We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday in a great Hotel”
Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gala
Sliema, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Holiday in a great Hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As soon as we arrived we were greeted by a welcome drink from the friendly staff. The hotel is great and has beautiful lobby, restaurant, pools and rooms. It is very clean and the food is great and different every day.(Not as I read in other reviews.).The animation is also great and they have different show for every night of the week. They also have a kids club which is great if you are traveling with children.The area is great, about 100 meters from the beach, restaurants, walkway and night life. It is also near to Siam Park which I highly recommend to go by walk instead of the free bus, as most of the times it will be full and you have to wait for the next one. In other reviews I read that there are a lot of people who come on you and tell you to buy this and that....etc.. It is true but if you say no they just leave you alone. For me this was the best value for money Hotel I ever traveled to. Would like to go back one day and I hope it won't be too long. I also would like to say a special thanks to the animation team in the Hotel. Great Holiday, in a wonderful Hotel and in beautiful Tenerife.

Paul from Malta

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulDist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    609
    332
    124
    99
See reviews for
522
671
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed there during my honeymoon (in summer) for five days. This hotel is confortable. Good service and good rooms. Accurate cleaning service. I did not go to the spa. PROS : position CONS: poor breakfast. After all, I had a positive experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_101187791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Me and my sister went to tenerife for a fun sun holiday. We stayed in Hotel Gala and absolutely loved it. Beautiful Spa, lovely food, great staff. Never had a problem getting a sun lounger by the pool. There was 2 pools and both were lovely. Definately no complaints and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L-King001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed in your hotel for a week with my friend and i had to say that we had great experience. Rooms are quiet modern and very clean. facilities are filling all expectations for reasonable price. but the thing i really want to mention is your excepional staff. very friendly and always ready to help. special thanks for great entertainment to Marco and Monica who made our evenings unforgetable and active days by the pool so great. i will never forget you guys. your sence of humor and energy are contagious. i also have to mention fantastic bartenders whocreated a delicious cocktails and was entertaining us all the time. really enjoyable time. thank you

Room Tip: pool side rooms on higher floor worth to be recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_mcg79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

just back from the gala excellant hotel very clean food very good always freshly cooked chefs cooking there for u plenty space at swimming pool plenty off loungers. rite in the heart off las americas.2 mins from beach. booked 2 go back next may for silver wedding cant wait.

Room Tip: we had high up top is 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Hi Just back from 10 days in Hotel GALA. from 17th August to 20th 2012

Summary - 4 Star Hotel with some good features and great staff......

An interesting hotel with split levels, not so sure less able people would find this hotel comfortable but it does cater with ramps lifts etc. Interesting planiting draped over the balconys creates a feature that would otherwise be a bland vista walking thru the floors.
Access to the street level over to the beach has an interesting route but worth it.

Exit thru the main entrance to street level presents the traditional mijito bars, the wigan arms, and a few irish bars then linekers, so you need to work to find those nice spanish bars... well worth a web search.

Met some great staff charaters including Snr Manola Alfonso, what a guy. Infact all the staff I met were pleasant and receptive but as with all holidays its how you treat people.

The european split of holidya makers was predominantly Italian with german, but a complete range of french and belgium, so for me this was a good indication of a hotel that stands the scrutiny of being a good place.Needless to say a mix of english nothern and southern.

Rooms just whats needed after all if your spending time in your room why bother going to an island of sun and interest. One comment mentioned to me by a guest (Steve from belgium.) was that he booked a family room but this had only one bath room so he changed to two rooms, and also another comment all the bathrooms have glass doors not so bad to get over as the doors as most hotel rooms are within the lobby to the room.

No problems with beds around the pool. Althought if you tend to stay in bed until 11 or 12 you may need to search away from the pool area. The larger pool is 1.8mtrs deep so for the shorters of us this means trying to float or swimming. A great idea of a cabana with seating, a good place to get away from the pool and have a read or play cards and have an afternoon drink.

One very suprising incident was a few, "married with children" italians approuching an english girls with children. I suppose this is a legacy of our english holiday typical tradtion of being open and freindly, althought a contraddiction of the typical italian catholic family man...hmmm.Single mums beware, not all married italians are genuine..

Conversation
As with all holidays if you make efforst in all areas you get the best results, so try...altought speaking english is a disadvantage as everyone else in the hotel us english as a standard lanuage, strange to have a conversation with french, italian spanish and belgium all speaking english..

Entertainment
Not my bag but some of the acts did plesantly supprise me. Some professional entertainment. Not the animation team trying to voice over. Young kids have an early disco and then it blends into the main show. Only crit would be that the stage is hard to veiw unless you get the front 5 rows or so.

Value for money hotel with good acomodation great staff, and well sited for getting around.

Bars
Good service and reasonable prices around 2.80 euro for a glass of white wine 2.84 for a pint of dorada beer. A tiki bar of the pool area, and a good lounge area ajoins the hotel great for that afternoon lounge and a game of cards, or pool.

Food
Having been to Cyprus last year and Sharm El Sheike the following and suffered tummy trouble I was quite concerned, but didnt need to be the service in the restaurants and the offering was varied, salads, plain food, and a mixture of food for the more adventurous, squid, traditional spanish, etc....Not for getting the pizza, chips, and burger offering for those fussy kids...Try the tenerife special potatoes with the hot red sauce.Good choice of food and well presented and excellently served.

Room Tip: Room Booked was a delux sea view type, recommended, floor 5 or 6 the best, Family rooms only have on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thehealeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed in this hotel between 10-17 of july and i can say that was worthing. Very good location (near the black sandy beach - Troya Playa), nice clean rooms and very good food services. I had half-board, and the dinners were extremely reach and various. You had to pay for the drinks though. The only "not so good" thing about this is the lousy neighborhood, with planty of clubs and bars with loud music until 2 am, so if you have an easy sleep it's some kind of difficult to get one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the rear wing of the hotel (to the land)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#2 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Avda Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 3, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#21 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gala 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Gala Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Gala Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing