We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

On arrival to at the hotel we was greeted by the front desk staff who was abrupt and rude from the start. Not sure if it was maybe the fact we were 4 lads on holiday and they thought we were going to be trouble, on various occasions we spoke to the front desk for advice and also due to power cuts there which were happening often we wanted to know when the power was on. When we asked, again very abrupt. The bar staff, cleaning staff were very nice and helpful though. The hotel in my view is very basic, not complaining as we just wanted a bed and wash room as we were out of the hotel half the time. I do not think I would stop here again on solely the way we were spoken to by the front desk which is shame.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Carl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,280 - 2,286 of 4,029 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

just got back 13 ,12, 13. reading the reviews before we left,. left me wandering if i should have booked somewhere different. Let me start with the so called bad mannered staff. What bad manners, i found the staff very polite and friendly, someone said to me that the bar man was ignorant. he didn't say please or thank you, 99%of the time he did except when very busy, (400 rooms ) you want a drink , he wants to serve you and then serve the next ,some would complain if the service was slow, it was not. The food in the restaurant may not be appetizing to look at but we found it to be good , steak 3 times in one week, roast pork ,always fish on offer. breakfast one of the best we have ever had.whatever you have is of good quality. teenage kids may not find what they want. its not MacDonalds. The rooms are clean and better than expected, Look out for the guy who run the day time games hes a good laugh. Only down side , yes the pool is cold and if you want the TV you have to pay , Overall you get what you pay for , if you want 4 star then pay extra and go somewhere different , Yes we would go back to this hotel. value for money at the price we paid . Graham and Jenny 50s couple

Room Tip: rooms in other building opposite reception better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I am just back from staying in the columbus hotel in playa de las americas. Reading all the bad reviews on here i thought some people were a little fussy and over reacted. I like to make the most of things and always try to find the bright side of a situation. But this was just laughable. We arrived at night, and went up to the desk to find a very arrogant, unhelpful man behind the desk. We had booked two rooms, one twin and one double. We asked if we could have them near eachother but we werent aloud as twin and doubles are on different floors. When we got to our room which was the twin it was a tinny little old fashioned room with two single beds pushed together, we had a melted toaster to use, all our dishes were marked with some sort of black substance and when i looked into the bathroom, our towels were disgusting i dont think they have ever had a good wash before. Jumping into the shower the water started filling the bath which did this the rest of our holiday. The first day we went down to the main pool to enjoy the sun except there was no sun because of the way the building is built there is a tiny area where everyone fights to get some rays. The pools were beyond freezing. The rest of the holiday we spent as much time out of the hotel as we could it was that terrible. On the last day we had a night flight again, and we were chucked out of our room at 11, we asked about other facilities and we were told "There are facilities in place" that was all, trying to get more information was like drawing blood from a stone. When we saw the "Facilities" we were that furious we were willing to pay out to get a room for the day, showers and toilet all in the same room which i dont think had ever had a clean. When we asked about another room we were told no there were none. I will never in my life go back to this hotel it was not what we payed for.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RachelMD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Right ok well let me start by saying I don't like writing bad reviews about places but this is an exception, me mum n dad were here in September this year (2013) for 2 weeks last week in sep and first week in October, we arrived at night had a family room first few nights our air con didn't work so we had to keep balcony door open, my friend had a studio room to herself one night she noticed baby cockroaches in her room so phoned down someone came up sprayed insect spray or whatever used to clear them out this triggered her asthma and she had to sleep down in reception because they refused to give her another room for the night, shocking!
Food wise it was lovely apart from a few mornings where parts of breekie were clearly raw but they were still serving it!
Facilites were good there is a gift shop within hotel grounds, pools are good gym is good, pools are well maintained, must admit the 8am sun lounger dash in mornings were entertaining never seen anything like it in my life!!
Location wise is far enough away from the strip but still very lively at night and during day, within walking distance to beach n shops/shopping centre (safari).
Hotel itself was imacuatly clean part from rooms lol, entertainment team or animcation team as they are called were fantastic John is so entertaining he's brilliant and Carly ( think that's her name) the suncream girl every day at near enough same time she would be round pool talking bout her skincare lol she was nice, Angela the pr manager was lovely woman dead friendly and helpful, trips we had whilst in las Americas were Siam park which was fab, loro parque good as well, the most annoying thing walking about day/night was the african people selling stuff avoid avoid avoid is all I can say one of them ran after my friend just cos she wouldn't buy something from them they are honestly everywhere, it was far too hot for me basically 30 for 2 weeks which by second week triggered my eczema so I know not to go abroad at that time of year lol on whole you'd think young people making it lively oh no it was 40/50 year olds showing us young ones how to party which I was surprised at because I was half expecting young people bouncing about so on whole rooms were crap hotel clean food basic location good but I'm sorry I shall not be returning in future sorry to say!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraCrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stopped in this hotel with my girlfriend in first week of December. Both a little apprehensive after reading some reviews on here. Which in my opinion don't know how people can rate this hotel so low. We got a good all inclusive deal at a reasonable price. If you want 5 star accommodation pay for it.
Check in was a little slow but we was near front so took us about 25 minutes but some took a lot longer and wouldn't of been too impressed but what could the staff do? 2 computers and 3 coach loads of people all turning up at once.

After getting checked went to room. In the second block facing the pool, to find a nice clean room. Worried for nothing. Maybe could of done with a good mop but the room was spot on. Maids came in ever day. And if you wanted fresh towels or bedding they changed them.

Food was fairly good with quite a wide range for everyone. Not going to be outstanding as it a 3 star if you want better pay for it.
Service was excellent by all the staff. Drinks was served in halves but could always get 2 at once so no hassle there. Snacks were good.

Never once saw any bugs or cockroachs in the hotel complex.

One disadvantage is the pools. Both freezing as didn't get sun because blocked by buildings but what can you expect in December.

Only saw night entertainment once which was good. Bingo followed An eagle show and disco.

Overall I had a good experience and would definitely stop there again.
Don't usually write reviews but after reading so many bad ones thought the hotel deserved some credit as I thought it was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rcf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks and have to say it was brilliant. The staff were lovely. House Keeping was great. Reception staff were helpful and made you feel welcome. The resturant was fabulous with excellent staff. There is 1 person I would like to thank for a fabulous holiday. Her name is Hollie and she was the rep for thompson for that hotel. She made our holiday and was very very lovely and helpful. She works really hard at what she does. We went to see teide by night and that was amazing. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Kat n Paul. (Sheffield)

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Katrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Arrived after having traveled all day for it to take an hour and a half to check in, the que was from the reception desk to the back door, to say people where getting annoyed would be an understatement. After an hour or so hotel security where called as people where quite rightly getting very frustrated! When we got to the reception desk they didn't even apologise for the wait and we found the majority of reception staff quite rude, with the exception of Manuel.

When we eventually got checked in we where allocated room 451 in the main building, we where a little apprehensive having read the previous reviews but where pleasantly surprised. Yes the decor is quite old fashioned but for 3 star accommodation it had everything you needed. We did not see one insect the whole time we where there in the hotel. There is no air con in the self catering apartments but in Nov/Dec this isn't a problem but in the summer I would imagine it is unbearable.

I would agree with the majority of people that the cleaning is a major down fall of this hotel, your feet are black after having walked around for a while, the cleaners have definitely not mopped the floors for a long time, when they do come in to clean the only thing we could find they had done was make the beds as there where stills crumbs etc on the floors. Our apartment was next to the busy road that many people complain about it never woke us once.

The majority of other guests who where complaining said themselves they usually stayed in 4/5 star accommodation, so I am not really sure why they choose 3 star and expected it to be exactly the same??

Overall the hotel is in a great location, has everything you need and you get what you pay for!!

Tip - For a lovely meal and brilliant steak try Martini restaurant which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel, the staff are lovely and food is amazing, I would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stars38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,157 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $60 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing