We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Oro Negro
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have just come back from the Oro Negro. The room is a bit dated but the maids come in every day and replace the towels you leave in the bath and tidy up. There is no problem getting a sunbed, each day the pool is cleaned and the beds are locked up until 9am so there is no rush to get a bed. We always got a bed and there where at least over 50 beds spare everyday a bonus. There is a lifeguard on duty and are very helpful getting you a sunshade or a cushion for the white beds.The people in the restaurant are ok but not very friendly with the exception of Simona who takes you to the table and always has a friendly word. The people who do the show cooking are very nice as well. You can have freshly cooked omelettes each morning or fried eggs exactly how you like them. At night they have usually a choice of three meat or fish which is cooked in front of you. This is besides all the other food they have prepared. We always found something we liked. We had a couple of problems with the safe not working correctly and when reported to the reception someone came up both times within 30 minutes. I never saw any prostitutes as mentioned by other reviews and I made a point of looking for them. All in all we had a good time at the hotel but did not like Tenerife not because of the resort itself but if you should expect to be pestered alot by the bars and shops as you walk past. This was the thing which spoiled the holiday, but the hotel I would definitely recommend. It is a slight walk down a hill to the front but not a steep one. I emailed the hotel beforehand to ask for a low floor and was emailed the same day to say I could have one. Excellent service.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view it will be quieter because the hotel is on a main room. If you email the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gle215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    868
    345
    76
    59
See reviews for
362
1,099
68
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Booked this as a last minute deal 5 days before we went and weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised.Our room wasn't ready when we arrived, but we only had half an hour to wait and just took the opportunity to have a look around the complex and get a cold drink at the bar. We stayed in room 238, which had a lovely pool view, but the disdvantage of being right above the entertainment area, which wasn't our cup of tea, but thankfully finished at 12am. As other guests have stated, the walls are extremely thin-especially through the bathrooms-you can literally hear EVERYTHING. Luckliy, we didn't have to deal with much other noise besides a bit of knocking and slamming doors etc. Rooms are really clean and the maid service was great. Pool area, lovely and tidy as well, and no problem getting a sunbed on the 2 days we stayed around the pool.
Food is fine; not an amazing selection, but always something edible, although I wasn't happy with the vegetable selections stating things like 'vegetables and rice' and then had concealed meat and fish in it. Breakfast is much nicer than evening meal, but we found it easier to go around 8.30am or it got extremely busy and felt like a school canteen. We broke the week up with a couple of meals out in Los Cristianos which was lovely-go to the back streets-food is cheaper and much more authentic and tasty!
We didn't really see any prostitutes apart form the first night and yes there are strip clubs nearby but they are discreet and not a problem-nobody bothers you in a couple or a family.
We paid an extra 30E to keep the room on until 6pm which was well worth it as our flight pickup wasn't until 11.30pm. The Whiskey jar, 1 minute down the road is a great little Scottish run bar which my Glaswegian fiance loved. Great live entertainment most nights and really cheap drinks prices.
Overall, loved Tenerife and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view a bit higher up and not on top of Daniel's bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Gracie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hi, just arrived back from this hotel 3/8/12. Myself, husband and two sons had a fab time. The hotel staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and cleaned on a daily basis. We stayed half board - food was really nice and lots to choose from. Within easy reach of all the shops, restaurants and bars and beach. Lots of sun beds and as they were locked up until 10am every morning nobody could reserve them. The rooms do not have any tea making facilities, so take a kettle!! The only negative - too many 'lookie lookie' men trying to sell u fake sunglasses and watches in the shopping area and streets.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hertfordshireAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Firstly I would like to thanks staff which is working there for making my stay a really pleasant one!
I was staying at room 322 and I can't complain about anything. Room service was very good and the girl is really helpful and kind. Food and everything what is happening downstairs at lunchroom is just pure!You can find various kind of stuff to eat, anything you wish and it is healthy & fresh.Service which is cleaning tables and trying to make you feel comfortable is great. "Live cooking" is a great idea and I enjoyed it. Delicious desserts! I was swimming only once at pool but it is clean and sunbeds aswell. You can feel safe while you're staying at this hotel. Some of people might say that it is bid old one and needs to refrubrish but it surelly deserve 3 stars and in my opinion it could be even higher because of the staff which make that place a friendly & peaceful one. Just an advice...I think they just only should make wireless internet in every room, anytime I wanted to use computer I had go to the lobby.

I'm highly recommending this hotel to anyone who wants to pay fair price for a pleasant & lovely stay at Catalonia Oro Negro.I'll be staying there in future aswell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cezary_Torun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

lovely hotel for a 3 star. staff very hard working and friendly. always lots if sunbeds around the pool so no need to get up at crack of dawn. about 10 minutes walk to shops and bars and about the same to clubs. stayed hb and food was good and plenty of it .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank helen1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Me & MY 16 yr old son went to this hotel on 3/7/12 for 14 nights, We could not fault the hotel as it was clean & friendly BUT as we went half board breakfast was minimal, cooked bacon was like cardboard & the knives blunt lol...People would booked their loungers (round the very small pool) about 6am by putting towels on them we couldn't get a look in which was a blessing really...The worse thing was as we were on the 9th floor (room 935) at 10pm every night there can be up to 7 prostitutes working in the car park over the road till 3.30am from our balcony you could see them & they were very busy...The hotel is situated on a busy main road which is not good with drivers hooting their horns at the women they would also be laughing, shouting etc very loudly. The hotel is very close to the bars/nightclubs especially the strip clubs, lapdancing clubs etc and there is quite a lot of them believe me. I was pleased I didn't go with young children as it would have been awful...Maid service is ok!! BUT we only had our bed sheets changed once whilst we were there...It was our first time in Tenerife & we are planning to go back but to a different area next time....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank April69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

on arrival despite being an hour late our room was not ready we were sent with all our luggage back to reception. Music from local stadium for two days till three in morning. a shower that did not work,asked to leave the pool area when entertainment was on as we were not drinking from bar even though we had purchased drinks from pool vending machine.Staff cant understand Scottish even when spoken slowly.Food lots of it but lukewarm at best, entertainment from what we saw was poor even by Butlins standard.No amenities in rooms 3 English channels 2 of them news channels.Would not recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#34 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Oro Negro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Oro Negro

Property: Catalonia Oro Negro
Address: Arquitecto Gomez Cuesta 14, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catalonia Oro Negro 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Oro Negro is located 500 metres from the las Americas de Arona beach, in Tenerife, close to the local leisure centre and the "Las Americas" golf club. The hotel facilities cater to the most discriminating clients, both adult and children: swimming pool for adults, children's swimming pool, children's playground, large terrace, solarium with hammocks, hairdressers and beauty salon, table football, table tennis, private garden, pool bar, live shows in the bar, Daniel's bar, breakfast buffet restaurant and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Oro Negro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Oro Negro Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Catalonia Oro Negro Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing