We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”
Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gala
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If i believed all the reviews I have read about this hotel I would probably never gone,but I am glad I did.Nothing wrong with this hotel at all,except that 1.there was a charge for matresses for the sunbeds(not much but it wasnt neccessary, and 2.the pool wasnt heated. The food was varied and plentiful and the noise from outdoor attractions(bars etc) was non existant at least in our part of hotel.I would certainly not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms poolside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    645
    347
    127
    104
See reviews for
568
713
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sudbury
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Havnt been to this hotel for a few years , oh dear it's not what it used to be. Now offer buffet dining and the foods not so good so much so that several of our party chose to eat out most nights ! The rooms are tired and the bathroom smelt .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave.perry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We felt very anxious when we arrived and saw how close the Hotel was to Veronica's strip, which is notoriously noisy (and I thought sleazy), but were relieved when we got to our particular room to find that there was no noise from the strip at all. Check in quick and easy, with welcome drink. Room clean pleasant, with good fridge and aircon. Don't expect privacy in the bathroom with its glass door! On arrival in our room we received a complimentary half bottle of wine and bottle of water. The bathroom looked the biz, but shower and plumbing old and cranky. The room was clean and the cleaning staff helpful and pleasant. Balcony had lovely views, but there was a problem for me as a fish hater, that the outside barbeque restaurant daily cooked fish on their grill, and I found the smell on the balcony revoltig. The dining room was cavernous and personality free, but the food quantities and quality were incredibly high, often with the option of smoked salmon, caviar and cava for breakfast. Christmas dinner was absolutely amazing - the spread was really bit over the top and the dining staff really went out of their way. Not much choice for vegetarians, however, and salad and pasta nightly would become monotonous. The dining staff seemed incredibly overworked, but all stayed friendly, pleasant and helpful, even when rushed off their feet. Unfortunately can't say the same for either the head waiter or wine waiter, both of whom we found unfriendly almost to the point of hostility, and who seemed to find it a chore to communicate in any way. In fact, it was often a waitress who took our wine order after we had been ignored by the wine waiter. They had a completely different attitude to the Germans, which was often friendly to the point of fauning; The staff on reception were okay, but didn't exactly trip over themselves. We also found the entertainment incredibly corny and boring, which was just as well, because unless you got there right at the beginning, seating was at a premium and crammed together. The two pools were lovely and no problems with getting a lounger in spite of the early morning "bagsying". Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and the Christmas decorations were amazing. Bit too close to what we called Sleazeville, and you will get hassled the moment you leave your hotel by people trying to get you into the various clubs and bars, or wanting to see you absolutely anything, and I DO mean anything.

Room Tip: If possible, chose a superior poolside room. These are quiet, with views of both sea and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jillyboo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were worried about noise from clubs in the area but we heard only the Saturday night music from the next hotel and that not unacceptable. Hotel entertainment seemed good if that is what you want -bit too noisy for us. Food was very good and varied, obviously weighted to the continentals. Everywhere was clean, with the sheets and towels being regularly changed. The reception was commendable -when the cleaners took a white shirt with the bed linen, reception put in the retrieval action and I got it back, -well pleased. Staff were always polite and even some very happy and good fun. The rooms are getting a bit tired but work well. Balconies smallish and views dependant on position of room, best at the pool side of hotel 320-600's. Spa and massage very good. Pool area clean and well appointed with good views from the roof lounge. small supermarkets opposite and an Iceland nearby. Taxi ranks just at the bottom of the road. Great walks between hotel and the sea, both ways to either porto colon or los Cristianos. Loads of shops and good restaurants in the Porto Colon direction.
On the negative side no tea or coffee in the restaurant for lunch or dinner, but available at the bar. Drink prices are inflated as Hotels tend to be!
Would we go back or recommend -yes, although there are many very good hotels to be experienced, especially in Adeke, some even magnificent if you are prepared to pay for them!!
Tenerife temperatures -beautiful.

Room Tip: Upgrades are possible but difficult on arrival. Not sure how to beat that except to contact the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kempston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Christmas break on arrivel there was a nice feel to the hotel we were the only ones on our coach transfer to get off at this hotel witch was right next to linikars bar and weatherspoons, got a glass of wine and kids got a jouice while we waited to check in which was a nice touch got in the lift to go to the ground floor where our room was and on exiting the left you could feel the temp drop it was like we where in the basment of the hotel, found our room 005 on entering the room there was a real bad smell of damp the room layout was really bizzar it was almost like the kid room witch was out through a sliding patio door was infact an old patio area converted into an other room found one of the sorces of the damp smell there was white mold growing on the step out in to the outdoor area beyond the kids room and it was so cold in there to.
Went straight to the reception to be told this was our only option as we were a family of four after stressing this was no good as i was not happy the kids would have to stay in a room that was growing mold in it she offered me another room on the same floor 019 went to investagate this room to find it in the same state gave my partner the room key he then went to reception and came back in a wrose mood than when he left as there was nothing more they would do do. On the first night we found a second sorces of the damp smell when you had a shower the water ran off the shower screen straight on to the wood flooring flooding the bathroom.
this really was it we have been to tenerife a number of times and this room was by far the wrost ever.

The hotel it self was nice and food was good but would never return.

very disapointed :-(

Room Tip: if your a family of four avoid hotel altogither crapy rooms!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andi-mcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Newark, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having booked this hotel and then read some of the reviews I was rather apprehensive. We found this hotel to be excellent - the buffet menus were first class, the service in all areas of the hotel was friendly and helpful at all times and the central position is ideal for everything that Playa de las Americas has to offer.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view room which meant we had free use of the spa which otherwise would have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgina334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

After what seems like an everlasting winter, I thought a break in Tenerife would be nice. I went with my wife, and grown up children. The hotel Gala had mixed reviews, but as the location suited us (nightclubs for the kids) and beach for me and the wife. Playa las Americas is where we spent our honeymoon many years ago, this was another deciding factor.
First impressions of the hotel were good, check in was friendly and efficient, the hotel entrance looked very nice. We could hear Mambo number 5 being played from the entertainments area, bit of a party going on I thought!
We were given two rooms on the first floor, on the special request box of the booking form I had requested pool facing rooms, both rooms looked onto the hotel across the concrete storm overflow channel that feeds into the sea from the hills above. I was slightly disappointed with this but we could have upgraded for 9 euros per person per night. I thought this expensive for 4 people, so settled for the view of concrete. These rooms also didn’t get sun on them all day, so night time was very cold in the rooms without anyway of heating them, this was also the case for most the rooms on our side of the hotel. The maid did give us extra blankets.
The rooms were ok but dated, the TV was the most up to date thing in there but only received BBC world news in English, they charged us 2 euros a day for use of the safe, no coffee making facilities and extra charges were for the fridge / minibar. Charges were also applied if you wanted cushions for the sun loungers by the pool.
We were half board, the restaurant was a bit stressful with so many people trying to use a room that quite clearly needed to be much bigger and better laid out. Most evening meals were very good, but on various occasions had cold sausages / scrambled eggs. The choice was ok but the hot breakfast was dreadful.
Evening entertainment was aimed at the over 60’s. If you like your foxtrots and waltz’s this is the place for you. This really annoyed us as no provision was made for anyone younger. The night we did sit through it we noticed the band was miming to backing tracks, but got away with it!
Pool area was nice, people still reserving sunbeds by placing towels on them, but we never had a problem getting one anytime of the day. The two pools, one heated and the other not heated were the same temperature, too cold to enjoy.
The fitness and wellness centre we used for only one day, the charge was 60 euros for all of us, but the gym consisted of one fully working running machine, one bike that didn’t work and the usual array of weight machines that all had faults on them. The spa was great except that on closer inspection noticed black mould in the corners of the main pool, and you could feel bits as you walked in that spa. My son pointed out that he hadn’t seen anyone clean the outside pools all week, so I suppose the same goes for the spa. When I complained about the gym equipment they just said we will get the technics guy to have a look, hence no action was taken and we didn’t bother with it again.
In conclusion the place looks like a four star hotel, which it might have got away with 25 years ago, but as standards improve this barely reaches three star standards, and trying to charge extra for everything just leaves a bad taste about the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Marky_7623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,149 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,957 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Avda Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 3, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gala 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Gala Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Gala Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing