We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gala
ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Good location that's about it...minutes walk from the beach and promenade ....but hotel is absolutely not 4*. A good 3* max... Why do we allow hotels anywhere in the world who this global rating on hotels incorrectly ..this is NOT 4 stars and is advertised as above average 4*....it was clean in the general public areas, but the quality of food is not 4 star, the service is not 4 stars and rooms are definitely not 4 star, basic room nothing special about this hotel....pool is jammed with sun beds on 3 sides of the pool as one side never gets the sun...and having to pay for your bed 1.90 a day is appalling for a 4 star hotel ....be aware you cannot pay for anything such as bar etc must go on your room charge which you are not told at booking ....so make sure you hold back for the budget to pay when you leave ......no extractor fan in bathroom which meant the bathroom was always steamed up after showers and the damp was on the walls and the room smelled of damp generally ...glass door n bathroom which is embarrassing when one may be using it and a visitor is in the room.....location of hotel also means no matter what room or floor you are on at poolside you never get the sun on your balcony or at the right side of the hotel....so will not recommend nor visit again.....be warned......

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    623
    340
    125
    101
See reviews for
538
689
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

All the family rooms are located on the ground floor which was not made clear on Travel Republic (who we booked through). The room was dark due to the fact you looked on to a massive ivy covered wall, which blocked the sun completely. Drying shorts etc took 3 days. We asked to move immediately (pay more etc. Begged etc..) no dice. & were told quite sternly that no family rooms had sea views at the gala, only doubles had sea views (thanks Travel Republic).

The kids club was good for under 5's and was not supervised with children coming and going adhoc. On Christmas day I was told that father Christmas & a clown (no i dont understand that either) would be coming. Still waiting.... a tad disappointing for the kids

My children only went in the pool twice during our 14day stay (they usually live in the hotel swimming pool). But it was just so boring as you weren't allowed to take anything in to play with in either pool. (Maybe do a designated pool? - no balls just rings/floats?). All kids could do was jump in and climb out, jump in and....

Breakfast food was average. But the evening food was fabulous!. Really. The chef was wonderful and even told the germans off when they tried to push in front of you ( grilled meat & fresh pasta the best).

Entertainment was ok. Johnny circus is worth seeing. Just for the confused look on the germans faces as he took the rip.

finally tip the bar staff. Its worth it. You will work out why if you do....

We won't be going back. Happy kids make happy parents. shame cos that chef was great.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluebell123333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel Gala for a weeks stay having checked out of our pre booked hotel. On December 27th this hotel was the only one showing availability within a few miles radius of Los Cristianos. On arrival the hotel looked modern and an improvement on the one we had just checked out of. We were fortunate to have friends living in the area who were able to drive us to the door. So imagine our concern when having pulled up outside we were greeted by an extremely aggressive staff member, shouting and waving his arms for us to move the car. I can only think this was because it was a private car as we saw coaches and taxis stop in the same spot during our stay. There was no explanation and having complained to the manager, we checked in. Our room was OK, it was clean and basic. It was the opposite side to the pool and our balcony overlooked what appeared to be a ghetto. A reminder to us to keep our door firmly locked.
The food was quite poor quality particularly breakfast. I have never stayed in a place where I couldn't eat the croissants and jam. There were lots of salads made from left overs. I enjoyed the New Year's Eve dinner and my strongest tip if you are staying here is to eat the meat that is freshly cooked on the grill. There are lots of rules in this hotel for example we wanted to eat our lunch from the grill outside. We were told "this is impossible" only snack bar food may be eaten at the outside tables. My husband hadn't changed from his swimming trunks as we intended to eat outside. So we had our food on a plate but we weren't allowed to sit at the outside table but neither could we eat inside because of the dress code. What a farce!
The charge for towels mounts up each day ( 3.80) so we bought some cheap beach towels for 3 euros from the local arcade.
The best part of the hotel was the higher terrace where they had very comfortable chairs and a lovely view of the sea and beach. We watched the sunset each evening from the Papagoya beach club right opposite the hotel beach entrance, where we enjoyed some great cocktails.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrox, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Spent Xmas and new year there with another couple, we paid for an upgraded room, 67 euros each for Xmas dinner and 104 euros each for New Year's Eve.we still had to buy our own water and wine on these two occasions it was a self service buffet with pushes and shoves to get to the food, the head waiters were rude and abrupt and although the food was not bad it was nothing special . Vegetables seem to be an alien concept. The rooms were not a good standard, you had to pay 1.90euro a day to hire a towel by the pool and had to pay for the safe on a daily basis, the mini bar was locked, the complimentary toiletries was on the first day only so I do not know what we paid extra for. The only English tv was BBC world news. The guard in the entrance to the hotel had a miserable face and never smiled once in the two weeks we were there, reception not much better. Wifi only accessible in the games room. So I can honestly say I will never go back there, when you pay a lot of money you expect to be treated with courtesy and respect and not just a number which is how we were made to feel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

The whole of the front side of the hotel is affected by the very loud music from the Wigan Pier pub on the other side of the road (it is a 24 hour pub)
On the inside of the building there is an atrium which means endless noise from the echo of people banging doors until about 1am and then starting again at 7am.
The cost is over £100 per night but you have to pay an hourly rate for internet in your room (this is all over the island) a rip off.
At night in winter it can get a bit cool,but management switch off centrally the air con/heating (even though you have paid over £100 per night.
The breakfast is okay and the staff helpful (as much as Spanish staff can be)The rooms are a decent size and clean and modern.However the room TV has just one British channel (worl service)
Overall it is okay but nothing special and a bit too pricey (as are 90% of the hotels in Tenerife)

Room Tip: Not the front side of hotel due to heavy pub music across the road which is open 24/7
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david g g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If your looking for a bolthole to just put your head down , fine, but as a serious Hotel to relax in , and enjoy a holiday - Nope not this one.

It may be rated as 4* due to the pool, spa etc , but the room quality was very basic, the show/bath was so low pressured it took 20 mins to get 3 inches of water in the bath tub.

Mini Bar was locked - Pay Extra if you wanted it
Safe - Pay Extra if you want it
Pillows - ended up using cushions from the chairs to give enough lift so my head was level.
The room smelt - damp, musty and of stale disinfectant water
The carpets had Water Stains , directly from repairs in the ceiling , so must of leaked
Mattresses - Rock hard and uncomfortable.

Food wise, breakfast was abysmal , we ended up going across the road for a full english at 5 Euro for two, the whole hotel is aimed at the German Market. Hot Breakfast consisted of Panchantta Bacon so thing you could see thorough it, saugages that were cut down frankfurters.

Though Coffee during breakfast was "on tap" , it was stewed and very bitter - their tea is god damn awful - left the teabag stewing for half an hour and it still only had the colour and taste of nats pee.

Lunchtime/evening meals , ok ish I suppose, but you are better off going half board and exploring the various restaurants, we we quite happily eating for 20 Euros a head including drink and having some great meals .

Night Entertainment - Dull , No imagination, No Interaction with the guests, unless you want to do Ballroom Dancing

Pool - Usual rush for sun loungers - pay extra for a cushion and towel.

Disability Access - Terrible , so many steps , poor lighting. Yes there were ramps, ok for pushing your buggy around, but to guide someone with sight impairment and walking difficulties, the ramped routes were a bloody long way round - Lighting was so dim , visually impaired were reduced to pretty much blacked out rooms


Need to seriously review the start rating of this hotel, or the hotel needs to do better to do the 4* rating justice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TorisDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Was initially bit worried that parents had chosen the Gala due to the area near the strip etc. time of year meant it was a bit quieter I think. They said hotel was fine, rooms fine and food excellent as was children's entertainment and evening adult shows. There is a shopping precinct under hotel and a few good pubs nearby with nice walks. It rained heavily a couple of days and marble floors ion the strip can become very slippery. Overall I think they had a great time and staff at hotel friendly and helpful,staff found out it was mums birthday and left chocolates and champagne nice touch

Room Tip: Upper floors probably better and hotel happy to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celtica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,892 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Avda Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 3, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gala 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Gala Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Gala Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing