We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Typical Budget Hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent a week here at the end of April,and went on the reviews people saying it was clean which it was in certain areas. But in the bedrooms theres dust on all the wall boards and in the corners now am not a fussy sort but ive been in better 3 star complexes.I looked up the reviews and people saying the rooms get cleaned every day i would like to think so,the staffs lovely and courteous and the pool areas very clean.The entertainment team do a good job during the day with there areobics and fun games for all.Now for the food it just wasnt for me or my wife if you like school dinners then this hotel is for you,plenty of it but very bland i ended up eating out after the third night,its also extremly warm in the restuarnt get a seat away from where there cooking.Theres free WI FI in the reception and this is a big plus on their side as most hotels in Tenerife dont give you this even the four and five star ones ,and i can see this as a big plus for them.I dont want to put people of the hotel as its value for money in a package deal and if they can help you in any way they will.I travel to Tenerife 3 or 4 times a year but from now on its an appartment for me,and i can eat where i want

Room Tip: Looking over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pony2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear pony2027,
Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services and avoid mistakes. I am sorry for not to have fulfilled your expectations during your stay.
We take note of your comments and will use your opinion to continue improving.
I hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you the high quality of our services.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    862
    344
    76
    59
See reviews for
358
1,092
68
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (570)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have just returned from a week stay.The hotel is a little gem. We had a room overlooking the pool on the 3rd floor it was spacious and very clean. The restaurant was excellent,varied menus they was something for everybody.What impressed us was the efficiency and friendliness of the staff they really are a good team. We asked to look at one of the premier rooms and we loved it . going to book one for 3 weeks in December.We just loved the resort and thought the shopping area with the dancing fountains a great way to people watch and absorb the atmosphere We had some fabulous walks along the coast. Well done to the manager and all the staff can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pampam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear pampam123,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your nice comments give us support to continue working every day to get our guests´ satisfaction.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and think this is a little gem. Thank you very much for your nice words about our staff. I am very proud of our team and we work to continue improving. We will pass your comments to all of them.
We are waiting to welcome you again next December, and hope you will enjoy your upgrade to premium room.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid glamorgan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent 11 nights and had a wonderfull time. The hotel is very clean bedrooms cleaned every day and towell changed daily if you wanted them changed plenty of wardrobe space and a nice size room The choice of food in the restaurant was very good and we never had to wait for a table Simone found you a table every time a big thanks to all the staff who were very friendly. A big thank you to the animation team Alex Diego and Freddy who were great fun keep up the good work. There was a bus stop 5 mins walk and a stroll to the front took about 10 mins the area is very quiet so no problem getting to sleep. Thanks to all the friends we meet while we were there. we shall Defiantly be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear trica,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your nice words give us support to continue working every day to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
I am pleased reading that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a wonderful time.
I will pass your comments to Simona, Alex, Diego and rest of our staff.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed on a package deal.

Location is good. Have a look on Google earth, to the north west (but far enough away) is the noisy Playa de Los Americas, to the south is very nice and quiet with the area around the Mare Nostrum Resort providing some nice boulevard walks, further is on is Los Cristianos – which is a good 30 minute walk along the coast but very pleasant. By the way, the beaches were about a 5 to 10 minute walk down the hill, although we stayed by the pool for much of the time.

Rooms: We were initially booked into a room on what I think was the 3rd floor, it was above the bar. The room was a little noisy although not unbearable and it offered adequate accommodation. We asked for one of the available upgrades and were duly moved to the 11th Floor for an additional fee. The room was much better; the furniture was superior, the views were great and it came with bath robes, slippers, and unlimited air con and so on.
Note of caution, some of the 3rd and 4th floor rooms face onto the road that runs behind the hotel – and they would definitely be noisy.

The pool area is intimate, and you will get to know the people around you. That said they keep the sunbeds ‘chained up’ until 10am, which makes allocation fairer and in any case is good entertainment with the manoeuvrings of the obsessive compulsive anally retentive Victor Meldrews making for great people watching. In our time no one failed to get a sun bed, in the case of those who just wandered down when ready we found that the life guard was brilliant and would always find a way to accommodate everyone. The wooden sun beds also had cushions available and some guests’ would selfishly take 2 cushions, the smaller the man the more likely he needed 2 cushions!!
The pool was not heated.

Food: The good was good, a mix of styles with the emphasis on Spanish. The restaurant could be a bit manic – I did wonder if extra rooms had been built at some point without extending the restaurant (same as for the pool). That said, the Maître‘d’ Hotel is exceptional at ensuring that the flow of guests and the relaying of tables is as seamless as possible – but a peak time there are queues for the restaurant. The wine was okay and reasonably priced.
Cleanliness: Spotless throughout. The maid service was very good.

We would stay here again, providing we were on floor 5 or above.

Room Tip: Stay abobe follors 3 and 4 and face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celtictraveller_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear celtictraveller_31,
Thank you very much for your nice words. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction and it helps us to avoid mistakes in our service too.
I am pleased that you had a nice stay in our hotel and think this is a good hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your upgrade to Premium Room.
I just would like to clarify that all rooms faced to Main Street -Golf course have all double glass so there are not noise problems and have a nice views to the mountains and Golf course and are the favourites of some of our guests.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First of all, we were the first drop-off from the airport so it was great to get there quickly after landing at the airport. We were both very impressed by the hotel entrance. As soon as the coach drove up to the door we thought the hotel looked lovely. Very clean and bright in the reception area. If I was able to choose which room we would get, this would have been it...Rm 351, the view was superb, of the mountains (reminded us of Scotland) and the beautifully manicured front gardens, all directly in front of our balcony. The breakfast and dinner choices were plentiful and very fresh. Staff were incredibly attentive and friendly. Pool area lovely and clean (sun beds need a wash though). I completely disagree when people complain of the cold swimming pool...it is a well known fact that hotel pools are colder than the sea...should come as no surprise to guests..however, if people used the showers provided at the poolside (as requested) then your body temperature cools and the swimming pool does NOT in fact feel cold. We were totally impressed by the entertainments team - Diego, Alex and sabrina. we didn't get to meet Sonia who wasn't due to return to work until after we left (this morning). The ents team worked tirelessly, encouraging guests to get up and join in with sports and games...all were very friendly and good fun. Unlike Samuel (below), we found the food choices and prices in the poolside bar to be very good. We chose to have lunch out in local cafes though, just for a change of scene and to support them. We found the drinks prices 1.50 euro for a glass of wine very good value. The czec acrobats were superb, would have loved to see them again. The singing duo were great (lady with short dark hair, and talented guitarist male. My only complaint, was a little off-putting when the lifeguard spent a large part of the afternoon dragging sunbeds away and stacking them up when guests weren't using them. I think he should have waited until nearer closing time. I felt he was wanting rid of us. I think the Oro Negro should be awarded 4 stars as I have stayed in 4 star accommodation in Los Cristianos which was not as welcoming as Oro Negro. I can't wait to come back and hope to be able to stay in the premium room on floor 11. The beauty of the location of the hotel was that there were lots of different walks available to guests, whereas a beach front hotel your options are - one way or the other. The streets near our hotel were much less crowded which appealed to us and made for a more relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Room Tip: Mountain view from hotel front is superb, which includes views of gorgeous floral gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Karen S,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your nice comments give us support to continue working every day to get our guests´ satisfaction.
It is nice to read that you were Delighted with your stay at our hotel and felt Welcome between us. Thank you very much again for your nice words. We pass your comments to our entertainment team and rest of our staff.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have just spent 14 days at this Hotel and had an excellent time, we were made most welcome from start to finish, the bedroom was lovely and clean and well maintained during our stay, all the staff from Management, garden and cleaners were very pleasant. The food was first class with plenty of choice. The change in the garden system for beds was much improved and there were plenty of beds for everyone who wanted one. Hopefully we will be visiting again early next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bloomhill9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear bloomhill9 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Your nice words give us support to continue working every day to improve our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction.
I am pleased reading that you enjoyed your second stay in our hotel and you think it was better than your first stay, specially in garden system for sun beds.
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel next year, thank you very much for your feedback
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

A great standard for a 3 star hotel, I have stayed in 4 star hotels which have been of a lower standard. Do not be put off by the location, it is only a 10 minute stroll to the beach. ~If you prefer to stay around the hotel there are plenty sunbeds available, we were always able to get them.

There are plenty of choices when it comes to dining.

The rooms were cleaned every day, with fresh towels supplied if you wished.

The entertainment team do try their best, however the evening entertainment could do to be improved a little.

Room Tip: Higher floors give a better view and less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie17Duns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Valerie17Duns,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in tripadvisor.com. Your comments give us support to continue working every day to improve our services and get our guests´ satisfaction.
I am pleased reading that you think this is an Excellent Hotel and knowing you enjoyed your stay.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
920 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,096 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing