We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutly fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 12, 2009

stayed there every year with my dad since 2002, leisure facilities top class and always have a great time. Average family entertainment. All staff helpful and friendly and make you feel welcome. Drinks average price for a hotel but if you go down the road, obviously the drinks are cheaper in all the bars. Located close enough to the strip but far enough away so ideal. Lovely big pool and organised sportsto suite different ages.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cantona97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,581 - 3,587 of 4,119 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2009

unless your age 18 to 24 years dont bother booked here for 2 weeks after 3 nights here we changed hotels no sleep gangs of youth just being total nuisance, naked in the pool 5 oclock in afternoon not the sort of scene i expected i was totally gutted, i would never go back here ,rooms really grubby cockroaches too,the worst hotel ever and i have stayed in a few ,and security waste of time . dont go here especially if u got children honestly.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weakest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

A holiday is after all what you make it, however there are a few things you need to know before staying at the Columbus. I have been on many holidays either with my wife, family or on lads holidays so i can look at this from both angles. This July me and the wife wanted a relaxing holiday near a lively resort, and was given the columbus by our travel agent and i wish i checked on trip advisor first before booking. The hotel adorned in football flags on arrival is quite impressive, one of the largest in Las Americas. My first thought as i had been to Las Americas on the lads holiday, was of slight concern at how close it was to Veronicas, the biggest nightlife on the Island. After checking in the friendly staff gave us our room 111, better then 666 i suppose, overlooking the fantastic looking pool. The room was clean but not modernised, with no ceiling fan, and no air conditioning but had kitchenette with everything you need. Safety deposit box for 40 euros, and a TV that you had to slot money in to watch, but hey you dont come away to watch TV right? Now we went all inclusive and i thought it would be easy but no, there is one bar in the far corner of the hotel which you can only go to to get your 2 drinks per person and food. With one person behind this bar you are in for a good 20 minute wait, then when breakfast, lunch, and dinner is served they shut this bar and you have to queue in the dining hall with everyone who is having dinner, so if you want a drink with your meal, your are queing longer. The main bar on the poolside you can not use as all inclusive which is a shame as its a nice bar and pretty empty as everyone is mostly all in. The pool as i said is beautiful however if you are not up by 7.30am to put your towels out then you will not get a bed, and if you do you are all sitting on top of each other. If you are partial to a bit of shade i'd get up earlier and pinch one of the 6 umbrellas scattered around (only 5 work) but be warned someone else might pinch it if you leave it for 5 minutes. Another thing about the pool is if you get in you might be hit by a football or any other object, it gets very busy in the pool and balls are flying everywhere, the lifegaurd blows his whistle but thats all he does. Now onto the nightlife in the hotel, well the entertainment is the same old kids disco followed by kareoke etc and goes on till midnight but due to the hotel being full with groups of lads and women its pretty noisy till 1am. You have a little bit of quietness then around 3 onwards its just mayhem. Screaming, crying girls, lads jumping in the pool, swearing, flyers coming under your door asking you to attend the strip clubs and pubs, and the security guards do nothing. It took most nights the people who were sleeping to shout off their balconys to shut people up. To be honest thats the Columbus in a nutshell, not to many positives, but if you are a group of blokes or girls this is the perfect hotel, but as a family or a couple looking to relaxing then definately not. Also if you have not been to Las Americas before then you might not like the hassle you get from the street sellers and people asking you to come into their restuarant. You can't even read their menu in peace without hassle. You think if you shut up and left me alone we might come in. My advice is stay away from Veronicas end unless your on a group holiday and head the other end of town towards Los Cristianos. Near the Parque Santiago hotels their are loads of nice restaurants, shops and bars, oh and mini golf. I recomend Star of India, Indian restuarant better then we have over here, and El Meson for a drink and good music in the evening if the live performer is their. Remember your holiday is what you make it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nobla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

The hotel is fine,
the room is good, nice balcony, bed, kitchen, fine bathroom. tv (which you have to pay for but only one euro per hour)
the hotel pool is really nice, we hardly went to beach as was just as nice lying by the pool on the sun loungers.
the hotel entertainment is really good, parrot shows, magic show, fire eating dancers ect ect, watched entertainment every night.
we went all inclusive, food was ok but prob our biggest negative. not bad but a abit repetative. especially when we had lunch and dinner in hotel. only one bar served all inclusive drinks so always had a long que but not a problem. snacks during the day were good,

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Visited this hotel in April and it was much better.
I found that when we went in July it was full of English lager louts. They drank all day and night and were totally out of control and nothing was was done about it. The security guard stood and watched them as they overtook the pool and nobody else could get near it because of them. They intimidated you if you tried to get in or out of the pool. They shouted all day and night and they swore all the time.I was very disappointed in the management of the hotel as they done nothing to keep them under control.The noise at night was deafening. You really need ear plugs if you are to get any sleep.
They Hotel is very clean although it is very tired and dated. The staff were friendly to you if you were friendly to them. Food was good and plenty of variety. The all inclusive was good as well. It's not the Hilton, but for what you are paying it was good value. I would'nt say it was for families. It's for young couples and 18-30. Although in April it was a very mixed hotel and it was a better atmosphere then as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzisiesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

I stayed in tha hotel in june and have recentely come bk i stayed with my bf and other couples and was all inclusive wich i thought was rubbish food was always tha same and tha cheapest tasting foo eva drinks wer crap theyd fill tha cup half full like and as for pool snacks u ada walk treck to get em wich was a fuss and u culdnt even eat um by tha pool.room wer way to hot coz there was no air conditioning plus they didn change my sheets for a week and tha floors are stinking and towels ga fag burns all over em so take ur own if ur going and as for tha staff except for one r to they wer all complete and uter misarible no help at all theyd say every ting in spanish we they know for a fact we wer british jus reali rude and grumpy and for all inclusive they make u wear tacky cheap plastic blue bands i felt like i was in bultins or on tag or suming, for a fact tha hotel wun be open long sorry people bu it is horrible bu tenrife was fab so dun worry bout thatxxxxx

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesZoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Hi me along with 13 other friends came back from the columbus hotel on the 3 Jul and found it to be a great hotel. There was a maid service everyday offered and if you wanted to stay in bed they would leave you. The main reception was helpfull and the location for veronicas strip was fantastic. I was pretty worried about what i might find after reading the reviews but it turned out all good. The pool was massive and surrounded by loads of women, the only down fall i'd say would be the lack of music in the day time at the pool and miserable security guys otherwise good times!!! i'll definately be going back next year. James

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,832 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,415 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $67 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing