We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my sister in June 2013, my only complaint would be the very rude reception staff. The rooms were basic but were clean. You get what you pay for with this hotel but as we didn't pay a lot we couldn't complain. The hotel is also in a very good central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    1,214
    947
    476
    538
See reviews for
828
1,457
76
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We just came back from a 5 night stay at the Columbus hotel. Our hotel room had not been cleaned properly, we found an orange under the beds and there was dried up toothepaste around the sink which was certainly not ours. Our balcony door was broken(although we were on the 3rd floor we still felt this was unacceptable).The beds were very comfortable and were made everyday by the maid. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpfull and the food was very nice. The swimming pool area is very impressive (although looks alot different to the pictures displayed on here). The sunbeds by the pool are locked until 10am which allows people to have breakfast without worrying about missing out on getting a sunbed and it is quite a large area with plenty of sunbeds anyway. The hotel is situated round the corner, where all the shops and entertainment are. Overall the hotel was to a 3* standerd and we didnt get the impression that they where striving for any more stars, although we wouldnt stay here again, I would still say it was a decent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevo1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Before travelling, I read the reviews on this site, which were very mixed, so wondered exactly what we would experience. Nervously! Our experience was overall very good, with a few minor grumbles.
CHECK IN was efficient - 2 rooms on the same floor as requested, as we have a disabled son. Only 1 key card per room, which could have been better as me and my wife sometimes wanted two different things.
ROOMS were very clean and kept that way by the lady on our floor. Our room was in the 'other block' to reception. Linen and towels were changed when needed. We spotted the guests letter towards the end of our holiday and found that we had been hanging towels over the balcony, which was wrong, but nobody told us off about it. There were NO cockroaches, but I did find a cricket in the shower (and I do know the difference!). Aircon is essential, but a bit hit-and-miss. One room was cool and the other too hot. When mentioned at the desk, they simply turned one of them off! Also, no coffee making or TV - minor grumble, but actually might be quite important to some if you have to turn in early because you have young children.
DINING AREA was kept clean, but got busy in the second half of the service. Best to get there early, especially if you are in a larger group. The staff were brilliant and even brought us our drinks without us needing to order. They were welcoming and friendly, except on the one occasion when we had pre-ordered an early breakfast for 7.30 (you must pre-book at reception) and the restaurant opened 10 minutes late and didn't know to expect us!
FOOD was okay, bearing in mind that they are catering to feed the masses. If you want cordon bleu, you should know by now not to use a hotel restaurant, but for good honest food it did alright. Fish and chips on every day, along with a variety of other cooked food and salads. Some of the hot food was a tad overcooked for my likings, but Brussels sprouts in August - brilliant! The paella was very nice as well. The ice cream area was always busy and a bit messy for self-service. There was also disappointingly little variety and nothing hot in this particular area. Breakfast was also very nice, typical cooked British, or continental. Lots of choice.
POOLS were nice, but some holiday-makers had tipped a load of sand into the biggest and it took the staff a lot of time and effort to clean out. The issue over sun-loungers ... Well, they are chained up until about 10. Some people were still mad enough to put a towel on top of them, but there were usually some still free at 10.30 (but not in the afternoon, if you go out in the morning). Some people have mentioned a smell in the pool area. I found a slight smell to be coming from the narrow drainage channel near the door into reception. If people didn't eat, drink and smoke near the pool, and would shower before entering the pool as recommended, then when they cleaned down the terraces in a morning there would probably be no dirt, ergo no smell!
NOISE - yes, there was some. A lot of young people visit this hotel, and I guess that with a bit of drink and high emotion, then you get noise. We certainly had our nights broken on more than one occasion, but it was just about tolerable.

The hotel also offers a booking service for excursions, has 2 bars (inc. night entertainment), a spa, hairdresser, bar, disco, games area, gift shop etc. We were half board and we enjoyed our stay. Trips out and about include whale and dolphin watching, jet-ski, zoos, water parks, mini golf, 10-pin bowls, Mt Teide etc, and there is an eponymous resort train which rides the streets, starting from the bottom of the hill. The sea is very close, and bus pick-up is from either the hotel or Leonardo's bar, a 5 minute walk away.

Beware the sun. It burns very easily, especially if you go out onto the water and don't cover up. Beware the jet-skis, as they don't provide you with wet-suits, even though the on-board instructions state them as mandatory (we went on with standard swimwear and got really sore!). There are numerous street vendors trying to sell sunglasses & watches. Just be firm and tell them you're not interested - unless you are.

Beware some other reports you may read. There is a growing trend of competitor criticism in reviews, though in fairness, some people may have genuinely had a bad time. We stayed for 10 days as a family from 18-28 August and have no axes to grind. The people are mostly really friendly in the hotel and out and about, and although you are in Spain, you don't need to speak Spanish. Some minor grumbles, but you can get this at the Hilton in London!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Seagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is not suitable for anyone ober the age of 24 as its miles too over-crowded, extremely noisy, ignorant & rude staff (apart from the restaurant), would not recommend at all. Costa Adeje & Los Christianos were very nice so go there instead!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room (if there is any)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jakeyossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

newry n ireland
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we have stayed here twice,its a lovely hotel and the food is of a very high standard,as we were al inclusive it was great value 4 money,we did break the week up and ate out 2 nites,theres a lovely Chinese across the road,and some lovely bars just a few metres away,theres something 4 everyone here.

Room Tip: We were at the far end of the hotel were it was nice and quiet,the only down side is the sun beds as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizardcrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

stayed here 13th to 27th aug 2013 already been warned it was noisy but that was an understatement this hotel caters for single teenagers who definitely like to party before they go out usually about 1am! The food was passable at 1st and though we had steak one night and turkey another the majority of meat was some form of pork. Most of the meat was too salty to eat and we ate out quite a lot even though we had paid for an evening meal. Drinks were also a no no if you werent all inclusive and while i understand we hadnt paid for drinks in our package i thought coffee or tea with a meal would be included. Definitely leave mobile phones locked in your room when going down to the dining room as our friends was stolen while queuing for his food. Will not be stopping here again and would recommend you give this hotel a wide berth

Room Tip: dont ask for a good room their motto will be if you dont like it move
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

HeGoing to keep this to the point.
Reception- not overly friendly but nice, efficiant and polite.
Pool bar- lovely food, i didnt go all inclusive so i got decent portions.
Sun beds- they were chained until 10am everyday. Still had the odd fool getting up at all hours and standing by the locked stack. I had no problem getting a bed at half ten.
Rooms- cleaned everyday, had what you need. Didnt hear any noise at night either.
Close to everything and its a pick up point for different things going on around the island.
I would definatly return here

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0wen87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,063 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zentral Center
Hotel Zentral Center
#29 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Property: Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing