We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round pleaser and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“All round pleaser and great value”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I was really pleased by my whole experience at the hotel and really felt every need was catered for. The room was a really good size and we had a fab sea view too. I was particularly impressed with the bed as I don't normally sleep well in hotels but was out like a light here! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there was always someone around if you needed anything. As other reviews say, there was always lots of good and really good variation. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it or to go back!

Room Tip: Near the top to improve the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear gillhan ,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and Tenerife.

Thank you very much for chose us for your holidays

We wait to welcome you soon again

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    912
    355
    80
    61
See reviews for
381
1,165
73
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just back on the 6th jan that was our second stay brining in the new year and we are so impresed we have booked again for the next xmas and new year choice and quailty of food is the best of any hotel iv been in pool area large with plenty of sun beds and staff polite and very helpful. Also the rooms are kept clean only down side pool very cold.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank weeblue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear weeblue1,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your feedback helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction and give us support for our daily job. I am pleased reading that you had a nice second stay between us. About water temperature, we will check options to improve it for next years.
Waiting to wellcome you again soon
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can't praise either the hotel or the resort enough, my husband and I who are in our 60's went for the New Year for 1 week (wish we'd made it 2). The room was comfortable and clean, the bed not too hard with a good sized bathroom and as stated in other reviews the food was good and plentiful, even the hotel bar had a nice atmosphere. The resort had something for everyone from Irish pubs to Night Clubs, from tribute bands to Elvis impersonators and every kind of restaurant you can think of. Would I go back .....you bet I would

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank polly2NeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear polly2NeEngland ,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our guests’ satisfaction. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and resort.

We wait to welcome you soon again

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

having just returned from oro negro where my wife and i spent new year a quick thank you to all the staff who were all very cheerful,friendly,helpfull and very hardworking,this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel the first time was 4 years ago in which not a lot has changed the rooms are clean but basic, maid came every day clean towels 3 times bed made every day but only changed once.we were on the sixth floor with great views of the sea and playa de las americas,nice pool area,bar,terrace,reception,the only problem being no food in the bar after 3 oclock so if we had been out for the day and fancied a drink and a bite to eat by the pool in the afternoon it wasnt happening unless you like frozen pizza.which brings me on to the resteraunt i have to say that on the whole the food was awful,over cooked meat of varied descriptions in stodgey sloppy bland sauces and tasteless gravy over cooked soggy veg but wow loads of chips.the only exeption was the gala dinner on new years eve,not superb by any means but acceptable i would of expected a similar standard as the norm,so the last 3 nights of our holiday we ate out.tenerife best again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmulligan324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear johnmulligan324,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your feedback helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction. We regret we have not satisfied your expectations and that you didn’t enjoy so much the quality of our food. About our Bar food’s opening hours, our snack opens from 10:30 till 15:00 h, but we offer roll sandwiches and pizza till 18:00 h that is when our restaurant opens. We will check options to improve it.
We really hope you will give us another chance in the future to welcome you in our hotel and show the quality of our service and exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was clean and the full-board food was very good. However the walls were thin and the rooms are quite dated. For the price, I think this represented good value, largely because the food was plentiful, fresh and lots of choice. Staff were generally very polite and helpful. The room itself was clean and comfortable enough, but I was disturbed on several nights by people in other rooms and could hear them talking. The pool was clean and there were enough sunbeds.

Overall, a good stay but would find it hard to justify more than a 3 star rating because of a few shortfalls.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djmtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear djmtm ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services.
I apologize if you were disturbed by noise some nights, but in your next stay if you have the same problem, please contact us in reception and we will try to re-allocate you in other area.
I hope that in your next visit you will appreciate improvements and include in your comments in positive and affirmative “amazing”.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here approx 16 years ago a few times but stopped going as went all inclusive. We found on our return that the Hotel is still excellent value for money and the staff are extremely hard working and friendly. We were there over Christmas and New Year for both Gala dinners which were brilliant variety and there was plenty of wine and bubbly available. The location is excellent. We had a fantastic view of the ocean from the 9th floor balcony. We paid extra for the family room as we have a 15 year old daughter, she had her own toilet but had to use our bathroom, however I would not hesitate to pay this again if we returned as she also had her own storage, tv ect.

Room Tip: If children are teens or above then definitely worth paying extra for family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Helen H ,
Thank you very much for sharing your second experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and our guest satisfaction give us support for our daily work. It is nice to read that you consider us an excellent value, and that enjoyed our friendliness and hard job, our Galas menus, location and the upgrade that provide of our family rooms.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely, clean hotel with fab staff who work long hours. Food - always plenty of choice from toasties to roast beef. Fab salad bar, desserts a plenty and kids there's always ice cream. Pool area has plenty of Beds but its not heated and that's the only fault I can ever find. Ok in summer but winter it really makes a huge difference. No kettle in room but they can be hired or just take a travel one with you. The hotel is in a quite area but only a 5 min walk to the strip. Anyone liking motown and soul go check out the Soul Suite its fantastic about half way along the strip of bars. Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xxdawn67xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear xxdawn67xx,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction. It is nice to read that you consider our hotel wonderful and our staff fabulous.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,903 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,008 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,197 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#20 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing