We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make of it what you will.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

this was our first visit to Tenerife and we found it difficult to get accommodation (at a reasonable price) at the last minute. Settled on the Columbus on a room only basis. It comprises of 2 large 6 storey blocks with an open courtyard between with 2 large and 1 small pools. A feature of one poll was a ramp into the water. The surrounding area was paved with sunbeds available hear and on the raised areas completing the quadrangle.

The poolside bar was well supported (mostly by those on all inclusive deals), the buffet style restaurant looked busy and, along with other facilities, the public areas were fully used.
We didn't use the bar or restaurant so can't judge but I didn't hear any complaints.
On the outside of the complex there were two supermarkets, shops, bars and restaurants. Indeed all you need was close to hand if you didn't want to venture too far.

Our 1 bedroom apartment (others were studios) was on the fifth floor of the reception block.
It was a room ready for an update (has said to have been done in some parts of complex) but was adequate for our purposes and certainly fair for the price. Small niggles (nowhere's perfect) such as having to rest your chin on vanity unit while sitting on the toilet, wardrobe doors that didn't slide and tight space around the beds.

The televisions and room safes were both charged for use which was disappointing. The free wifi was confined to the lobby and was unreliable. Changes in these areas would be good.

Our room had some cockroaches (5 or 6 over the week) but the staff reacted quickly with spraying when informed. We were offered a change of room but did not feel it was that drastic.
We might have been unlucky as we didn't hear anyone else complain.

The beds were made every day, the room cleaned and the towels changed regularly although some were a bit on the grey side. The only face to face contact we had with staff were at reception and found them capable, friendly and responsive to requests.

We used the large sandy Playa de Las Vistas which was just over a 1 km straight walk from the hotel. This had the greatest number of sunbeds but you needed to be there before 10.00pm to be sure to get one. Plenty of eating and watering holes here and throughout the whole of the Costa Adeje/Las Americas/Los Cristianos area and certainly no shortage of shopping centres for retail addicts.

The one trip we did was the express bus to Santa Cruz (1 hour)followed by the Hop on, hop off tour of the town (1 hour). Combined tickets on sale at the bus stations in Costa Adeje and Los Cristianos, After this we took the tram (buy ticket from machine before boarding) to the old capital, La Laguna (45 min), which was well worth a visit. The choice of buses each way is flexible so the day is as long as you want to make it . Take a jumper as it can be cooler.

Would we go back to Columbus. Unlikely, but it has more to offer than just a budget option.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BangorCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,266 - 2,272 of 3,998 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

stayed the first week of november so maybe my stay was different to those reviewed as it was less busy? My room was clean and tidied with fresh towels and sheets every day, staff were friendly. I really liked the buffet restaurant, plenty of choice every day, and the salad bar was fab, lovely to see healthy choices every day, always fresh and tasty. Central so you never have to walk too far to the local bars or to find something nice to eat. The only downside was the sun being almost always blocked out by the hotel however the beach is only a short walk away and the odd choices of music around the pool...Celine Dion while you tan anyone?! All round a lovely stay and good value for money

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayTee2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Im not one to winge and after reading the reviews I thought where are we going! To start off with the rooms are very basic, if you are on the block with reception underneath then these are much worse then the opposite block, the block opposite are nicer and rooms are cleaned daily, beds changed when you leave bit of paper on them which you can have done every day and towels to be left on floor which they will then change which can also be everyday so no problem with cleanliness. Food ok quite repetitive always chicken and grilled fish, but lovely french stick everyday which was nice. Only bad thing I could say about the restraunt is that they do not have enough staff to clear the tables quick enough and not enough cutlery so take your own knife fork and spoon :). Entertainment rubbish- the room not big enough for the amount of guests and starting to late! When sitting outside in the evening every few minutes a disguisting smell kept coming over which was horrible.

Reception staff lovely and always happy to help, animation team lovely and lots of activities during the day. Pool gets no sun throughout the day so is always freezing cold! And I mean freeeeeeeeezing!!!!

Just make sure you ask for opposite block when booking in as you have no hope in moving to other block otherwise.. especially if your on thomas cook as they will try and charge you 20 euros extra a night per person to move!!

All in all for a family holiday dont go here! This is more for groups of people just wanting a room to stay in and drinks to drink!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nay2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed at Columbus a week, end of oct. wasn't expecting much as got very cheap deal with Thomas cook. Was self catering so cant comment on food. really central, just were we wanted to be. the staff were fine, the lady on reception was nice to us and helpful. rooms cleaned nearly everyday, I think they just missed 1 day.fresh towels and bedding when needed. room was fine for what we needed as we were out and about a lot. clean kettle and toaster provided. I personally think the rooms could do with deep clean (lots of cobwebs) and new furniture, but saying that they seemed to be re-modernising most of the rooms. pool round the back was the best for us as more sunbeds, but spent most time at beach. entertainment started to late for young kids at hotel. I would rate it a 2.5 star.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

A big hotel in las Americas. My wife and I spent a week AI. Room was fine and kept clean. No complaints about the food although it was bit of a cafeteria. Bar was always a bit busy but we didn't experience any hassles. The weather was great and we spent our days on the roof terrace with access to sunbeds from about 9.30 am each day. You can also take your drinks up to the roof terrace during the day. Found the staff mainly fine and certainly hardworking. Takes all sorts but for what it offers it was fine.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boston002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Were do i start!!! We went inclusive, waste of our hard earned money, food was terrible, room very basic, beds uncomfortable, Having to pay 1Euro per hour for the use of the tv ( when getting ready to go out before anyone says you don't go on holiday to watch tv ) Having to wait until 10am for the guy to come and unlock the sun lounges so we could get them!! First holiday I have been on that you had to get your own lounger out, it was not a cheap holiday either!!! So dissatisfied with the overall experience at this hotel, there was nothing good to say about it other than DON'T GO to this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a nice hotel. I've been a few times. It's a dander down the street to the beach and also handy to a few good wee bars. Looking forward to going back. It defiantly has to be tried. By looking at the other reviews there are a lot of negative reviews about this. It's worth checking for yourself. You couldn't get a handier place and everything else is a bus journey away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,074 reviews
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#54 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#14 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $61 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing