We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Oro Negro
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sir Anthony(Playa de las Americas)
$349
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartamentos Oro Blanco(Playa de las Americas)(Great Value!)
$55
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Palm Beach Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mediterranean Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Europe Villa Cortes(Playa de las Americas)
$232
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
H10 Las Palmeras(Playa de las Americas)
$184
$164
H10 Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$166
$159
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iberostar Las Dalias(Playa de las Americas)
$186
$181
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$719
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Siesta Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
$556
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,485)
Filter reviews
2,485 results
Traveler rating
835
1,077
411
93
69
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
835
1,077
411
93
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomdaniels barhalf boardair conplenty of choicestar hotelfamily roomevery nightpool areabusy roadplenty of sunbedsgreat holidaybreakfast and dinnershow cookingmain roadreception staffcleaned every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,667 - 1,672 of 2,485 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2013

having just returned from oro negro where my wife and i spent new year a quick thank you to all the staff who were all very cheerful,friendly,helpfull and very hardworking,this is the second time we have stayed at this hotel the first time was 4 years ago in which not a lot has changed the rooms are clean but basic, maid came every day clean towels 3 times bed made every day but only changed once.we were on the sixth floor with great views of the sea and playa de las americas,nice pool area,bar,terrace,reception,the only problem being no food in the bar after 3 oclock so if we had been out for the day and fancied a drink and a bite to eat by the pool in the afternoon it wasnt happening unless you like frozen pizza.which brings me on to the resteraunt i have to say that on the whole the food was awful,over cooked meat of varied descriptions in stodgey sloppy bland sauces and tasteless gravy over cooked soggy veg but wow loads of chips.the only exeption was the gala dinner on new years eve,not superb by any means but acceptable i would of expected a similar standard as the norm,so the last 3 nights of our holiday we ate out.tenerife best again next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmulligan324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear johnmulligan324,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your feedback helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction. We regret we have not satisfied your expectations and that you didn’t enjoy so much the quality of our food. About our Bar food’s opening hours, our snack opens from 10:30 till 15:00 h, but we offer roll sandwiches and pizza till 18:00 h that is when our restaurant opens. We will check options to improve it.
We really hope you will give us another chance in the future to welcome you in our hotel and show the quality of our service and exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel was clean and the full-board food was very good. However the walls were thin and the rooms are quite dated. For the price, I think this represented good value, largely because the food was plentiful, fresh and lots of choice. Staff were generally very polite and helpful. The room itself was clean and comfortable enough, but I was disturbed on several nights by people in other rooms and could hear them talking. The pool was clean and there were enough sunbeds.

Overall, a good stay but would find it hard to justify more than a 3 star rating because of a few shortfalls.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djmtm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear djmtm ,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services.
I apologize if you were disturbed by noise some nights, but in your next stay if you have the same problem, please contact us in reception and we will try to re-allocate you in other area.
I hope that in your next visit you will appreciate improvements and include in your comments in positive and affirmative “amazing”.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here approx 16 years ago a few times but stopped going as went all inclusive. We found on our return that the Hotel is still excellent value for money and the staff are extremely hard working and friendly. We were there over Christmas and New Year for both Gala dinners which were brilliant variety and there was plenty of wine and bubbly available. The location is excellent. We had a fantastic view of the ocean from the 9th floor balcony. We paid extra for the family room as we have a 15 year old daughter, she had her own toilet but had to use our bathroom, however I would not hesitate to pay this again if we returned as she also had her own storage, tv ect.

Room Tip: If children are teens or above then definitely worth paying extra for family room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Helen H ,
Thank you very much for sharing your second experience in our hotel with other guest in Tripadvisor.com. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and our guest satisfaction give us support for our daily work. It is nice to read that you consider us an excellent value, and that enjoyed our friendliness and hard job, our Galas menus, location and the upgrade that provide of our family rooms.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Lovely, clean hotel with fab staff who work long hours. Food - always plenty of choice from toasties to roast beef. Fab salad bar, desserts a plenty and kids there's always ice cream. Pool area has plenty of Beds but its not heated and that's the only fault I can ever find. Ok in summer but winter it really makes a huge difference. No kettle in room but they can be hired or just take a travel one with you. The hotel is in a quite area but only a 5 min walk to the strip. Anyone liking motown and soul go check out the Soul Suite its fantastic about half way along the strip of bars. Enjoy

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxdawn67xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear xxdawn67xx,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction. It is nice to read that you consider our hotel wonderful and our staff fabulous.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I stayed at the Oro Negro with a friend at the end of November.
A three star rating is really a bit harsh on this hotel, it wouldn't need to do a lot more to hit the 4star level. The rooms were spacious, very clean and ours had a nice view over the pool and out to sea beyond.
The pool was absolutely freezing but then it was November, I don't know if it was supposed to be heated but once you were in it was clean and was plenty big enough to have a swim with a separate children's pool, not they there were many children about.
Daytime entertainment seemed popular but was targeted to older people, same with the evening entertainment but then there is plenty to do on the strip which is only a 15 minute walk.
The food was better than any 3star hotel I have been to before albeit a bit repetitive, a few more options and variety and they would have it made.
All the staff we very helpful from cleaners to restaurant to reception and there is free wifi in reception too.
Yes there are the prostitutes just up the road but you can walk the other way and its no further really, the pubs / clubs are about 15 minutes walk, near enough but also far enough away to not hear the noise that goes on until the early hours. Loads of restaurants and local bars are close by and the hotel sway dinner for lunch if you let them know on the morning so you can enjoy a night out even if you are half board.
We visited a Brazilian BBQ buffet restaurant which was absolutely amazing, close to the Gan Sur Shopping complex it's a good hour walk from Las Americas so would recommend a taxi but at 18 euros its well worth a vist.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durhamrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear durhamrower,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Our guests´ feedback helps us to continue improving our services and get our entire guests´ satisfaction and give us support for our daily job.
You say that for being a 3* we don’t need to do a lot more to be a 4 stars level, but about this we really think we are a 5* hotel because we are officially 3*, but our 4* is our team, the hotel workers, and our 5* are our guests which get to be hotel’s best ambassadors.
I am pleased reading that you had a nice stay between us and I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews