We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY AT THIS HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 10, 2011

checkin took 2hrs,staff not helpfull,room full of mould,food terrible,swimming pool gets no sun on it so cold,nowhere to sit in the evening,worst hotel ever stayed in ruined our xmas never again and has for being a 3 star wot a joke

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jewy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,335 - 3,341 of 4,072 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2011

Check in took 1 hour. Room allocated had raw sewage. moved to a room that was from the 70's, had to share with cockroaches in the night.. Hotel repection staff were utterly rude and unhelpful. had to drink out of a stack of 3 plastic glasses. Had to queue for meals that were the same every day, when you got to your dining table your food was cold and there was no cutlery. Pools never saw the sun and were freezing cold. The only good thing was ?? - can't think of anything.

We were on holiday with our 7 year old child, and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Get yourself a nice apartment and eat out in some of the lovely restaurants. Can recommend Mama Rosa's fantastic..

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EGA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Just return from a New Year break at the columbus with my family and would never go back. Have been visiting Tenerife for more than 15 years and have never stayed in such a badly organised hotel. Staff are rude and arrogant with exception for the maids and dining room staff who were quite nice. The all inclusive set-up is a shambles and we have never come across anything like it. We travelled with our family of 13 and would only be allowed to receive two drinks per person at the bar at one time. There were always large queues and it was a free for all who gets served first, with rude people pushing in which was quite annoying. The food was mainly disgusting only on a few occasions it was okay and breakfasts seemed to be better. We spotted cockcroaches in the dining room twice and flies were present all the time. Building works continued every day with extreme noise and dust. The Clientele in the hotel was challenging to say the least, ie, waking up throughout the night to hear either music or outbreaks of fighting and this was coming from families not young groups of girls/boys. Police were called out on one occasion, not what you want to hear or see on a family holiday especially with young children. On a more positive note, the room was recently refurbished to a nice standard and was very comfortable, maid service excellent on a daily basis. The actual lobby area and lounge is also tastefully decorated. It is in a good location with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and about 15 min walk to the beach. We visited Siam Park again which was amazing you should go there is something for everyone. Basically, quite a nice hotel, all inclusive poorly managed, staff rude, food poor. Be warned!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This hotel had supposingly been refurbished. The self catering block was a disgrace, only just fit for a dog to sleep in never mind children. There is no way this hotel is a 3* throughout. I think Thomson need to correctly advertise this hotel as self catering 2* and all inclusive just reaching 3* The all inclusive block only just reached a 3*. The only other option for the self catering block is to make a 18-25s holiday. That will give you an idea to what you will be staying in. I would adivse anyone staying there to request an all inclusive room!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glebefarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

stayed at the columbas for xsmas and new year.. first thoughts of the hotel were nice and clean, we were all inclosive it was not bad but not much variety. staff were ok but some were ignorant. there was dirty dishes at meal times. pool was 2 cold to go in as it did not get any sun.various guests were fighting new years eve makes u wonder wat the hotel will put up with b4 they throw u out. Just about all the guests were of the same opinion about the clampits that turned up half way through which was a night mare. rooms were tidied every day and clean towels Some of the all inclusive guests would not eat in the resataurant as u had to queue which at times there was at least 50 people in the queue and caused arguments when people pushed in. all in all a good holiday and met some great friends which made it a fab hol 4 us , CHRIS/ DAZ FROM YORKSHIRE,

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank crystal7461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

On holiday from 26/ 11 / 10 until 10/ 12 / 10 We were a bit worried about going to this hotel but i dont know why we had a magic stay room was good drink was good entertaiment was good food was good first week but then started to repeat its self all the staff were amazing esp i need to mention sue who worked in the restaurant and the bar her customer skills are exceptional my daughter was really ill for the last 6 days of our holiday and never left the room sue tried to keep us calm unfortunatly when we got back to scotland she was taken in to hospital but is on the mend now we would defo go back to the columbus thanks for a great holiday and thanks again sue xxxx

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirstie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed at Columbus between 18th and 28th December so was here for Christmas.

Although we enjoyed ourselves the all-inclusive option at this hotel was very poor - the food was at best mediocre and at its worst we just had to eat chips and more chips. We had breakfast out every day at a lovely little restaurant around the corner for 2.5 euros - a full beautifully cooked English breakfast served all day and made the best of a bad job with the rest.

The drinks were of very poor quality and the children seemed to rule the roost - the children's entertainment drowned out everything else up to 10pm as it was situated right next to the only bar in the hotel and then the 'all-inclusive' only bar closed at 11pm! We were ok because we went downtown for the nightlife and came back in the early hours but there were many complaints from people who wanted to carry on drinking and relaxing.

To be fair the staff were friendly and the rooms were clean but there was a lot of trouble with people fighting and arguing at night and banging on doors as well as staff shouting hammering and singing at 7am right outside the door!

We have stayed at good all-inclusive hotels so I am trying to make a fair comparison. For us this was a bargain break booked months ago but for others it was an expensive and disappointing holiday with no real entertainment. The weather was mixed, cloudy one day sunny the next - Christmas day was very hot. Overall we met some great people and it was definitely better than being at home in the snow!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElenaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $60 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing