We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Returned on 7th Dec. after a second great stay at the Oro Negro and this is the first time we have returned to the same hotel in 25 years of going to Tenerife.
The hotel is very well managed, the grounds and pool area are immaculate, reception very efficient, all personal do everything they can to enhance your stay.
The hotel is set on a busy road a few minutes walk down to the promenade, very centrally placed for a good walk either way. We had a room overlooking the pool in the central block, room 636, it was a good size, with a huge comfortable bed, overhead fan,air conditioning, a large flat screen T.V. which had the usual news channels plus three other English channels with films, drama etc. which is always good if you want a night in. Food was good and varied. Just a couple of small criticisms, The pasta and pizzas were uninspiring and it got a little smokey at times around the grill area, it could do with a boost to the extract system.
Last year we had a corner room with a double balcony, which we really enjoyed, room 758. To sum up, if you get the right room, you can't help but enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: High floors get the sun longer and have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear Linda B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and nice words like yours give us support for our daily work.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your second stay in our hotel as much as the first time, and we hope many other times will come.
We take note of your comments about pasta, pizza and extract system. We will check it to get improvement.
Thank you very much again
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,380 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

Worth every penny ! Food fantastic & staff great in restaurant - accidentally knocked over a bottle of olive oil and was cleaned up with seconds (apologies again to the lady who leg the oil touched as she spent 3 days growling at me-accidents happen!)Will be back -Only downside no kettle of fridge - This would have made stay completely 100% rather than 99.5%

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear fiona m ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your nice comments give us support to continue working every day to get our guests´ satisfaction.
It is nice to read that you think this is a FAB Hotel and worth every penny.
We take note of your comment about kettle and fridge. For the moment we rent them.
Thank you very much again for your nice words
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

One of the most friendly hotels in Tenerife. Plus points the rooms are clean, and the food is great, the pool area is large no problems with sunbeds. Minus points are that it is far from the beach on top of a hill, and the annoying thing is that the toilet is facing the bath which is about 9 inches away so every time you have to sit on the toilet you have to spread your legs wide, why didn't they have the sense to turn the toilet the other way. Apart from this I would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a toilet that is not facing the bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank penyfai28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear penyfai28 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think this is one of the most friendly hotels in Tenerife, with clean romos, great food and a large pool área.
We take note of your suggestion toilet.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay in your hotel, we had a great time and cannot fault your hotel or staff in their duties. unfortunately my wife had an accident whilst there and needed to go to the hospital, what I cant understand is why a hotel of your size doesn't own a wheelchair for these occurrences?? she had to hop from her room to the foyer, if she had been a larger lady she wouldn't have been able to do this. The reception staff could se there was a problem yet didn't offer to help. Luckily at the door of your hotel Engine who had been working near our room all week and is an absolute gentleman saw and carried my wife up the steps. As I have said we did have a lovely time staying with you but just feel this part could have been handled better and I hope you will pass on our huge thanks to Eugine for his help. He is a credit to your hotel and I feel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enid_maher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear enid_maher1 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvi-sor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services. It is nice to read that you had a great time in our hotel.
I really sorry that your wife had an accident during your holidays. I want to apologize if some of our staff didn´t know to offer you the help you needed. I have passed your comments and and thanks to Eugene.I agree he is really a credit to our hotel.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at Oro Negro for 10 nights and had a great stay. Our room was in a quiet part of the hotel, opposite the Oro Blanco apartments. Rooms were cleaned daily with daily towel changes. The good was great - so much choice I cant believe they can make any profit - with a huge choice of hot and cold food, plus lots of vegetables, chef cooks a meat and fish dish, plus carved meat. I cant believe that people have commented previously about lack of choice but hey some people expect The Ritz for little money. Bar prices are very good with great service too in particular from Paula who is an asset to the hotel with a friendly and helpful personality and very hardworking. The pool are is large with many sunbeds and it was funny to watch the OAP's queuing up for their beds for the same spots each day! Guests were friendly with a high percentage of repeat bookers from the UK.
Outside the hotel turn right and walk for 10-15 minutes to come to Parque de la Paz area which is strip of bars (plus nice Chinese) with live shows every night. It is just and a few minutes walk further on to the beaches of Los Cristianos. The famous Veronicas and The Patch are about 10 minutes walk as is the main beach so the location is great. The few negatives, which are minor, were lack of electric sockets in the bedroom and the chefs don't cook the sausages enough (pointed out several times but to no avail) but those are the only improvements I can suggest to be made but overall we would return and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Oro Negro.

Room Tip: pool view is quieter or side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marmarisestateagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear marmarisestateagent ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you enoyed our services and you think this is great value for money.
We take note of your comments, and about lack of lockets, we are working in it to get improvement.
Thank you very much for your nice words

I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Recently returned from a holiday at this Hotel, and can't wait to go back. It's a very good 3* Hotel, and you can't fault the food. Yes sometimes the chips cold have been a little hotter, but continental food is often luke warm, but overall the food was of a very high standard. There was a very good selection of either hot or cold food both morning and evening. The comment of NO table cloths is true, but there were runners, which were. adequate. Yes, you had to pay for water, but you do at most Hotels. Although a lot of the staff could only speak a little English I found virtually all the staff very friendly. My wife fell over in the bath, and I asked if a hand grip could be fitted to the wall, and this was done. Would have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, this should ensure you get the sun most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffer65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Duffer65 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services. It is nice to read that in general you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. I sorry your wife fell, but I stay happy that we gave you solution to your request
Thank you very much for your feedback
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a week in early Sept. It was a lot better than we expected. The rooms were clean and to a good standard. We went half board and the food was to a good standard. Not much variety but enough. The location of the hotel was brilliant. It was only a ten minute walk from the nightlife but enough of a distance away to be able to get a good night sleep. Only major issue for us was the heat in the rooms but with the glorious weather that couldn't be helped.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Allie B,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback gives us support to continue improving our services.
It is nice to read that you think our hotel is really good for the Price, because this is one of our principal aims.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $90 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing