde re-think the design of the dining room and maybe give access to the food from 2 sides! Then you had to queue separetly in the dining room at the bar if you wanted a drink, again waiting a while.

The room's in the main hotel complex were nice, the hotel was in a good location, nice pool (but difficult to get a sunbed).

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicola216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,030 - 2,036 of 3,122 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

Good value option - Room ( studio ) was very good and had been recently refurbished. Room was in the annex and was quiet aprt from the odd guest. Food was standard for All inclusive. Much better than the reviews I had read. Negatives on all Inclusive were beer or coffee in plastic cups, other drinks in paper cups. Entertainment very poor - we ended up out every night and not taking advantage of the All Inclusive. Hated paying one euro per hour to watch a small screen TV in my room. Internet was expensive but available externally very cheaply. Hotel 5 min walk to Veronicas night life 'strip'. Airport bus 450 stops one minute walk from hotel. Staff were friendly and effcient.

Room Tip: The annex was quiet, pool view studio was excellent - some main accomodation rooms were smaller and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Me and my friend recently stayed at this hotel on 24/02/13 and i first of all would like to say that all these bad reviews are so over the top! i read these reviews before i booked the hotel and expected to arrive at a right dive but was pleasently suprised!.. hotel staff were friendly and very helpful :) its a lively hotel which me and my friend both loved! its literally a 5 minute walk from the main nightlife strip, restruants and shops as well as the beach! we loved our room, we specifically asked for a pool view room that was high up which is what we got, spacious, clean and we actually liked the decor.. the only thing we hated was that the light were sooo dim! so at night when we was getting ready the room wasnt bright enough. The hotel has 3 pools so there is definatly enough room for everybody to have a sunbed :) the drinks were what u would expect from an all inclusive holiday and the food was alright, there was something for every body but it did get a bit boring as the week went on... Any ways this hotel is lovely, perfect for a holiday away with friends especially if you are going for the night life like we did :) x

Room Tip: definatly ask for a pool side view because there were some balconies where the only view you got was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amybaby92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

I think this hotel was fab had no problems, staff were great, very hot we were all inclusive, it was such a friendly environment! I don't get why there is so many bad reviews on the hotel because when we were there it was not dirty at all infact was very clean. The cleaners came in everyday I will deffo be coming back here next year

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamesdeakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

we booked up all inclusive and went to this hotel (las piramides) on 23-02-2013 to be told that there were plumbing problems and they sent us with a taxi to self catering apartments at the back of this hotel this happened to loades of couples the first day this went on for nearly every day after that they should have told us they had overbooked as they told others different excuses like electrical faults the hotel was dark and dreary entertainment was virtualy nil breakfast was ok but lunch and dinner was not good as they had same meals all the time our room was clean reception desk was not very helpful we would not go back to this hotel

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank janfan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I really don't see the need for the number of bad reviews this hotel has. Me and my boyfriend came here in August 2012 for one week all inclusive. When we arrived at the hotel the staff were friendly and checked us into our room straight away. When I booked the holiday I ticked the boxes for 'pool view, sea view and top floor' thinking that if I ticked all three I was bound to have at least one - but they had given us all three! and the room was also a good size. There was plenty of space around the pool area and several pools to take your pick from - particularly one being 'quieter' with no kids around which is good if you're looking for a quiet break. The location was brilliant 5mins from the centre of everything and veronicas strip. The food was OK...but i'm a fussy eater and I always managed to find something to eat. The cleaners came in everyday which is brilliant. All in all we had a brilliant stay! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank althomas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed at Las Piramides on the all-inclusive option in February 2013 with my husband and brother. On arrival we were greeted by a very pleasant, efficient receptionist who issued our wristbands and explained everything to us. Our room was a good size, but a little dark and contained three beds, a bedside cabinet, a sofa and a chest of drawers on top of which was a flat screen TV. I was surprised that there was an unpainted breeze block wall separating the bedroom/living area from the kitchen. It would have been much more attractive if it had either been painted or plastered. It was this wall, that blocked out most of the light from the room requiring us to put the lights on even during the day. However, the wall did afford some privacy, as our room was on the ground floor and anyone walking past could see in. The kitchen was well-equipped, although we only used the fridge and kettle due to being all-inclusive. The kitchen contained a dining table and a couple of chairs. The patio area had a table and chairs, a sunlounger and a clothes airer. The bathroom had a decent-sized efficient shower, however the taps part of the shower got really hot in use and I burned my arm on it a couple of times. There were two basins and a loo. Overall the apartment was reasonably clean, although no one had swept under the beds for some considerable time as there was a large build-up of dust and fluff. The cleaners came every day and replaced the towels as necessary and made a nice pattern on each of the beds. Two of the beds broke during our stay and I did notice another broken bed in our corridor which was awaiting repair or replacement. The food was plentiful and varied and the drinks were good. The staff in the restaurant were excellent. The snacks and cakes which were available on the all-inclusive option were ok. The reception had internet terminals available at extra cost - however there are internet cafes nearby which are much cheaper if you need to use the internet a lot. Wi-fi was available at a cost of 15 euros for the week, however it didn't work very well and the signal was poor in our room, we reported this but it didn't improve. The signal is better in the pool bar however. There was a lot of noise at this hotel. People were shouting and running along the corridors and the maids use shopping trolleys which make quite a racket on a morning! There is a supermarket attached to the hotel which is quite well-stocked for any bits and pieces you might need.The hotel is in a good location and I would recommend Bar 13 which is nearby and has reasonably priced drinks and entertainment. We didn't bother with the entertainment at the hotel as it wasn't to our taste - parrot shows etc. A word of warning to the gentlemen: There are some dubious 'ladies' hanging around on the road up to the hotel from the bars later in the evening, avoid them at all costs! We did enjoy our stay and would probably return at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
1.4 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,328 reviews
0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,162 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Piramides

Address: Avenida Americas S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $79 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Las Piramides Playa De Americas
Las Piramides Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing