We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Oro Negro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Oro Negro”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This was our 4th visit to the Oro Negro and like the previous 3 years it didnt disappoint us.We had a lovey room on the 8th floor overlooking the golf course. All the staff were nice and very helpful, nothing was ever a bother for them. We were half board. Meal choices were varied and food lovely. Plenty choice even if you are a fussy eater . Would definately recommend this hotel . Hope to be back again next year

Room Tip: You cant go wrong with a high floor on any side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Yvonne M ,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our guests’ satisfaction. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your 4 stays in our hotel and felt comfortable between us. I will pass on your warm comments to our staff.

I wait to welcome you next year again

Thank you very much for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    926
    362
    81
    63
See reviews for
392
1,181
75
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Been previously 10 years ago so expected it to be a bit dated. Not at all. Like a previous writer we got room 365 side of hotel, no view, dull outlook. We asked for a new one and got it the next day overlooking the pool without any problems. Reception staff very friendly as were staff in restaurant. Food was of a high standard, usual buffet, but more variety than ' poster ' hotels. Staff very attentive removing used plates etc and escorting you to your table. Rooms cleaned every day, new towels if wished. Daniels bar showed sky for premier league football and was very reasonable prices for a hotel. Well used by residents as was upstairs lounge bar where shows every night. Pool area clean, well maintained although elderly English, not german, bed reservation group still there by about 8.20am. We had fun watching them whilst having breakfast.

Room Tip: If you get an unsuitable room just ask to be changed. High up floors best great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Pat C,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our guests’ satisfaction. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, appreciated the quality of our services, felt comfortable between us and in general you consider us a “friendly hotel”. I will pass on your warm comments to our staff.

I hope to welcome you again soon

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Me and my partner stayed here for 7 nights half board. The hotel was a fantastic location for us, a 10- 15 minute walk to the beach and the same to the nightlife. We didnt stay around the pool area but it looked nice with plenty of sun loungers.
The room was comfortable with everything we needed, lets face it you dont go on holiday to sit in the room all day!.
The food in the hotel was fantastic especially as I am a fussy eater! i still found plenty to eat and it was all lovely. My partner is more adventurous with food and he enjoyed all the different food on offer.
Overall the holiday was fantastic and i would recommend it to anyone, and we have booked our next stay here for next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cooley02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear cooley02,
Thank you very much for your comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to improve our services. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and especially that you enjoyed the quality of our food and restaurant service.
I hope to welcome you again next year
Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just had a week back at this hotel and its still as good as ever. We new the quality of the rooms and the food would be good. The staff are nice as ever. What made it friendlier was, there wasnt a lot of Germans staying. The sunbed reservation society meet every morning at 0830 to wait for the staff to unchain them. No complaints AT ALL. Cant tell you about the entertainment at the ORO, We went out every night, Try the Wigan arms. Go and see Crystal Star and the show they put on, Its free to get in and a 5 Min stroll from the hotel. Enjoy your stay, We did and will going back next year.

Room Tip: rooms 557, 558, Double balconies sun all day. 558, Overlooks pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CleethorpesLonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear CleethorpesLonny,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our entire guest’s satisfaction. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again next year.

Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.

Yours sincerely,

Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

our first room was 367 which was very disappointing, with an unusable balcony due to being closely overlooked by apartments next door, and a noisy generator outside. be aware of rooms 365-369 which share this location. fine if you've booked last minute and paid cheap, or want to party out all night. we compliained about the noise and were moved next day to 10th floor, much quieter and amazing veiws. hotel itself is comfortable, food is excellent. plenty of choice , grill area for freshly done meat and fish. each room has its own air conditioning and a ceiling fan. remote for air conditioning needs a deposit which is fully returned. fridge can be hired ( we didnt) sun loungers in two styles, hard plastic with mattress or blue woven ones without mattress. no pool towels available (this is only 3 star) pool biggest i've seen in small hotel, shallow end neck deep; deep end separated by rope and is very deep. small childrens pool, well separated from big pool. freindly helpful staff.

Room Tip: avoid room367 and adjacent unlessyou dont want to use the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank durhamtravelingjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear durhamtravelingjan,
Thank you very much for your comments. Your feedback motivates us to continue working every day to get our entire guest’s satisfaction. I am very pleased that you had enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you felt comfortable between us and think that our staff is friendly and our food is great, because these are two of our characteristics which we are more proud of.
I hope to welcome you again soon
Thank you very much again for sharing your experience and comments.
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Hotel rooms are a little dated. However bathroom with full size bath, lots of hot water. Rooms cleaned every day. Bed was a little hard for me, but room 207 was quite big. T.V. in room 4 english channels. Sun on balcony in the afternoon. Hotel is on the main road and it takes 5 mins to walk into centre of Las Americas. Hotel food is good, always beef, fish n chicken served every night. Desserts the same most nights but ok, fruit, cheese, jelly, ice cream and fruit salad tinned. Had a problem with the lock on room inform them on the way down to breakfast, fixed by the time we returned from breakfast. The staff n hotel try very hard to make you stay enjoyable. Resturant needs to have music piped in to it, table are scratted a roon the room, so you have lots of people walking around you. Went from 15th nov to 22 nov 2012, heat +24 - 29ish, started to get a little chilly at night last couple of night before we went home. We booked half board, breakfast was conitental, full english plus ommlets cooked fresh every morning. Overall a nice chill out holiday. Husband went 20 years ago, changed from then, they have humunized it now, lots of green walk ways. Avoid walkways at night, as you would at home, keep to main streets at night. Did check trip advisior reports before booking hotel, only found 1 small cockroch in our room, never seen any other around hotel at all.

Room Tip: Room 207, was quite a large room, on the end. Sun in the afternoon on balcony, a quite room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angelahawkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear angelahawkins1,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services. We work hard every day to get all our guests’ satisfaction and our guest’s feedback helps us to go in the right direction. Your suggestions will help us. I hope in your next visit your will appreciate improvements.
I hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have stayed at the Oro Negro on many occasions over the last four years even recommending it to family and friends. The main reasons for our continued visiting were the cleanliness and the very good food (Half-Board option). Whilst on this visit the Hotel was still extremely clean the standard of the food had gone decidedly downhill. The evening Dinner choices were uninspiring, repetitive and on two occasions just so wrong!! I'm talking about Fish Fingers as a main dish (dry and hard) and what was intended to be a Shepherd's Pie but looked like mash on top of gravy!! I'm no culinary snob and I'm sure many people enjoy the odd fish finger back at home but to be offered this in a 3 star hotel and having paid a fair amount of money for the holiday just seems like they are taking a lazy option. This is a country remember where the fresh fish is plentiful and delicious.
Just a couple of other observations regarding the replenishment of Breakfast items. If the eggs were there - the bacon wasn't and vice versa. People were waiting up to 10 minutes for an omelette to be cooked.
My final disappointment regarding the Restaurant was the way I was spoken to by the young woman who seats you. I apparently did a terrible thing by walking up to her before she had waved me forward! I was told "No you must wait till I call you we are short-staffed and very busy" Sorry but neither problem is my fault and there is surely a way of saying what she wanted to say politely without making me feel like a chastised schoolchild. Fellow holidaymakers we spoke to even suggested that when this woman had her time off the Restaurant ran smoothly and more efficiently.
It's sad that the hotel has disappointed us as we have had really good times there but I don't think we will visit again - there are many good hotels in Playa de Las Americas.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Favisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DomingoPerez, Director General at Catalonia Oro Negro, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Favisse,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience in our hotel in Tripadvisor. Your comments give us the chance to improve our services and avoid mistakes. I Sorry that you after some visits to our hotel didn’t enjoy so much your stay last time, we continue working everyday to get our guest full satisfaction. Thank you for your comments about food, you can be sure that we will pass on your comments to our Chefs because we are proud of our very good food and restaurant service and want it continue in a high level. I would like to apologise if you felt someone was rude or not polite enough with you in the restaurant, but when the hotel is full if there is not an order in restaurant is very difficult to work and to give the good service that we try to give
I hope you will give us another chance to show you we still have a high standard of services
Waiting to welcome you soon again in our hotel
Yours sincerely,
Domingo Pérez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,922 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,910 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,034 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,222 reviews
1.3 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#6 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing