We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Oro Negro
Nearby Hotels
Mediterranean Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Beach Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hotel Sir Anthony(Playa de las Americas)
$333
$315
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europe Villa Cortes(Playa de las Americas)
$220
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Gran Oasis Resort(Playa de las Americas)
$145
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
H10 Las Palmeras(Playa de las Americas)
$156
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Las Dalias(Playa de las Americas)
$194
$189
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Green Garden Resort & Suites(Playa de las Americas)
$183
$160
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,514)
Filter reviews
2,514 results
Traveler rating
847
1,088
415
94
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
847
1,088
415
94
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomdaniels barhalf boardair conplenty of choicestar hotelfamily roomevery nightpool areabusy roadplenty of sunbedsgreat holidaybreakfast and dinnershow cookingmain roadreception staffcleaned every day
Filter
Updating list...
1,522 - 1,527 of 2,514 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We have just returned from another lovely holiday based at the Oro Negro... having travelled abroad for the last 40+ years, averaging a minimum of 3 holidays a year, the Oro Negro is the only hotel we have ever made a return visit to - and we certainly aren't on our own - everyone we spoke to on this latest visit, when questioned whether it was their first visit - all responded with a similar answer - oh no, we've been here several times!!! I think that says it all....

For a fuller review, please check out my review dated 13th October, 2012 - but to summarise briefly:

The hotel is located in a good position, giving easy access to neighbouring resorts and centre of Las Americas - directly opposite a golf course if you happen to be a golfer! We walked into Los Cristianos almost daily along the pleasant promenade.

The rooms are spacious and comfortably furnished, as are the public areas. Everywhere without exception is spotlessly clean. It was nice to see that the lobby from the ground floor lifts leading onto the pool area has just been re-furbished - it would be good to see some large potted plants in this area now (as in the Reception) to add the finishing touches.

The quality and selection of food provided in the Restaurant is second to none, it beggars believe how anyone could find cause to criticise. Whilst we were here this time, on some occasions we did have to queue a short while before being seated... but never for long... the lovely Simona and gentlemen on the door did an excellent job... the hotel was pretty much full to capacity in the run up to Xmas.

Without exception all of the staff... including the maintenance men around the hotel... were always polite and courteous, exchanging greetings . Nothing ever seemed too much trouble, everyone obviously happy in their work!

I had emailed a couple of weeks before we arrived, requesting the room we had been allocated on our previous visit... on the 10th floor overlooking the pool... with lovely panoramic views of the bay - and I was pleased that we managed to have the same room again.

We have already booked our next visit, April 2014... at risk of repeating myself I think that "says it all"! Excellent value 3* hotel - well worth a visit. For more information about the area/markets etc. please see my earlier review.

Room Tip: Higher floors overlooking pool area get sun most of the day and beautiful views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Carol B ,
Thank you very much for sharing your new experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com.
Our guests´ feedback helps us to improve our services and gives us support to continue working, and repetitive guest like you are our best ambassador.
It is nice to read so many good comments, I will pass them to all our team´s members.
It is really nice to know that you liked the improvements done in the ground floor´s lobby. We take note of your suggestion to give the "finishing touche" to this área with plants. I hope in your next visit you will find new improvements in the hotel.
Waiting to welcome you again in april
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel was a good three stars. We only paid £270 each for half board so wasn't expecting too much but was pleased with the cleanliness of not only the rooms but the hotel in general. There was no fridge or tea and coffee facilities in the room which was a big miss for us. The food was adequate although the "maître d" guy on the door must be the most grumpy I have come across, he just growled something illegible to us when waiting to be seated. We always found something we liked but there was certainly no "wow that is good" moments. We had a room overlooking the main road which was quite noisy even with secondary double glazing if I was to go back (I won't but rarely do with any holiday) I would make sure I received a pool view room. Late at night there is a problem with prostitution in the car park over the road and we saw this on more than a few occasions when returning to the hotel after midnight. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were all very helpful and polite. Would I recommend this hotel? well for what we paid yes but I wouldn't want to pay much more.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a pool view room quite noisy on the main road side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear John L ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think this hotel is a good value but we work daily to give more for our guests and I hope in your next visit you notice improvements.
We take note of your comments to get improvement in the hotel or in the area.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Really enjoyed this holiday and found the place clean and staff friendly.
Only issue we had was cockroaches in our room.(We reported it).
The food was good and there was a lot of choice I highly recommend this holiday.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Linda P ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments help us to conti-nue improving and avoid mistakes.

It is nice to read that you enjoyed your holiday and found the hotel clean and the staff friendly.
I apologize if you found any cockroach. We work with Company ISS for this topics and they use the best products that are allowed by law but sometimes in Tenerife is difficult to avoid them totally.
Thank you very much again for your feedback
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived here at lunch time and was greeted with a smile and very welcoming receptionist, we got checked in efficiently and was given good directions to our room, and was told they were still serving lunch till 3,the room we were allocated was very roomy and i think maybe a family room,as there was only 2 of us we were well pleased. bathroom was bright and very clean nice fluffy towels and toiletries, we had a pool view on the 7th floor, i had emailed a couple of weeks earlier requesting certain rooms and they gave me the equivalent of what i asked for, the food was fantastic there was lots of choice and even meat and fish being cooked for us on request, plenty of salads vegetables pizza pasta etc breakfast had just as much choice no matter what nationality you were it was there for you, waiting staff worked very hard and cleared our dirty plates away within minutes of finishing,i have stayed in lots of hotels but this is the first staff i have come across that practically raced round keeping dining room running like clockwork, there are lots of sunbeds around pool and on a terrace which was very relaxing, the beds were locked till around 9 so was harder to reserve them but didn't stop people queuing up waiting for the chains to come off,the only down side to this hotel is the entertainment which most nights didn't start till after 10 so we went out every night and as there is plenty of bars round about the hotel was fine for us, all in all a well run and maintained hotel i would return to if in las americas again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindylouharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2013

Dear lindylouharker,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ opinions give us support to continue improving our services and help us very much.
It is nice to read that you enoyed your stay and you think this is a well run and friendly hotel.
Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Returned on 7th Dec. after a second great stay at the Oro Negro and this is the first time we have returned to the same hotel in 25 years of going to Tenerife.
The hotel is very well managed, the grounds and pool area are immaculate, reception very efficient, all personal do everything they can to enhance your stay.
The hotel is set on a busy road a few minutes walk down to the promenade, very centrally placed for a good walk either way. We had a room overlooking the pool in the central block, room 636, it was a good size, with a huge comfortable bed, overhead fan,air conditioning, a large flat screen T.V. which had the usual news channels plus three other English channels with films, drama etc. which is always good if you want a night in. Food was good and varied. Just a couple of small criticisms, The pasta and pizzas were uninspiring and it got a little smokey at times around the grill area, it could do with a boost to the extract system.
Last year we had a corner room with a double balcony, which we really enjoyed, room 758. To sum up, if you get the right room, you can't help but enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: High floors get the sun longer and have excellent views.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Linda B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and nice words like yours give us support for our daily work.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your second stay in our hotel as much as the first time, and we hope many other times will come.
We take note of your comments about pasta, pizza and extract system. We will check it to get improvement.
Thank you very much again
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews