We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highway to Hell”
Review of H10 Las Palmeras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Las Palmeras
Certificate of Excellence
Newtownabbey, N. Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Highway to Hell”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My girlfriend and I had booked this hotel through Thomas Cook and spent a week there from 30th Nov 2012.

After a mad year in work, we'd naively asked the agent for a quiet hotel in Tenerife and she booked us into the Las Palmeras! This review has a couple of big problems, but also some good ones.

- I'll start with noise:

When we arrived we got a small room off the side of the hotel. It was small enough but sure we'd only be in the room when we wanted to sleep. After being up at 5am to get to the airport we grabbed a bite in the busy restaurant and went back to the room for an early night. When we got back we realised that the room overlooked a strip of bars in the resort called The Patch, including a rock bar with a live band that plays 6 nights a week at FULL volume. After half 11 the live band were still playing and we went to the reception to ask about typical times that the bars quieten down. We were told after midnight and the male receptionist said they send security round after that should the music still be noisy, then after that the police are called. They were still playing after midnight and at half 12 we rang down to see if anyone had gone round to be told by another male receptionist that they dont send security round and it could go on until after 3am! By 4:30am the rock music had stopped and replaced by bass from a club nearby and glass bottles being collected by truck so I decided to sleep in the bath!

The next day after heated discussions with our rep and reception, we were moved to a more central room in the hotel with a sea view (after being told the day before that that the hotel was full rest of our stay). Noise from The Patch was quieter but still noticable and the only way we could get any decent sleep was after getting stuck in to a decent amount of all inclusive alcohol in the hotel before bedtime!

This experience has taught us to research hotels now before booking them as the travel agent did not recommend a hotel to suit our needs. Although this isnt the hotel's fault they do need a better working relationship with their noisy neighbours. If I hear Highway to Hell one more time............!!

- The male receptionists

The whole week we didn't find any of the male receptionist helpful or friendly. We both got the impression that they either made up an excuse as to why they couldnt help, or they made something up to get rid of us. The female staff were the opposite and all very helpful.

- The pool

I noticed that the hotel responses on here in reply to towels on the loungers always say that they are dealt with. This didn't happen the whole week we were there. The high terrace to the left of the pool was espcially always filled with empty loungers with towels first thing in the morning.

Good points.

I should say though that the rest of the hotel staff were amazing including the restaurant and bar managers and the waiter and waitress working in the Italian restaurants both nights we were in. Who's the big mental bar manager who sings alot? He was hilarious!

I noticed in a recent response from the hotel that the queues for the main restaurant were bad for one of the nights that member had stayed. We stayed the same week and it was bad more than one night! In fact, one night when we queued we got a second free night in the Italian, thanks to the friendly restaurant manager. Food in the restaurant was as ou'd expect from a self service restaurant, although there is a part where you can get some meals freshly cooked which was nice.

I'd say the hotel is a low four star, but some aspects of it are very good. The rooms may be the only thing that let the hotel building itself down. The rest of the hotel is very nice.

We'll certainly be back to Playa de Las Americas, but as we want to be able to get some sleep at night we won't be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank on_a_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear clients,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay between us.
We regret your stay was negatively impacted by outside neighbourhood noise.. Our central ubication in the heart of Playa de las Américas can definitely be a busy area, especially in the evenings, and that activity can come as a surprise for some of our guests, especially those with open balcony doors and in rooms facing the street. We 're in constant conversation with the local ordinance, trying to reduce the noise significantly in the entire downtown area.
Please accept our apologies for not having provided you with a restful, completely enjoyable stay, as you had anticipated.
Our reception staff are well aware of the noise and if you have any concerns about, they are more than happy to assist you with a room chance away from the street, but please understand that this is always pending the availability.
Thank you once more for your positive comments about our staff.

We hope you the best and we hope you will come back to Tenerife.

Best Regards,

Ana Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,450
    1,255
    446
    114
    83
See reviews for
955
1,590
75
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (732)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have just returned after spending xmas & new year at this hotel. I travelled and stayed on my own HB althought had pre arranged to meet friends in Tenerife, 2 of whom were also staying at this hotel.
It is hard to fault this hotel, there a few faults, but first the plus points.
The Food is very good, plentiful and varied. The pool area is very large given that the hotel is sutuated in a very built up area. The hotel is central for everything, taxi to and from airport and one to Siam Park water park ( well worth a visit ) is all. Everything else, shops, restuarants, beaches, even Los Christianos is in walking distance. The Hotel is just about a 4 star dispite some of the reviews on here.
The Minus points, these are a little trivial but thats what everyone wants to know about.
The rooms are a little small for a 4 start hotel, but they wer cleaned Every day, had everything you needed, fridge, air conditioning, hair dryer and nicely furnished.
Breakfeast was a bit chaotic, but this was the busiest time of the year, the was a sign in lift asking you if possible to avoid the busiest time at breakfast ( 9-10am ), but who wants to get up at 8am on holiday for breakfeast ? Its not rocket science...extend breakfeast time to 11am ! some hotels are starting to do this ....but not this one yet....
To be fair theres not a lot to moan about...so I will continue with some info...
Evening meals are dress up afairs here, whilst shorts are permitted now gents, it would be frowned upon if they were of the sports variety and definately no swim wear. There are still no shorts allowed for the gala dinners IE xmas day & new year. At this point I will mention the xmas day gala was exceptional, glass of port and canapes en route unlimited wine and a glass of champagne to wash it all down.
On arrival you are asked for 10 Euros deposit for your TV remote ? All rooms have a flat screen TV but only about 3 english channels.
All extras are paid for using your room card and paid for on check out.
All in all a good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank chelseachuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your review paints a great picture of the service, facilities and amenities we do offer. We appreciate the time you spent to share your experiences with everyone.
We look forward to hosting you on you next visit to Tenerife! The H10-Las-Palmeras Team will be waiting for you!
Kindest regards!

Ana Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

What a fantastic hotel. Check in was smooth and stress free. Reception staff were all very helpful. All the staff,food and entertainment were top class. The gala dinner on Christmas day was magnificent. The quality and choice were unbelievable. Overall the quality of food over the 7 night all inclusive was brilliant. If you can't find something you like there is something wrong with you!
The pool area and hotel areas were all very clean. The all inclusive package was excellent value for money all the drinks were named brands. The self service drinks in the restaurant and pool bar were equally good. The bed rooms were a good size and even on the street side of the hotel you were not disturbed too much by the busy bars at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, if you don't have a pool view the lower you are the views are not pleasi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruisemore352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your review paints a great picture of the service, facilities and amenities we do offer. We appreciate the time you spent to share your experiences with everyone.
We look forward to hosting you on you next visit to Tenerife! The H10-Las-Palmeras Team will be waiting for you!
Kindest regards and happy new year

Ana Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Las Palmeras for 10 nights in December , a pre christmas break . i had seen this one last year when we were walking the prom and we were keen to try-- and am i glad we did-- we both agreed it was the best yet .
From the minute we arrived the welcome was great, a hiccup with the room (we were given one overlooking the street) was rectified swiftly and efficiently. From then it was plain sailing the rooms are beautifully decorated and the bathroom spacious, rooms cleaned and towels changed every day by very helpful and friendly girls.
All the staff are really geared to make your stay pleasant and their system of all drinks etc going on your room card to be paid at the end is very efficient! We enjoyed entertainment in the theatre lounge near the dining area and also in the Piano bar upstairs all very high quality Bar staff excellent .
The location of the hotel is perfect near the front and beaches if you want them and the pool area is well laid out with plenty of entertainment for those who want to participate and if you have children with you they could not be better catered for, really good entertainment staff and plenty of lifeguards for safety, plenty of sunloungers for all.
I have saved the best to last ---the food !!! It was more 5 star, the choice was so good it was mind blowing at times ( maybe belt blowing is more apt) salad bars with 2 types of caviar lots of salads and beautifully presented fish entrees , 2 choices of soup every night, the main courses were quite spectacular hats offf to all the chefs --and there were lots of them ,cooking steaks or fish as you waited , some beautiful roasts ( The pork was melt in your mouth) casseroles and fish dishes, every type of veg and potato you could think of!! AND if you had any room left --- some of the most delicious desserts we have ever tasted including chocolate fountains!! To be honest in other hotels we have stayed in the desserts, once tried, did not encourage trying again but not here ---- I cannot wait to return although i will need a life membershiip in Slimming World in between???
A big thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday and we look forward to our next visit, we just cannot decide if we should risk all inclusive ??? that might be a bit risky!!!!!!!!( only for the waistline!!) Should add 1 minus i suppose for balance? beds are a bit hard , as they are in most spanish hotels we have stayed in ?? It did not spoil the holiday in any way. next time though we would pay extra for the seaview! You may also want to think of joining the H10 Club Online before you go i only joined before the end of the holiday and gather there are advantages to being a member? Enjoy!!!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the left hand side of corridors as you get out of the lift are on the noisier side near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your stay at the H10 Las Palmeras on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to know that your time with us met your expectations and that our team members made an impact on your stay. Your words are an encouragement for us to continue working hard to improve every aspect and provide the more personnel touch to our guests.
We look forward to welcome you back soon!
Warm wishes and happy new year

Ana Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The only thing 4* about this hotel is the location, right on the seafront. The rooms are small and dated with very little storage space, the bathroom is small with a shower over the bath,a hairdryer that was useless and again very little storage space . The food was good but the layout of the dinning room meant meal times were manic! Some of the rooms have a side sea view and get the sun all day but unfortunately they are opposite noisy bars, a bottle bank and a sex shop.The pool area looks nice but the beds are very close together and there's not a lot of room to move.The carpets in the corridors were frayed and tatty,overall the hotel appears a bit dated.We stayed on half board basis, but all inclusive was also available, from the short time I sat in the bar there didn't appear to be enough bar staff on to cope with the demand

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear guests,
thank you for having taken the time to publish your comment on tripadvisor.com.
Our mission is for you to enjoy your holiday in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, we are sorry that we have not been successful in your case.
We regret to read that your experience was not enjoyable for you, however, we appreciate your comments about your impressions.
Nevertheless, we appreciate your opinions and comments, as constructive criticism is the only way to know the reality and to improve quality, services as well as facilities, to avoid future complaints for the same reason like yours.
We want to wish a Happy New Year.
Yours sincerely

H10 las Palmeras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

nice hotel friendly staff but be careful if you book with travel-republic they advertise rooms at different prices saying they are double rooms or twin rooms or rooms with balcony when they all the same.we booked a twin room and our friend booked a double room paying over £100 less and ended up next to each other.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona3432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Public Relations Manager at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear clients

Thank you very much for your comments
For next time please contact with our web side www.h10hotels.com, there you will find all
our room types and the information about that. Our web has the best offers
in internet.

Thank you very much again
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

Ana Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We arrived on Sat 1/12/12 the lady on reception was great she handled check-in , really quick within 10 mins we where in are room .We couldn't believe room when we saw it we had been upgraded to a jr suite , my hubby was delighted our terrace was huge .We went down to dinner at 6.45 ,we had to look for a table but when I asked a waiter for help he was brilliant and had us seated right away the food was lovely something for everyone yeah u had to wait in line but once you got the layout of restaurant the first night was the only night we had to do this. I have to give all the staff at hotel a big thanks nothing was to much for them .We couldn't have had nicer cleaners if we had tried they were so friendly always smiling its little things like a smile that really can make your holiday go from enjoyable to absolutly fantastic.A big thanks to all at H10 las palmeras we will come back.Bravo...Bravo ....Bravo

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sillylilly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementPalmeras, Public Relations Manager at H10 Las Palmeras, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your kind comments on Tripadvisor, following your recent visit to the H10 Las Palmeras.
Your feedback is very much appreciated. We are delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you particularly appreciated the accommodation in the junior suite, which were offered to you.
Thank you once again for taking the time to comment, your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards
Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Ana Martín
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,301 reviews
0.1 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
HD Parque Cristobal Tenerife
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Las Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Las Palmeras

Property: H10 Las Palmeras
Address: Avenida Rafael Puig 28, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Las Palmeras 4*
Number of rooms: 519
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Playa de las Américas, next to the sea and with direct access to the seafront promenade, the H10 Las Palmeras is surrounded by extensive subtropical gardens. Recently refurbished by the well-known designer Lázaro Rosa-Violán, the hotel has a bright interior design with a maritime feel, and new services such as the Asian restaurant Sakura Teppanyaki, the specialist coffee shop Mike’s Coffee and the Imagine bar. The hotel also offers a packed programme of entertainment for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, H10 Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your H10 Las Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Las Palmeras Hotel Playa De Las Americas
h10 Las Palmeras Resort
H10 Las Palmeras Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing