We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend to anyone brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would recommend to anyone brilliant”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone,we arrived just after midnight and was greeted by very friendly reception staff who sorted our rooms in no time,rooms were very clean spacious with air con and a ceiling fan.the next morning we went for breakfast in the restaurant and was greeted by Simona she was fantastic throughout our stay nothing to much trouble and that goes for the rest of the restaurant staff,the food was good to always something for everyone,we spent the first day lazing around the pool there were plenty of sun beds and the water temperature was just right reading sum reviews saying that it was to cold not the case,the lifeguards were excellent to nothing to much trouble,there was plenty going off throughout the day water polo table tennis mini golf and other activities,the evening entertainment was ok to always something on every night and there was bingo for you bingo lovers,overall we had a fantastic time and will definitely go back again please don't believe the bad reviews you have read,all the best to you all at the oro negro. From Jason,Sandra,Sophie and joel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besties22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Besties22,
Thank you very much for your nice words. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
I am pleased that you think this is a brilliant hotel and would recommend to anyone. Our guests, like you, are our best ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Thank you very much again.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    912
    355
    80
    61
See reviews for
381
1,165
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just got back yesterday 7/8/2013 from a 10 day stay, cant fault the hotel just need a few inprovements to make it into a 4 star
1 Coffee&tea factilites in the room.
2 entertainment was not up to standard, not the entertainment staff fault thou who were very polite and helpful especially diago.
3 In the restaurant there was no coffee or tea after your meal, you had to go into the bar to to buy a coffee, it would have been nice to had a coffee or tea in the restaurant after you had finished your dinner.
4 More choice of potatoes&vegtables in the restaurant.
Apart from that a great holiday, a special thanks to simone in the restaurant, very nice lady always smiling, and always come up to you to say hello. and how are you today.
Kind Regards.
Russell&Karen.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Russell s,
Thank you very much for your feedback, it helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
I take note of all your suggestion and will work in them to get improvement
It is nice to read that apart of your suggestions you had a great holiday in our hotel. I will pass your nice comments to Simona.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed here from the 30/07/13- 06/08/13. We were nervous about our stay here due to some if the reviews we read however we were impressed with the hotel. The reception staff are pleasant and are always willing to help, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the beds are comfortable; guaranteeing you a good night's sleep. This is more of a family friendly hotel and if this is what you're looking for I would highly recommend this place. Considering the location we were expecting to endure a week of drunken noise however this was not the case. The location is not far from the water park or the clubs and restaurants either. If we were to go back to Tenerife I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loui90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Loui90,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in tripadvisor.com. Your nice comments give us support to continue working and improving our services.
I am pleased reading that you had a great stay in our hotel and that if you go back to Tenerife You would stay here again.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Thank you very much again for your feedback.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Good variety of food,clean rooms,Towels changed Daily,Pleasant staff,nothing too much trouble asked for extra pillow & clothes hangers got them same morning.Overall a very pleasant stay.Would Recomend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
2 Thank KDN62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear DN62,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give support to continue working every day to get our entire guests´ satisfaction. It is nice to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and recommend us.
Thank you very much for your nice words.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed in the oro negro hotel from 12th July 2013 for 2 weeks, when i first booked the holiday i was a bit in the dark about the hotel because of the reviews, when we arrived at the hotel i was very impressed with the reception staff they were very helpful getting us booked in and showing us to our room (330), the room was very clean bright spacious with free air conditioning and ceiling fan with the balcony overlooking the pool,superb, over the two weeks we had the maids in our room every day (they were very pleasant and understanding, if we stayed out late they didnt disturb us, they came back to clean the room in the afternoon) At the pool i was very impressed with the life guard, If you came down late he would point you to spare sun beds and provide you with the sun umbarela, the restaurant was well run and the food was great, plenty of choices and always replenished on time, cant fault the food, cant fault the hotel, cant fault the staff, Brilliant, the only problem i had with this hotel was they dont have enough photos of the hotel on the websites to let people know how good the hotel is, we had a fantastic time staying at the Oro Negro Hotel and would be back in the near future, i recommend this hotel to anyone, P.S. DONT READ THE REVEWS GO AND SEE FOR YOURSELF, Eddie & Irene toll X

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Eddie L,
Thank you very much for your nice words and your feedback. They give us support to continue working everyday to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
I am pleased that you and your wife had a Fantastic stay in out hotel and wrote so positive comments. I am really proud of our hotel and especially of all our staff. Our guests, like you, are our best ambassadors.
I take note of your suggestion about add more photos of the hotel on the websites.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Thank you very much again.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsden, Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed in this hotel in July this year for our first holiday together. Neither us or our fellow guests could believe that this hotel hasn't received a 4* rating. The staff were very friendly and very helpful right from the minute we walked in the hotel to the minute we walked out. The hotel itself and the rooms were exceptional, and were cleaned to a high standard every day. The hotel is in a great location for all local amenities with the beach, bars restaurants and excursions all very close by. The pool is very clean and was never too busy or too quiet, with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. The food and service received at meal times was amazing, all staff were very polite and helpful, in particular the two gentlemen that welcomed us in and Alba. The three singers at evening meal provided an excellent touch. We will definitely be returning to this hotel in the future, as it helped to create an amazing holiday.

Room Tip: Pool View, we stayed in a low room as my girlfriend has a tendency to sleep walk, however high rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kyle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kyle A,
Thank you very much for your nice words. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
I am pleased that you think this is an Amazing hotel and you and your girlfriend really enjoyed your stay between us. Our guests, like you, are our best ambassadors.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel. Thank you very much again.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

On the 8th floor, room overlooking pool. Good size room but had twin beds (had sent an email to hotel to ask for a pool view with double bed, one out of two isnt too bad). Room was cleaned daily, towels changed daily. Hairdryer supplied. Aircon supplied with a returnable deposit. Beds were very hard and pillows as flat as pancakes. Good choice of food, we did half board and only once had a lunchtime snack elsewhere. Didn't sunbathe around the pool, not because it wasn't a pleasant pool area, it was. just we like to wander around.

You pay for what you get, it was ok

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Kath G,
Thank you very much for your feedback because it helps us to continue working everyday to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
We take note of your comments and we will work in their improvement.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel and I hope you will notice improvements and will qualify our services higher in your next visit because this is our aim.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,902 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing