We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Reviewed March 8, 2013

just came back in march 2013 this is one of the best 3* i have stayed in there was three in our group so they give us a family room which was lovely could not fault the food it was excellent the staff were lovely too very helpful i would go back any time

Room Tip: we were third floor up facing the pool no noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabeth f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear zabeth f ,
Thank you very much for your nice words. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday and helps us to improve our services.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and the comfort and extra room of our family rooms.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The Oro Negro is the best 3 star hotel i have stayed at. Good quality food with a good selection. Hotel rooms and pook area very clean. Hotel staff very pleasant and helpful. The only downside was the level of the evening entertainment was not in my opinion very good. Overall a very pleasant stay and would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank graysave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear graysave ,
Thank you very much for share your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services.
I am pleased knowing that you had a pleasant stay and think we are the best 3 star hotel you have stayed at and a great value, with a good quality food, cleanliness in rooms an pool area, and a Very pleasant and helpful staff.
We will pass your comment about evening entertainment you our entertainment team manager.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned after 2 weeks at the Oro Negro. Was a bit worried about it being 3 star but have to say the food would certainly warrant a 4 or even 5. In the two weeks we were there we never once duplicated our evening meals. The selection was the best I have had even in some of the 5 star hotels we have been in. Every evening there was always a choice of fish, meat and pasta. Also on the menu was the option of 3 different dishes, fish, chicken and meat which was cooked at the counter. During our stay, on offer was lamb chops, pork chops, chicken fillets, steak, tuna steak and a variety of fish. As well as this was a variety of roast joints sliced at the counter, including turkey, pork, beef and ham. Never once was the food less than hot.
The rooms could do with a refurb but they were lean and functional. Although the pool was very rarely used, it was cleaned every day as well as the sun lounger areas. The hotel was full but there was never a problem with finding a lounger.
The staff were mostly friendly, but a special mention needs to go to Simona who works in the dining room. Although at busy times you had to wait for a table , Simona was very efficient in constantly searching and directing people to a table.
If I had to be picky and look for a fault, it would have to be that the hotel could benefit from more dining room staff as sometimes you had to stack your used plates at the side of the table as they weren't always removed between courses.

Room Tip: We were hoping for a high room overlooking the pool as previous reviews had stated these were the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnT49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear AnnT49,
Thank you very much for your nice words. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday and helps us to improve our services.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and specially the quality of our food, saying that our selection was the best you have had even in some of the 5 star hotel.
Thank you very much for your suggestions and comments. I will pass your mention to Simona and rest of our staff.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Excellent hotel. This was our second visit. Very good value for money as standards are very high. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms do need a bit of freshening up but they are clean and comfortable. The cleaners do an excellent job. They are an invisible but efficient presence. When you do see them they are always cheerful. The sunbeds aren't really an issue. It is true that people go on the terrace as soon as it is opened for their favourite spot, but I think that it is more a case of getting an umbrella/shade, than anything else. This will be even more important in the summer. The entertainment team work very hard and they are very friendly and welcoming. The only improvement that I could suggest is that more staff are needed in the dining room. It is very difficult for the waiters to clear tables, take drink orders and clear away dirty dishes with the large number of people to serve. At times they were very stressed and this created a tense atmosphere. I felt sorry for them. Overall though this is a good quality hotel and we would definitely go back for a third visit. Thanks

Room Tip: high floor and away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Mary p,
Thank you very much for your nice words. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services.
I am pleased that you had a new nice second stay in our hotel.
We are really proud of all our staff! Our housekeeping team, restaurant staff, entertainment and the rest of our staff work hard every day to get our entire guest’s satisfaction. I will pass your nice comments to them.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel for your third stay and many more in the future
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our first time in Tenerife so was unsure of where to stay. I looked on tripadvisor and the Oro Negro had good reviews, hence the reason we chose it and Im so glad we did. The hotel was in a nice area, not too far from the beach or the entrtainment and we had a great holiday. The hotel rooms were nice size and very comfortable. We were high up and had a lovely view of the pool and sea. The maid came in daily and we were given clean sheets and towels regularly. The shower was powerful and hot water was plentiful. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the restaurant was great, so much choice for breakfast and evening meal and athough very busy at times was very well organised. Nice bar and pool area but being beach people we didnt spend much time there. All in all we had a great holiday and would definately go back and stay in the Oro Negro.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up overlooking the pool. Quieter and sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Lee B ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor.com. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services.
I am pleased knowing that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and had a great first holiday in Tenerife.
Thank you very much again for your comments
I hope to welcome you again in our hotel and Tenerife many times more
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Spent our 2nd week of a cruise and stay holiday at this hotel.
Helpful, pleasant staff. Hotel room lovely. Food, couldnt have been any better 1st class!
A lot of returning guests who knew each other.
Swimming Pool Great
Would return

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear Sandra R,

Thank you very much for your feedback. Your nice comments motivate us to continue working every day to get our guests’ satisfaction. I am very pleased reading that you have enjoyed your stay and think our hotel is friendly and relaxing and our food 1st class.

I wait to welcome you again soon in our hotel

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

my husband and i had a wonderful week at this hotel in febrary 2013 we found the reception staff friendly and helpful the food was good some freshly cooked. steak pork fish the room was clean evening entertainment was a bit disappointing but overall a good hotel and brilliant for golfers as the golf course is just across the road we would go back









just got back from a lovely holiday at this hotel we found the reception staff freindly and helpful
the rest of the staff the same it is a great place for golfers as the golf course is just across the road the pool was cold but once we was in it was ok the food was very good with fish. steak .pork fried eggs .omeletes freshly cooked if you wanted. our room was clean with free teli the evening entertainment wasnt that good but overall we was very pleased with our holiday we only went once to the beach its a good walk away we just stayed round the pool but taxis are cheap

Room Tip: we was on the 11th floor and had a wonderful veiw and no noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank violet186410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Dear violet186410 ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your feedback gives us support to continue working everyday to improve our services and helps us to know if we go in the good direction in our efforts.
I am pleased knowing that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
It is true that our hotel is really well sited for golfers and we have rooms with nice golf course views as well.
Thank you very much again for your comments
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,047 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,052 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife by Melia
Sol Tenerife by Melia
#33 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#14 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palm Beach Tenerife
Palm Beach Tenerife
#36 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $94 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing