We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel good location though busy road”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on a self catering basis and have used the hotel a few times over the last ten years . Every time we have been at the front of hotel but in a different room type . Very basic , kettle, toaster, 2 ring hob, fridge, coin operated tv , gets BBC 1 and film and news channels. Mattresses could do with replacing . Towels were changed every time they were put in bath , linen changed once in week . I think maid service every day
If all inclusive drinks are served in plastic glasses, restaurant appeared to have a good selection though we have never eaten there.
The road to front and side of hotel very noisy.
Two supermarkets within hotel building though outside hotel, good choice of stock .
Plenty of bars and restaurants on the road down toward the beach . At bottom of hill turn right to head for Veronicas, turn left toward los christianos and lots more restaurants and bars on doorstep.
Beach is a little further on than Veronicas, volcanic sand, 2 beds and umbrella 10 euros. Plenty of money exchanges some shops will change cash .
Not a hotel to spend my main holiday in but ok for quick gateway if at right price

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisandrewfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,905)
There are newer reviews for Kn Columbus Aparthotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,483 - 2,489 of 3,905 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a week here..

Bad start, woke up next morning to find lots of insects on kitchen side, went down and got moved. Didnt have one good night sleep between the hour of 4-7am were awful with noise, no respect for others at all.
Cleaners came in every day but floors were filthy, they literally change towels and make bed. Our under sheet was ripped to shreds!!!
The location is great, but there's lots of hotels that are better, eg santiago hotels.
Hair dryer in room, 1euro per hour for TV, only English are channel 1 & 5.. But they didnt work!
Balcony door didnt lock in second room we were in, but we were on third floor so wasn't too concerned. Few other couples were moving because of the noise.

Would not stay here again, quite frankly it's a bit of a sh1t hole. And it wasn't cheap either!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSian17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped at the Colombus over Easter for 1 wk. Checked in about 9pm reception were helpful and got us to our room asap.

We were on the top floor (658) Room was clean and spacious. Initially the bathroom smelt a little eggy but son learnt this was down to drains so as long as the toilet was shut it was fine.

Beds were made & room swepped everyday of our stay and beds changed twice in the wk.

Lovely pools and very clean, the only down side was unless you were up before 7.30am you are unlikely to get a sunbed by the pool which as I was travelling on my own with a 5YR Old who was still asleep at that time it was very difficult to get a bed reserved. You could drag a bed from the rear sun terrace to put by the pool which i did frequently. The pool was lovely and got shaded on one side in the afternoon but we just shuffled round to the suny side in the pm..

Kids club was hotel run and was fab. Its the KC my son would go in on any holiday we have been. Lot of different tasks & games on everyday.

There was a mino disco everynight apart from sunday which started at 9pm which all the kids loved.

Evening adult entertainment was a quiz followed by external entertainment like parrtot/snake shows etc.

Food was good quality, buffet style so lways something to choose whichever meal time you went.

Cant really complain about anything it was a nice cheap break away from the snow .

Room Tip: I would say try and get a room in the opposite building to the reception as the entertainment bar is...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Littleem52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just back from spending a week at this hotel. before going we read some reviews and i personally really wasnt looking forward to going!!. On arrival receptional staff was slow but lets face it where are they not ..lol our room was no 568 it was not one of the refurbisheds ones , but it was still nice, and spacious. my husbands dads room on the other hand was refurbished and it was very modern and had a completly new bathroom suite. walk in shower too!. Very nice indeed. someone had mentioned on here that the towels were grey and not white...well 90% of them were white but some times we got grey ones. if you not satisfied with them just ask the cleaning ladies to replace them. the pool area was quiet cool becuase it only saw the sun for the first part of the day. and there was quiet a breeze that blew through. there is a nice sun terrace if you walk through the second building.and also there is a sun terrace on the roof too. this opens at 10:00. the pool bar was great, very modern and the staff were very friendly to us. we never went to watch any of the entertainment so can't comment. The resturant is situated on a lower level doen some steps near reception. The meals were nice, every meal time ther would be a good choice of meats, veg, salad and soups.plenty of fresh bread. fresh eggs fried to order. and also fresh steak beef,pork fish. etc freshly cooked as well. The only problem i had when arriving for my meal was that we couldnt find a table aet..i think they couldnt cope with the volume of people. especially at peak time. i would advise going in early or leave it till after 7:30. overall we enjoyed our stay here an nice part of playa and is about ten mins walk to the center. hope this review is helpful...and you enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank janhud6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Last minute break to Tenerife. Thought it was going to be noisy and brash but it was calm, everything worked and even the food was good. Don't expect to get a subbed around the two pools unless you are an early riser. Hotel caters for all nationalities so not a Brit haven.

Room Tip: Higher floors and away from roads.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Took the kids n family here.... Rooms great. Maids excellent going beyond the call of duty folding clothes that we left lying on the floor etc... Bar staff, out of about 7 staff 4 were lovely. The other 3 very rude... Food. Pretty basic and repetitive for the adults, nothing in terms of chicken nuggets or hamburgers for kids, even at the snack bar.... Terrible entertainment at the evenings. And for an all inclusive to charge you to play table tennis I thought was ridiculous...... Also no ice cream allowed for the children from around 12-2 when the sun was at its peak!!!!! Pool freezing and the advertised indoor pool was only for use if a spa session was purchased!!!
The hotel is very clean though and would suit older couples wanting to relax, but I would advise not to go all inclusive..

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool or the front of the hotel as we were on the far side facing the back...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank scissorkicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband & I are just back from a week at the Colombus Hotel,it,s not too bad been in worse,has a good location 10 minutes to the beach plenty of pubs bars & restaurants close by.We booked this holiday at the last minute & chose the Colombus because of its locality we were in a studio on the 3rd floor facing the road it was quite noisy but not too bad when door closed, heard all the noise in the hotel especially people coming in drunk at 4 or 5 in the morning screaming & shouting & banging doors but o well they,re on hols.Room was basic but clean water always hot asked for more pillows & got them same day towels changed practically every day we were bed & breakfast so cannot comment on the restaurant,breakfast was o.k.but kept running out of bowls & plates had my cereal in a glass one morning.Had to pay 1 euro for 1hour of tv all you got was BBC1 Sky Sports & Channel 5 not worth it.Never got the sun on our balcony but was,nt in hotel a lot so did,nt really matter,all in all not too bad,would I go back,probably not.

Room Tip: Chose a pool view or the second block
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OggyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#20 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $63 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing