We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Happy!! Ignore the negative reviews!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 21, 2012

I booked this apartment 2 days before I was due to fly & was told that all that they had left were studio apartments. I was very happy on arrival to find that we'd been given quite a large 1 bed apartment on the top floor as requested.
These apartments are what you'd expect for the money you pay. Yes, the apartment was a little dated but it was clean & spacious & more importantly one of the cheapest!! Only a 5 minute walk to Veronicas etc so no money to pay out on taxi's but far enough away for any trouble to be avoided.
They're apparently in the middle of renovating all rooms so it should be lovely when it's all finished.
2 larges pools, 2 kids pools & a roof terrace with sunbeds & a pay as you go jacuzzi.
I would say that although I'd definitely stay here again, I would probably avoid it in the high season as I can imagine it'd be absolutely mental due to it's location & price - that's just my advice even as someone who went out every night & didn't return home until 6am each day.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment/room in the reception block, facing the pool if you want sunshine on your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,881 - 2,887 of 3,949 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2012

Me & my BF went to Tenerife end of August 2011 and stayed at the Columbus Hotel for one week.

After reading some of the reviews i was very worried as I had chosen this hotel and thought oh s***..... So when we arrived here early afternoon i was very surprised. Hotel entrance and reception area was lovely... Quick check in and then across the pool area to the second building to our room which was really nice, very modern, big plasma on the wall :)... We were all inclusive and i got the impression that AI people were in the 2nd building and self catering people in the 1st building were reception was, but i could be wrong.... The pool area was nice, very busy with lots of children, but a bit of a nightmare trying to get a sunbed in the morning, i had to jump down in my PJ's in the morning and Q for two beds... but if u got up early enough then you would get one. There was also a quieter area around the back of the 2nd building with a small pool and on the roof of the 2nd building was another wee area with two jacuzzis (coin operated) this was just bliss up here especially when we had it to ourselves.

Food at the hotel was good, I always got something to eat, nothing fancy but a good selection of foods in buffet, and also you can get chips toasties etc at the pool area at times when the restaraunt is closed. Only thing was drinks were served in plastic cups and only wee small cups so you couldnt get a big pint for the men.

The location i thought was great, you just walked down the street and if you went left you got to bars and restaraunts etc if your looking for a good but not wild night, and if you went right at the bottom of the street and walked along you got the the veronicas strip which was a bit wilder. The Dubliner bar was the BEST!!!! also the safari centre was lovely... lots of posh shops and lovely restaraunts.

So i would say this hotel is perfect is your not looking for 5* perfection.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSxUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Have just returned, we expected 3* and that's what we got. The reception/bar/pool area was clean although the corridors and the room could have been done with a thorough clean. Staff with the exception of one were all very friendly and the bar staff soon got used to our order. The food in the restaurant was average but I am very fussy. We went with our 3yr old who thought it was great we could pretty much get ice cream whenever she wanted and loved the kids pool which was probably the only one warm enough for her. There are two larger pools, one heated one not but due to time of year were both pretty cold. These were all cleaned daily. We are not ones for sun bathing all day but whenever we did choose to use a lounger for a while or take a seat outside we had no problem doing so. The clientele was very mixed, yes there was a lot of same sex groups coming and going but quite a lot of older people as well and a few other families like us. It could be rowdy at times but I see this as people enjoying themselves and as long as they are doing no harm to others can see no problem with this. I did get woken up a couple of times during the week with people returning from their night out but you can get this anywhere and i myself would have been guilty of this 10 years or so ago! Entertainment not the best but on a par with other hotels really, daughter loved the kids disco. Hotel is in a great location. Would return again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRW1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Just returned from a week stay at the Columbus and after reading the reviews was a little apprehensive about staying at this hotel. However we were happy overall and had a great holiday. The room was clean, food was lovely and staff were very friendly. I must say the hotel is noisy but this is mainly due to the bad design of the hotel and the number of stag and hen parties staying there. The pool is also shaded for a portion of the day but it's very clean and well looked after. I would say the staff are doing there very best to run a hotel that has many flaws in it's design and deal well with groups of revellers that are under the influence and can get a bit rowdy. We had a great time but I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families and don't forget your earplugs to ensure a good nights sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

just returned on 13/3/2012 and had terrible experience in hotel. This should be rated club 18/30 because of busloads of young people getting drunk and fighting.Police called at 3.30am. Apart from this the food was abysmal and the staff miserable and unfriendly.Our group aged between 10months and 65 yrs and all pleased to leave hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mitch378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I cannot sing the praises of the staff highly enough.Hard working,and very pleasant.My husband and I stayed at the Columbus on a all inclusive basis 4/03/12 until 11/03/12.Reception was spotlessly clean,as was the pool area.The room was clean (enough).Towels changed on request.Sheets were changed every 2nd day.Food was very nice (plenty of it).The only thing that let the hotel down was the noise.To be fair,I cannot blame the hotel. If the rowdier guests had some respect for their neighbours.It would have been a perfect stay for us .I think perhaps this could be remedied by giving more than one door card per room.As the noise seemed to be late night revellers trying to gain access to their rooms.There is nothing more I can add to this review,as I do not want to rubbish this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mowgliexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

me an my partner just back on the 13th march after a week staying all inclusive an was terrible when we got room it was disgusting rings from cups glasses etc,other peoples hair in bathroom floor an bath room smelt, with loud noises coming up from shower an sink.cigrette ends on balconey an between sliding doors an when room was so called cleaned hairs an butts wer still their. receiption pool area was clean thats all so if u like dirt go to this hotel.staff wer ignorant the noise up to 5am was bad everynite noway this is 3 star hotel.arguin over sun beds becos hotel didnt take chains of them till 10am lol at this time evryone was waiting to try get 1.also i asked for another key cos she was shopping an i was going to watch football an being charged for that they tried to screw every euro of u.i talked to others at hotel an they couldnt wait to get home.food basic wasnt great food some times wasnt cooked proper heard other guests arguing with manager bout it.overall the stay at this hotel was depressing STRONGLY ADVISE IF THINKING BOUT BOOKING THIS THINK AGAIN ITS NOWAY A 3STAR HOTEL

Room Tip: can not cause its all noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marshall m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.2 mi away
Las Piramides
Las Piramides
#53 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,049 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
Apartamentos Oro Blanco
#18 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Tenerife by Melia
Sol Tenerife by Melia
#33 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#17 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#14 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kn Columbus Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kn Columbus Aparthotel

Address: Avenida Santiago Puig 6, 38650 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $49 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kn Columbus Aparthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kn Columbus Aparthotel is perfect for your vacation with your family or with your partner in Playa de Las Americas. Recently refurbished, the resort is perfectly located in the center of Playa de Las Americas. A few minutes walk from the most popular nightlife areas of the south, from the best restaurants and shopping centers as well as the best beaches and sports centers of Playa de Las Americas. Also, it is just a few minutes from famous landmarks such as Siampark (the largest water park in Europe), Hard Rock Cafe, and the Theater of Carmen Mota (famous flamenco dancer) The hotel has double and quadruple rooms where you can choose Half Board or All Inclusive for our stay and also has Studios and Apartments with its own Kitchen to stay on Self Catering or stay and breakfast. The hotel offers modern facilities in an Arabic style architecture. It has some heated outdoor pools where you can swim all year round. It also has a jacuzzi, Spa & Wellness Centre, restaurants, hairdressers, Laundry Self Service, Nightclub, Game Room, Internet Room, Playground, Fountains and Garden, Solarium, Animation Team, and Children's Activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kn Columbus Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbus Aparthotel Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Columbus Hotel Tenerife
Columbus Tenerife
Hotel Columbus Tenerife
Columbus Apartments Tenerife
Aparthotel Columbus Tenerife
Kn Columbus Aparthotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing