We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Caledonia Park
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The Caledoia Park was not the first of our choices for our return to Tenerife, but it ticked several boxes.
Having stayed at many different hotels in the South of the island, this was a little detached from the higher standard we would normally encounter, albeit several hundred pounds cheaper.
However, if the phrase "you get what you pay for", ever applied it was at the Caledonia Park.
I will try not to be too harsh, as it is the run of the mill three star establishment, and although the rooms seemed clean and readily available for our arrival, they were quite limited in the decor.
The Pool area is in need of a makeover due to the wear and tear of the general facilities, with the sunbeds being of quite a flimsy design and not for the heavier person.
The staff were a little hit and miss, with the reception and restaurant staff being quite helpful and friendly, but the bar staff were a little ignorant and slow.
The food, again, is a little hit and miss, with the occasional very good quality fayre available, running paralell with general run of the mill grub.
We were quite high up in the building with an exceptionally large balcony with excellent views, which we enjoyed from dawn till dusk, though some friends were not pleased at being allotted rooms next to the road which they found to be extremely noisy due to the passing traffic.
A word of warning to all guests concerns the cumbersome and slightly hazardous waliking approach and exit to the hotel, which left me with the impression of difficulties that would be encountered by any elderly, infirm or disabled guests.

Nonetheless, we had an enjoyable time in Tenerife, as always, and although the Caledonia is ok, we would probably spend a few hundred quid more next time, and be provided with an improved level of staff and facilities.

Room Tip: Away from the main road, to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GARYA2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    71
    58
    45
    65
See reviews for
82
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
peterborough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

arrived with the staff which didnt appear to want to be there. went out for the first night due to arriving too late to eat as part of the all inclusive. while out was mugged at knife point and my handbag stollen, was obviously distraght about this and when entered the hotel in my distraught state they shrugged their shoulders with an attitude, so me and my friend felt completely alone and as this incident happend straight outside the hotel and the staff where in no way suprised at this it seemed all to suspicious to both of us!food was o.k have had beeter AI for less money and rooms were genrally tidy but towels changed once in the duration of our holiday. i personally would not send my worst enemy here and i am not a fussy holiday maker! dont go if feeling safe and supported on holiday is something you care about.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tapanga89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

eire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Myself and my Wife stayed at this hotel complex twice and would say that yes the hotel isnt the ritz,but for the price you pay its the best.Mind you get a room high up its quieter at night and cooler as room dont have air con,which they could do with at times,gets hot n clamy at nite.food is good and changes daily,great selection for everyones pallet.there is a motorway at one end of the complex,way below so can be a tad noisey during day times,Hotel is about a 10 minute walk too porto collon beach and fanabe,but worth the walk.Travel reps were gansters,we got our excursions far cheaper locally,outside the laguna park 1 complex,and yes rent a car and drive the t1 motorway to porto del a cruz and mount teide,go and enjoy the hotel and the island,experience it for urself,prove us wrong,there is loads to do,so knock urself out,brilliant time,will b back again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lighthouse028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

A clean and tidy hotel, the rooms were roomy and comfortable and had an excellent vew of the pool and the surrounding areas due to its elevated position. Situated in a quieter part os Las Americas, directly opposite the water park.

It is quite a walk to the volcanic sand beach, and not really suitable for those with mobility problems as you need to walk up a steep hill to get back to the hotel.

The bars are great, and although we were all inclusive, we generally went out to eat in the evenings, the breakfast however had plenty of selection and the food was fresh. The staff were helpful, if not a bit over-run, they could do with more staff in the restaraunt.

The pool area is lovely and clean, with plenty of sunloungers and activities for children. The grounds are well tended and plenty of shaded areas for those who dont want to be exposed to the blistering heat for to long.

The nightclub within the hotel was lively, however, the strip aka veronicas in las americas is the place to be if looking for lots of nightlife. There is a cocktail bar within the hotel with a piano player nightly, this is generally relaxing and quiet as it is an adult only area.

Great place for all ages, but not for those who are less mobile.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tr4v3lling_b10nd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

My fiance and I (both mid 30's) stayed for 1 week all inclusive and had a wonderful week in the sun. Wish we had booked 2 weeks. The price was such good value and we would love to go back.

I just cant understand the comments that some people are posting on travel advice sites. The 'room' that we stayed in was massive- had 3 floors and a top floor terrace with panoramic sea/mountain views, we sat playing cards and having a bottle of wine watching the sun-set each evening.
There is plenty of night life a short walk away (although it is quite hilly if youre very unfit!!) and tours to go whale/dolphin watching (we really enjoyed seeing the whales and dolphins so close to the boat- really worth while excursion), as well as other boat trips.

If you expect 5* quality food- then you have to pay those prices! For the minimal price we paid (we only booked all incluseive as it was too cheap to turn down)- you really cannot complain about the food, there was a different roast dinner every night, as well as soup, salads and more traditional foods for the area. We dined out locally also when we fancied a restaurant quality meal.

Cocktails were also nice and included within the all inclusive deal. We bought some bottles of wine and spirits/fruit juice locally to drink on our terrace. Even if you ate out every night the A.I. deal would still be worth having, just for tea, coffee, ice-cream, snacks, lunches, breakfast etc... especially if you have children who always want something!!!

We didn't see one insect/cockroach the entire week and our room was thoroughly cleaned regularly. We actually thought it was so much better than expected for a bargain week away. We made lots of friends and everyone was having loads of fun. The pool is lovely and big and we swam in it every day. Infact i have wonderful memories of floating on my back, and peacfully looking up to the blue skies above!

So don't worry if you have booked Caledonia Apartments, unless you are expecting 5* luxury, you will have a great trip.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP_PLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2009

Definately a hotel for younger couples and familes. Entertainment is throughout the day and night. There is various types of entertainment - In the night - A quiz of some type everynight, disco, falcon & owl show, parrott show ........ In the day using the hotel facilites - Pool, table tennis, volley ball, water football in the pool.

Definately reccomended to go all inclusive at this hotel, variety of food and drink available from 6.30am - 11pm.

Local bars are easy to get to and very good. Weather in the canaries is always good, in March it was in high 20's.

It is about a 10 minute to the beach, but with such a large pool and other gaming facilities at the hotel you hardly need to ever leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loula_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I have to agree with may of the reviews on this site. The food was bland and terrible. In comparison with similar complexes the entertainment was non existent and all in all the accomodatin was old, run down and smelly.

However, what made it worse was the particular problems suffered by those in the older blocks. Upon arrival, I thought the room was horrible but was slightly aswayed by the extremely large balconies. However little did I know that of an evening these balconies gathered a moving carpet of cockroaches. The source of these soon became apparent as you could see them coming up the large open drains that opened up onto each balcony.

My wife, children and I have visited all the Canary Islands, at various times of the year, staying in all standards of accommodation. Therefore we are well used to the local wildlife!!

Please be advised however that this place suffers from infestations.

Now for me, one of the great pleasures of a Canaries holiday is to sit outside on the balcony of an evening. having a beer and chat. This was impossible. I don't mind Cockroaches and at first it was great sport to kill the wee bu**ers. (you couldn't miss) However I soon got bored after about 5 mins. However my wife hates them. For her there was no way she could sit outside of an evening.

I thought that was the worst. However worse was to come, when I went into the kids room and found several cockroaches in the cot of my sleeping infant son.

Next morning we complained profusely to our Going places rep and were handed a tin of insect repellant.. The hotel had a stockpile, so obviously loads of folk had similar problems.

This place was a dump in 2007 and Going Places should be ashamed to take peoples money.

I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

A definite health hazard.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank git-intae-thum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Borinquen
Apartamentos Borinquen
#35 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol
Hacienda Del Sol
#51 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Cardones
Los Cardones
#36 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sunprime Ocean View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Caledonia Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Caledonia Park

Property: Aparthotel Caledonia Park
Address: Calle Alemania 1, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 58 Hotels in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Caledonia Park 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Caledonia Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Caledonia Park Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Caledonia Park Tenerife
Caledonia Park Hotel Tenerife
Aparthotel Caledonia Park Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing