We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel room - shame about the rest”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Piramides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Piramides
Baildon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent hotel room - shame about the rest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just back from Las Piramides on 13 February 2013. Went all inclusive. What a waste of money. The first thing I have to say is that normally I read trip advisor comments and then make my own mind up. I'm very open minded and usually find that some people have nothing better to do but moan about their holidays. This time I have found that the negative reviews were pretty much correct.

Our room was OK, it was spacious and was cleaned 5 times a week. We were lucky that we had a room overlooking the courtyard in the centre of the hotel and therefore noise was lessened. The sun hit the room about 9.30 am and was on there most of the day. If you are unlucky enough to get a room with no sun, which there were plenty of, it would be very cold.

Ladies beware - take your own hairdryer. None were supplied in the hotel.

The TV is pay to view. If you had kids with you wanting to watch cartoons it could work out very expensive as it cost one euro for less than an hour.

The food was the same day in day out. They used cheap cuts of meat and we were treated to fish fingers, chicken nuggets and calamari with chips every day. The rice and pasta dishes were identical every day. The soup which was supposed to be vegetable had whole sprouts in it. Obviously they had just use the left overs from lunch, put some stock in with them and voila ...... vegetable soup.

The drinks were all local, no choice of premium drinks. The drinks were served in either plastic or paper cups. At dinner we actually managed to get a glass of wine one night but when my husband went for a second he was given wine in a pint glass. Coffee and tea were also served in plastic cups except for in the restaurant where we were given cups.

The bar was far too small for the size of the hotel, there were kids running round screaming and drunken parents staggering all over the place. The "entertainment" consisted of a mini disco for the kids, animal shows (snakes, birds etc) which were advertising local attractions, bingo, and more mini disco!!!!

The pool was a reasonable size but the area surrounding the pool was small. If you wanted a sunbed or even a chair you had to be up at the crack of dawn and by lunchtime with drinks flowing all morning you didn't want to be there in the afternoon.

We booked this hotel as being a four star, no chance. To my mind it was lucky if it got three!

Would suggest anyone looking to book this hotel goes self catering. The facilities aren't brilliant but adequate. Not only that but there are loads of reasonable eating places nearby. You can get a good english breakfast for 3 euros and a decent meal at night for under 10. The drinks in the bars are reasonable. At least in the outside bars and restaurants you got a smile from the staff which is more than can be said for the hotel staff. They were a real miserable bunch.

Room Tip: We had room 1112 which was quite a suntrap up til mid afternoon. If you go in summer it may be bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    783
    802
    389
    472
See reviews for
572
1,093
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (702)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

hotel is a dump full of cockroaches food was crap rooms tidy but basic needs decor urgently went with the misses and she werent happy at all we are 2 working class people who arent to fussy about places but places like this you can not ignore wont be staying here again but will be visiting the island as its lovely

Room Tip: do not stay here as infested with cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x666legion666x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Went there on 24/01/2013,stayed for a week and found the hotel to be of good overall quality.We were on the top floor with a courtyard view,which was not perfect but realised that we got the afternoon sun and could actually tan on the balcony.The room was spacey very clean and the cleaning staff really friendly and helpfull.They came in daily to clean the room and change towels.


The food was the best we had so far with a good variety of choice.,The service was also of very high standard with their ever present manager to assure smooth running of the hotel.I,ve read some of the reviews and realised some people are never satisfied with what they get for the price they paid. William & Christa Sleigh, Suffolk, UK.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just got back 14th Feb 2013 after one week all inc at the Piramides,we were a little concerned after reading some reviews but this place is allright.Firstly a mention to Katrina and the girls behind the bar,they dont stop working from morning till night in fact all the staff were the most hard working bunch you will come across.You have to remember this is not the Costa Adeje Gran were we stayed in January but it met our requirements and would return for a low cost all inc break.Room had pool/sea view,food always something to take your fancy,ok entertainment a bit duff in the evenings but hey look at the price,well done to all the staff .

Room Tip: second ,third floor more chance of sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnjames7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at hotel for 5 nights with 2 friends on golfing trip. had a great time and staff were really friendly. Read all the reviews myself before I went and had doubts from some bad reviews. I've stayed in most of the 4 and 5 star hotels around this area and thought this was the best value for money by far. We stayed all inclusive and ate in every night, food was good and drink was fine. I think you pay for what you get and I think you get value for money. Pool area was good, plenty of beds. Will definitely be going back next February with bigger party of golfers.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

On arrival to this hotel the staff seemed friendly enough and the slight refurb looked good. however the room allocated to us wasnt even in the main building and to my horror the room was an absolute disgrace. After reading that the hotel had a full refurb and seeing some pics I thought me and girlfriend would enjoy our first holiday together here. Firstly we werent even on the list of arrivals and then all of a sudden a key was produced yeah a key i hear you say!!!!!. No modern safe key card. The room 318-3 was like something from the black hole of calcutta. I wouldn't let a dog sleep in there. Where do i start?? broken window, dirty floors, sockets off the wall, an 80's style tv, drawers with no handles, paint in drawers, nail varnish on the floors, a broken settee and best of all a message in the drawer asking us to be careful as someone was robbed whilst staying in that room. After complaining that I was very unhappy and felt misled we eventually got moved to a modern newly refurbished room which was really nice.
Although this hotel had a variety of ages it still had that 18-30 club feel to it which wasn't great as i stopped here with the lads 10 years ago and expected a lot better.
The food was great as was the location to all the local bars and restaurants nearby. The supermarket was handy in the hotel as the all inclusive snacks were rubbish. The main man in the hotel is MR PEPE what is his job title????? luaguge porter? cleaner? manager? barman? the man never has a day off poor lad!!!!!! beware he does have mood swings but once you get to know him hes ok and doesnt put up with crap!!!!
Siam waterpark is a MUST!!!!!! YOU MUST GO!!! Finally who needs h samuel when you got a watch seller on every street corner avoid them.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul81a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We arrived at the hotel to an unfriendly, dark and gloomy place. ALL the staff are misrable and unwelcoming and very unproachable! The rooms were very hot and in hot conditions you want a cool place, yet there was no fan, no air conditioning.The rooms wernt clean and the bathroom flooded after EVERY shower and it would stay there untill the cleaners FINALLY decided to clean it. The towels wernt cleaned properly even when the cleaners has put 'fresh' ones in. The food was awful! When we asked the cleaners to clean our room, they had just placed out cutluey we used into the sink and didnt wash them up! The plates were disgusting, they didnt even give us clean ones! The breckfast was full english, yet it was cold, the bacon was hard and the eggs were soggy and the que was ridilious! the lunches were boring, and was the same every day! If you like chicken nuggets and chips twice a day every day this is the place for you! Dinner was just the same but the que would be even worse, sometimes half way down a large dinning room. The snacks, more like what snacks, were disgusting and a terrible variety! The sandwhiches was just two pieces of stale hard bread slapped together with a thin piece of ham which might as well not had been there! The drinks were awful, and the alchol was all watered down! The que for just a simple drink was disgusting. And half the drinks available, you had to pay for if you was all inclusive. All the drinks were in cardboard cups, even at dinner which was awful! You couldnt even have a wine glass! the staff could harldy speak english so the communication was very difficult! Then, much to our disgrace, there was a mugging right outside the hotel front doors in broad day light which involved a knife which is quite frightning for anyone. The place wasent safe, and i was very worried whilst staying there, and to see people with families there, it was scary. On our last night, we wanted a nice relaxing night in the hotel with a few drinks, however this was prevented by what we would describe as an episode from the jeremy kyle show! Two couples in their 40s, screaming and shouting at eachother in the middle of the main drinking area! There was a massive scene which nearlly esculated into violence and the security was know where to be seen. We also find cockroaches in the hotel room which was disgusting and when we told the staff they said they would clean the room again but never did and they were not helpful. Also, the location was okay, yet it was a long walk to the main streets for shopping etc. However, there is a muggers alley just next to the hotel which is known for muggers on young people, people on their own and families. My advice for anyone, dont ever ever ever book this! This was my worst nightmare! If i was to crap on the floor it wouldnt of made a difference! Its up to you wether you stay or not, but i can assure you, you wont stay twice! THIS WAS A DISGRACE!

Room Tip: The lowest down, the better balcony! thats about all that was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,670 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Caribe
Apartamentos Caribe
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Piramides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Piramides

Property: Las Piramides
Address: Avenida Americas S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 59 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Piramides 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Piramides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Piramides Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Las Piramides Playa De Americas
Las Piramides Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing