We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
west yorks
1 review
“never again”
Reviewed August 23, 2009

i have just returned from columbus hotel what an absolute dump. surrounded by club 18-30 although the rep denied this. room was absolutely filthy not even very basic hygiene applied. pool good about the only thing good on this site. I would return to tenerife but not to columbus

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank allieWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    1,203
    941
    472
    534
See reviews for
808
1,445
77
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (919)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dalton lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2009

I had read all the reviews and was slightly worried. We had not got a cheap deal and had choose the hotel for its location and because we had a 17 and an 18 yr old. Let me start with the all inclusive. We were made to feel like 2nd class citizens. We had to sit on separate tables in the restaurant. We had tissue serviettes and plastic table mats, paying guests had linen.
Yes you can only get 2 drinks and from only one bar and the selection of spanish spirits in limited - not the full range. When Tascas bar is shut ,you have to trolley into the restaurant. Also if you want a snack you have to eat in Tascas not take it out to the pool, unlike paying guests!
In general the staff were miserable and on some occasions rude. We are in a world recession and holiday makers are customers and guests. We were treated as though they were doing us a favour. Very unhelpful except Sue the waitress/barmaid.
Food is Ok, Rooms very dated as is hotel in general. looks like something from the 70s.
Pool is large and no probs getting a bed. They lock them up until 9.45 am. At 6 pm they close the pool and start stacking the beds.
The noise at night is very bad, doors slamming, street noise, parties in rooms. Twice we had to call security (who is hopeless) to stop a party of 16 spaniard teenagers in one room music blasting, running around, shouting in corridors
Entertainment is ok. No music round pool. Life guard constantly blowing his whistle for no particular reason. They seem to clamp down on any kind of fun or noise during day, but at night it is a free for all.
There are a lot more decent 3 star hotels in tenerife. Take heed do not book this one. It is poor. I would not go even if I was teenager. Defo not for young families, romantic couples or elderly. Not even fun for teenagers

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotmama_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

glasgow
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Rooms are very basic, no air con,maids make the beds but do little else floor not cleaned in 2 week stay,if ur in the 2nd building u will be sleeping on camp beds and the mattresses are shot we had too speak to the reps 3 days running before something was done,useless reps!! unless ur female 36dd and 19yrs old they wont speak with u,bar is expensive and if ur all inclusive they make u sit inside the hotel,the food was ok basic but ok,the gym,italian resturante,the 2nd bar, the roof pool,where all closed, the hotel is still used ALOT by 18-30 reps run bar crawls and foam partys naked guys running around hotel at all hours

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mid128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL0VEH0lidays7
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2009

When me and my boyfriend and my 10 year old daughter enterd the hotel we were quiet shocked! It looked better then in the pictures! The pool is very big but noone is hardly in it. The back pool is very nice but as columbus hotel sprays cockroach spray every evening in the night you may come across dead ones along side the pool. Evening entertainment was O.K... I enjoyed watching people sing at kareoke night... My daughter said the childrens disco was very boring only for kids about 3-5. Most entertainment was great! Alll Insclusive was DELIOUS. Eat all you want...Very tasty!! I liked the thought of cards instead of keys but at one point are card wasnt working but in the end we sorted that out!
Location was great. To walk to the beach is takes about 5 minutes walk to the beach. The beach is very nice the waves are awsome and it is a great place to surf. There are many shops around. In the evening because you have all insclusive youngsters drink alot so you cannot pass along to the other building! If your a fan of footy i think you have about 2 tv's. Apartments where abit dirty they didnt really clean up propely. They woke you up in the morning!! i mean come'on its a holiday for relaxation!! You have a tv in the apartment ... THAT YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR. I think it was like you enter 1 Euro and watch tv for like 30minutes! When my daughter was sleeping my boyfriend saw a dead cockroach under her bed. Beds are not compfortable. My boy friend had to sleep on a sofa bed.. Which is really dusty and low on the floor so cockroaches can reach. We had some trouble as we booked a double bed and a single bed but we turned out with to single beds and a sofa bed. Bring lots of sun cream as we walked around the beach and then got back all red and burnt! While your their i would recomend SIAM PARK to all water lovers. Some stuff are pretty scary so i would say if your with little kids dont come as they would have to sit out. Loro Park Is for the whole family! Is was amazing! There where dolphin shows and on each dolphin show 1 lucky kid got to swim with the dolphins!! Lots and Lots of shows!! And lots of great animals!! if you do go out for the day and you will not make it back for lunch dinner.. Or if your going early and wont eat breakfast.. The day befor you leave tell the reception you want a pack lunch. there not that nice but there eatable.. Basiiccly they will give you Orange,Banna,Full Baggett,Water,Ham & Cheese(in packets to add into the baggett.),Butter,Jam(is there so if you dont like ham or cheese you make a jam baggett... They still give you the ham and cheese.. This is per person btw!! Let me tell you now dont get shocked when you see cockroaches cause there everywhere!! The weather is always hot and stuffy so where short sleeves,shorts,polo shirts. the hotel you has a shop(u need to exit the hotel). in the hotel you have a hair dresser,Washing machines (MUST PAY). Most staff are nice but in the bar they are very rude and do not help you with your problems. Sadly you can only take 2 drinks even all insclusive!! Bar closes at 12 on the dot! I find it sad that they dont really listen to the kids but show respect to the adults! My daughter and her friend went to the bar at like 11:57 ( they where closing early!!) the guy shut the gates and my daughter and her friend rushed to the gates... The man got at the gates at the same time and my daughter asked for a drink first and then the man asks for a a beer and he goes and gets it.. When the man comes back he only has the beer and then says sorry your to late! In the evenings you might get abit bored so i recomend going out for a walk and seeing the nightlife.. Its really nice kids could go into pubs and stuff and they get free food and drink!! There is always something happening in all the bars and pubs like there was elvis singing two men..(the wild boys.. I recomend going theree!) They sing and twist songs to make them funny! You could also nip into another hotel the other near by ones are very nice.. Everynight we went to a diffrrent hotel for their evening entertainment . We went to one and some women and a man on a guitar where dancing tango. It was very nice!! Snake show at columbous when we was there wasnt such a hit. The man chose a little girl to hold the snake ... And the snake wrapped around her hands soo tight! The people who actully took part in holding the snakes got their picture for FREE! To buy a picture was such a rip off!! To buy anything their you would have to throw out a good 25 euros.. Its cause of all the tourists. Sand colour is : Dirty Brown :I
Overall... I luv it & i would go again! Guys well what can?.. i say i would recomend this hotel! My rating out of 10... 8/10 would be 10/10 BUT cockroaches... & Rude Staff. Hope this helps you have a feel of hotel columbous and stuff around it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IL0VEH0lidays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2009

After i booked the holiday at columbus i came across some BAD REVIEWS! and i was not happy about it! dont get me wrong there were a few good ones but a few people described it as the worst holiday ever.... When me and my boyfriend got there it was not way i thought it would of been meaning people over egzagerated in saying it was the hotel from hell! The hotel could do with updating but i thought it was pretty good.We had the 5th floor so didnt hear much noise, and only found 3 cockcroaches on the balcony the whole 10 days we stayed.the cleaners do come and clean everyday but after they sweep the floor your feet do become black!! (so make sure you pack your flipflops!!) We done self catering and im pleased i did that because there are loads of restuarants and fairly cheep! and great food!! swimming pool area was nice and again not like people said it was like.When you book the holiday on line...the hotel does look better than what it is but i still wouldnt say its the worst hotel! The one downfall is that theres no air con so it does get really hot at night but you can hire a fan! i had a great time, me and my boyfriend are planning to even move there!! so dont be put off my the bad reveiws!
suitible for all ages in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I stayed here 6 years ago on a girls holiday and to be honest was worried when i read some of the reviews that it was not not the well equipt place it once was.

lets be honest after a miserable time 2 years ago in a different Hotel I went for something I knew. I booked with Thompsons and Chose the Columbus.

Its not quite the all singing all dancing place it used to be with all of the charecter bars and restaurants now closed as It is trying to be an all inclusive and clearly the other bars and restaurants were not making money. Thats just a guess.

We stayed for 10 days and our room was cleaned every day and fresh sheets put on the bed either every day or every other day depending on how the sheets looked.

There were organised activities every day with water polo in the pool every week day organised by the staff.

You do get dirty feet if you walk around on the tiles without shoes and if your on the front of the hotel the road is noisy with buses and lorrys starting the day early and drunk people shouting at the early hours of the morning. we had to keep our balcony door open at night as it was so hot I dont think it would have been too bad if it was cooler.

The location is really good basically in the middle of everything.

All the staff were really friendly and our reps were amazing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Louise_Beatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tenerife
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I went on this holiday for 2 weeks i was so looking 4ward 2 it and thought tenerife would be brilliant.when we got to the hotel the people wasnt very helpfull with helping us up the stairs with our cases,or to our rooms.The cleaners came around once or twice a week didnt really do much.We tried getting sunbeds by the pool everyday, but couldnt you litrally have to be up about 6 in the morning!the security guard has an absoloute attitude and gave evil looks the whole 2 weeks.Then we got fined 100 euros because we was playing music off of our phones which was not loud,and it was about 7 in the evening so wasnt late.Im young myself but being woken up at half 5 in the morning everyday is just wrong,people were slamming doors,arguing,screaming,running up and down hall ways.I would not recommend this hotel to anybody.WORST HOTEL IVE BEEN TO..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahstannard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,897 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#29 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Property: Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing