We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Clean Place to Stay - very close to clubs and pubs but not noisey”
Review of Hotel Gala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gala
cheekie77
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Clean Place to Stay - very close to clubs and pubs but not noisey”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Stayed here in March, check in was quick and the hotel lobby was nice. Room could do with updating a little old fashioned however very clean and a good base as the hotel is close to the beach and the nightlife. The pool area was nice, always got a sun bed but not many spare by late lunch. The food was ok...I would say it was aimed more at I think the german market but for the price you cannot really complain as you can always eat out on the odd occassion. Drinks were not included in the price which I think local beer etc should have been as this soon mounted up your bill. Beware a half of lager is not far off the price of a pint which they did not tell you so go for the pint! We did not go to any of the entertainment so I can't comment but if you are looking for a cheap good base for your tenerife holiday this is ideal and is right near a good set of bars and clubs and we did not hear a thing from them at night in our room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    646
    348
    127
    104
See reviews for
569
713
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in feb 2011 & overall did not enjoy my stay & would not go back. The staff were friendly, rooms claen & food ok/good without being anything special. The choice was ok & there was variation over the week. One of the cooks was great too-a bit on the eccentric side as other reviewers have noted. I was given possibly the worst room in terms of location (this often happnes to me as I a solo traveler) opposite linekers & on the ground floor. The noise was bad, the hotel put on shows in the evening which went on till quiet late, & when that finnished the discos opposite started to get going-the noise only stopped arround 4am (I was warned about this though to be fair). The worst part about thi hotel for me though was the pool area. I found it untidy & not very pleasant to relax in. Also there was a awfull view of what looked like a empty road down one side.
This hotel was not for me but it would be ideal for younger people who were going to for the nightlife & thus would not be affected by the noise.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My partner and myself had a very enjoyable holiday at the Gala Hotel, we loved it! The coach transfer (we travelled with Thomson), although we were the last drop-off, only took approx. 10 mins as the hotel is in the heart of Tenerife so the airport was not far. When we were there in June, there was road works at the front of the hotel and in some other parts of the island but this was never a problem - you will never find anywhere in this world that does not need work, etc.

When we arrived at the hotel (which was around 1am) we were the only couple and so we checked in and got to our room within 5 minutes. We had read reviews on here that the hotel is a rip off and there is loads of hidden costs, but there is not. There is a few additional costs but if you know about them, you will be fine - which I will cover later.

When we got to our room, we were in total disbelief - it was GORGEOUS! We loved every aspect of the place. One of the drawers in the wardobe was broken but this was not problem as it was still useable. The air conditioning was good and we had that on every night as it was absolutely boiling. When we first arrived we asked about the safe and it was 2E a night - we were there for 7 nights fo it came to 16E for the week but I think they gave us discount because we were only charged 12E. Obviously you have to use the safe as it validates your insurance. You cannot expect this to be free. The water that the hotel provide in your room is charged at 3E, however, turn left when you get out of the hotel down to the top of the road and you will find a corner shop open 24/7 which sells huge bottles of water for around 70c. The minibar in the room also requires payment to keep the water cool but we never bothered with this. Alot of people think that because you have paid to stay in the hotel that you get all of the facilities free but this was not the case but it didnt bother us. We were staying at the back of the hotel and so it had nice views and although you could hear the music from the clubs on a night time if you had the balcony doors open, you cannot hear anything when the balcony doors are closed as there are double doors. This hotel is a lot nicer than most of the hotels we passed in Tenerife.

The pool is lovely - there are sunbeds, however, you have to pay for a matress for the day at around 2E. We didnt bother with this, we just put towels on the sunbeds, this was never a problem.

The food was not really catered for the British, but you do not go on holiday to eat British food, you go on holiday to try out lots of different things and so we loved the idea of varied food. We were on full-board - the breakfast was lovely, but we only had this twice during our stay when we woke up very early to go on day trips to Siam Park and Loro Parque, etc. Dinner was varied and really enjoyable. There was not a large selection of choice but you will find out what you like. Towards the end of the week, we were getting quite bored with the midday meal. During the evening they put on BBQs which was very nice. You could sit outside but there was only a few tables in which you could sit at outside as the waiters would not let you sit in some outdoor areas. The waiters are not very friendly or smiley - they just come over, ask for your room card, ask if you would like any drinks, etc, then just go. We only got drinks a few times as they do add up on your bill. One time we ordered a drink and the waiter took around 20minutes to bring it to us.

You can pay off your bill whenever you like. We paid ours off through half of our stay and they issued us with a "receipt". We did not realise it was a "receipt" and we threw it away. We then went and paid off more a few nights later and we discovered they had charged us for 7 meals which came to well over 100E. They receptionist thought we were on half-board but when he got our documents he discovered we were full-board and took the meals off our bill. It then came to 30E instead, which we paid off there and then. The night before our departure we had a few drinks in the resaurant and after, we decided to go and pay off the rest of our bill, which to our surprise was still 30E. We asked the receptionist and they said we had not paid it off and we had thrown away our "receipt" which is not really a receipt because it does not prove you have paid anything, it just states what is on your bill. So, we had to wait until the next day, which was our departure date, to speak to the receptionist who had taken the money for our bill but had not taken it off. He never showed up, but the woman receptionist said she believed us and she simply cleared our bill :) Also, I would like to mention that the cleaner came around every day around the same time. She would just simply take the dirty towels that were left in the bath and straighten up our bed sheets.

The spa, which is 15E per person is VERY worth it. I would highly recommend visiting - it is so fun testing all of the showers and going in the giganic jacuzzi, etc. We went once but we wanted to go again but simply did not have the time.

The hotel is in the heart of the island. It is very central to all of the bars, clubs and restaurants. If you turn right out of the hotel you will find yourself on Veronica's Strip. This is where all the bars and clubs are. There are a lot of PR's and you do get hassled a lot. I found it hilarious that in one night we would be stopped around 50 times but obviously that has nothing to do with the hotel. The PR's do give you good deals, for example - for 5E each you get a jug, 5 shots and a bottle of wine. I would highly recommend you going to Mett Bar - this is the place for HipHop and R&B. Loved it! Vivo is also good for mini golf. There is a strip club called String Fellows which also has PR's but we did not go lol. Do not go down the beach at night as there is Moroccon's that go there and if you speak to the locals you will find out why this is not a good idea.

There is a little English cafe if you turn left when you come out of the hotel, follow the road up and turn left again. The owners are very lovely but do not stop speaking to you lol.

As we were with Thomson, our rep (Keiran) came round twice or three times. He told us in the "meeting" that he is only supposed to come round once but he comes round more, out of his personal time, which I thought was nice. This is the time where you will pay for all of the expiditons you want to do. We paid for the Siam Park and Loro Parque pack meaning it was 75E per person for both of the days out. If you didnt get this pack it is 50E for a trip to Loro Parque - which is HIGHLY recommended, and 30E for a trip to Siam Park. As we went a second time to Siam Park, it was only 16E per person which we paid for at the park.

Hope this helps :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Recently got back from this hotel and i must admit that we were very impressed with the standard of the hotel. The hotel is spotless and anyone complaining on here about it being dirty is crazy! Also, seen many comments about the staff being unfriendly and rude, but they were completely the opposite. Always very friendly and helped with everything that we needed to know. For example, we lost our room card and expected to pay for the loss, however the staff were fantastic about it and just gave us another free of charge.
The only problem about the hotel is the food - we believe they cater for spanish and german before the english. We are not necessarily picking eaters but we found that there was nothing really for us - that we see in england.
However, there are restaurants close to the hotel with great 3 course deals ( we got one for 10euro!!! ) .
Also, please be aware of the meat cooked at dinner as it could be standing there for a while before you eat it which could cause sickness as it did to my boyfriend.
On the other hand, we couldn't fault the location AT ALL!
A two minute walk to the beach and the bars on your doorstep. Wouldn't really recommend to older couples or people who do not enjoy the lively nightlife but for the younger generation - it is perfect!!!
We also strongly recommend a short walk into Los Cristianos for a much more relaxing nightlife and nice shops.
If you have any drinks they will be charged on your room card and will have to be payed at the end of the holiday so check with reception to ensure you know how much the bills are throughout your stay. However you can also pay daily like we did. IGNORE any comments from people telling you that you are not warned about this, because you are!!

Room Tip: Don't bother with sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraceB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in May.
The staff was very helpful, and the room was spacious, clean and nicely decorated.
Bathrobe and amenity kit in the bathroom was nice. The SPA and fitness facilities were quite new and it was nice to relax in one of the pools after a long day.

Did not use the outdoor pool, so I cannot comment on that.

All in all a very good hotel well recommended in the middle of everything in Playa De Las Americas.

The guests were mostly British couples and families.

Front desk staff very service minded.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kn1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

It was mine and my boyfriend's first holiday away together, and we wanted somewhere busy with lots of things to do, with a central hotel.
When we arrived at the Gala, the welcome from the staff was far from friendly- the woman was very sharp with us and couldn't be bothered to speak much english to us, the waiters/waitresses were the same throughout our stay in the dining room- very abrupt and never gave us a smile, however the maids were lovely and so polite to us.
Our room was lovely, spacious and clean just what we wanted! Beds weren't the comfiest, but we slept fine, and we never heard any noise from outside when both sliding doors were closed. It was always spotless when the maids had been, they even brought my champagne on my birthday! The hotel itself is grand, always clean and takes your breath away when you first see it.The pool area was ok, make sure to put your towel down early if you want a spot near the pool! We found the beach a much better sun trap and comfier loungers.
The location of the hotel was great for us, literally one minute down from the hotel and everything was there- the beach, bars, restaurants and shops, and so many to choose from.We spent hardly any time in the hotel, we walked for miles to see everything around.We always went out on a night for a few drinks and a walk- the only thing at night after we had been for a walk and headed back to the hotel, the people outside the bars upto the hotel were in large groups and being rowdy- quite off putting, so just stick to the quiet side of the road.
Food in the hotel was edible, lots of variety but nearly the same every night, we ate out a few times as the food is so cheap but a great standard everywhere we went! We didn't like the fact you had to pay for drinks that you had in the hotel until your last day- so we only had one drink each a day and that was with our meal- but we were pleasantly surprised after 10 nights it was only 40euros.
We absolutely loved las americas, los cristianos and coste adeje, we wanted to stay for a month if we could! Siam park was great fun, but the queues were ridiculous, so if your not bothered about water slides etc dont bother. Los cristianos market which is on every sunday is great too, only cost 4 euros for a taxi from our hotel and we walked back along the sea front which was really nice. We also went on the free bird boat tour to see the pilot whales- and saw hardly anything... everyone was sea sick and it was way too hot to be on a boat with no shade for 3 hours! So wouldn't recommend that one.
We are planning to go back to las americas in november this year- but not in hotel gala! It is just as cheap to get a self catering/bed and breakfast apartment and do it yourselves, the food in restaurants and cafes are such a great price with much friendlier staff than Gala!
Amazing location, we have fallen in love with las americas- not so great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

after reading some reviews we felt dubious about the hotel, but you only need to do a little research to find out that it is in a lively area and the bad reviews seem to be digging for things that aren't there!!
we travelled with Thomson and we were met by a rep (Keiran) right outside the airport and he showed us the coach to get on, we were the last drop off at Hotel Gala but the transfer time was no longer than half an hour, and Keiran was able to provide plenty of information to help pass the time!
We quickly checked in, and the staff were friendly and all spoke very good English at reception. We were given a room that was overlooking the main bars and wasn't loud enough to prevent you from sleeping but as me and my partner went with the intention of upgrading and tried our luck, we upgraded to a room with a slight sea view, as it was the only upgrade available, and was only 60 Euros for both of us for the week, a real bargain as the room was lovely and was really quiet! we arrived fairly late so just went for a drink at the bar, however we did this most nights as the entertainment was brilliant each night and it is much more enjoyable than the PR's trying to drag you into bars on the main strip!
the food was only average as it is aimed more at German and Spanish with regular seafood dishes (which looked lovely but me and my partner both dislike seafood) if you are picky about breakfast, Snappy's english bar across the road does a full english for just 2 Euros!
The spa was a lovely experience with a deal of 2 for 1 entry at 15 euros, a real bargain! the bar staff were always very friendly and would always go that extra mile, and Chris the entertainment manager was fluent in many languages making it much easier to understand the quizzes.
the rooms were cleaned everyday which was good but we found 2 cockroaches in our room which obviously cant be helped in such a hot area but when we went to reception they were extremely apoplogetic and had someone up to the room to get rid of it before we even got back up there! the air conditioning works brilliantly but you have to shut both balcony doors for it to switch on, but that will be explained to you!
we went to the welcome meeting which i would definateky recommend as the rep is only at the hotel a few days a week but we got all the information we needed at this meeting!
overall the hotel is lovely and the area is lovely during the day, however the beach is quite poor but playa de las vista beach is lovely and only a 5 euro taxi ride away!
i would definately recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a relaxing time!

Room Tip: go for an upgrade at a little suppliment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SeanPymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 59 in Costa Adeje
1,550 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,958 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gala

Property: Hotel Gala
Address: Avda Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta, 3, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gala 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Gala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gala Tenerife Hotel
Hotel Gala Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Gala Hotel Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing