We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sir Anthony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sir Anthony
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2009

We have just returned from a 10 night stay at the Sir Anthony. This was our first visit and will NOT be our last.

First, we agree completely with other reviewers that this is not a hotel for children. Older teenagers might like it but younger children would be really bored. It is totally geared to adults with no childrens’ play area/pool or any entertainment. In fact, we discovered from speaking to a number of the guests that they chose this hotel for precisely that reason – this is a hotel for the grown-ups!

The hotel has undergone a complete refurbishment but as we haven’t been before we cannot comment on the changes although others who had visited on numerous occasions previously were not entirely happy with the new ‘look’. As at 23 Jan 09 work was still going on but was mainly confined to ground floor rooms and the southern end of the hotel which was closed off. The sound of workmen could be heard but was not intrusive. The garden, lounge bar and restaurant were fully open. Bedrooms are very good with a huge bed which was very comfortable for us and adequate wardrobe space. The bathroom comprises a walk in shower area big enough for two, a Jacuzzi style bath, his and hers wash basins and a separate toilet (no bidet !). The room has a large flat panel TV with UK, Spanish, German, Italian and other channels as well as a couple of movie channels. There is also an entertainment centre so take along CDs or connections for your MP3 player. There is a reasonably priced mini bar and room safe and, luxury, a kettle and tea making facilities. Overall the bedroom was of a high standard if a little functional.

Guest Services was manned by some excellent young ladies and gentlemen who were on the ball most of the time and worked really hard to be helpful and friendly. Guests were known by their surnames.

The pool area was a haven of tranquillity despite having a public footpath and the beach over the high wall/hedge. Sunbeds and brollies were in abundance with good mattresses and towels always available. There was quiet background music and staff brought around tasters of food and drinks a couple of times during the day.

The restaurant was excellent. There were clearly new staff and service could be a little disorganised but on the whole it was very good. Food was outstanding. Breakfast is not a buffet as they like to prepare juices, fruit, yoghurts, eggs, bacon, etc, etc fresh. Although there was a breakfast menu, guests could eat ‘off menu’ given some warning e.g. the eggs Benedict was stunningly good. Dinner was a la carte and, as with breakfast, guests could request dishes that were not on the menu. Anybody staying for dinner should be aware that, at present, a printed wine list is not available and tea/coffee after the meal are charged as extras !

Overall, the hotel is just about living up to its 5* rating but with some minor alterations and completion of the refurbishment, it will be a first class hotel. There were some niggling complaints but for comfort, quality of food and standard of service, this hotel would be hard to beat – anywhere.

  • Liked — Personal Service, Food, tranquility
  • Disliked — Restaurant service could be a bit haphazard
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewiltn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    83
    45
    12
    9
See reviews for
63
416
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincs
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights in March and had a wonderfully relaxing time. Our room was on the ground floor with direct access to the pool, so although we did not have a sea view, we could walk straight from our room/terrace to the pool - less than 10 metres! We stayed bed and breakfast and usually did not need to eat again until the evening as the breakfasts were so wonderful-loads of fresh fruit, bubbly, freshly cooked to order eggs etc.
The staff were wonderful, really accomodating - we were not flying out until 11pm but the manager let us keep our room at no extra charge!
I would definately return and would love to see the newly renovated hotel-though the fact the British Airways no longer fly to Tenerife, with the routes being taken be Easyjet might stop this happening!!

  • Liked — easy access to pool
  • Disliked — nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mingachimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

My Fiance and I stayed in the Sir Anthony last september and absolutely loved it... it was one of the quietest most relaxing holidays i have ever had. Unfortunately i ended up in hospital for a day during my stay which was unlucky but i cant compliment the staff more on their attention and kindness. When our week was over and we moved on to our next location we still drove back every day to the beach next to the hotel and kicked ourselves for not spending our whole vacation in the Sir Anthony. We hope to get married in Tenerife at the end of this year and would love to stay in the Sir Anthony with our immediate families but cant seem to find out when they reopen?

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — bed
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elliemayireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2008

Stayed in the Sir Anthony for twelve days in March, this hotel has got the best staff in the whole of Tenerife. The hotel itself is a bit jaded but closes this week for total refurbishment, the new "show room" looks absolutely fantastic and the new look hotel should open in October. The staff were absolutely faultless everyone went out of their way to make our holiday perfect which it was. We stayed in a room with a terrace and plunge pool and it was so peaceful and private on the terrace. Would highly recommend this hotel for a first class holiday, however I dont think this is the hotel to take children to, it is definately intended as an adults hotel

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wallis1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

Have just returned from the Sir Anthony and it really was faultless.We stayed in a 3 storey suite which had a living room/bathroom and balcony on the ground floor and bedroom and large open plan bathroom and balcony on the first floor,there was a staircase on the balcony which takes you to the roof which has a private plunge pool.The decor was a bit tired but we were advised on check out that the sir anthony is closing for approx 6 months next year for refurbshment.
Everyday we had cava/dried fruit or red wine and cheeses left in the room.
The room was cleaned every day and the maid would come round in the afternoon to see if we needed more towels.
The customer service we recieved was fantastic.
I am a travel agent and i would not hesitate in recommending this hotel,it was fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelagent11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSirAnthony, Hotel Manager at Hotel Sir Anthony, responded to this review, April 30, 2008
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for your appreciations mentioned on your review and for having chosen the Sir Anthony for your holidays.

As you well mentioned on your review, from April ´08 we have commenced with the hotel refurbishment and our aim is to have it finalized in the period of 6 months.

We have decided to refurbish Sir Anthony as we want to strategically position the hotel in the XXI century 5***** deluxe hotels of the area. This will cater for better and additional services, fully updated rooms and follow our personalized services to our guests.

We would like to be of a help to you in any matter related to the Sir Anthony you might need.

Once again we thank you for your kind words.

Best regards

Manager Sir Anthony Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2007

Stayed in the Sir Anthony on 9th December for 1 week.
Excellent location, smaller hotel than the others in the Mare Nostrum complex, with a more personal service.
The decor was a little tired but they are closing for 6/8 months next year to renovate the whole hotel.
Would definitely go back & look forward to the re-vamped sir anthony.
Recommend the restaurants in the Sir Anthony & the Pyramides (£5 sup if on HB). The others were OK.
If you like classy upmarket bars, go to Harrys, The Monkey Bar, Biancos & my favourite Magic. If you like Brit bars with Neil Diamond, Robbie Williams, Tenerifes answer to The temptations (Background) etc there are plenty of bars at the back of the Safari complex. All with a great atmosphere. My favourite is Johnny Kelly, who impersonates Elvis, he is fantastic - he is at the Drop Inn (near the Casino) or he has his own bar the Bay View at Torviscas. Strongly recommend you go & see him.

Excellent place to go this time of year, lovely Christmas decorations, in the Sarfari centre across the main road.Warm weather, no 'larger louts!'

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EnglishRose169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2007

We have just returned from a very relaxing week at Sir Anthony. I must admit I was a little concerned about some of the comments about the decor of the hotel, but was pleasantly surprised. The beds are huge and very firm - but the bathrooms are very 80's with black and white marble and pink sunken baths! If you think of a Jackie Collins novel with Rock stars in it - you are just about there! Clean bedding every day which was a real bonus. We stayed on the ground floor which was great as we could just nip back in to our room at any time. The breakfasts were good - the chefs will cook anything you want and there was the added bonus of champagne each morning, caviar (I didn't partake) and a chocolate fondue (yes, for breakfast!! again didn't partake) The service that we received from the staff was top class and we will definately return next year.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahMcBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
2.8 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.4 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sir Anthony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sir Anthony

Property: Hotel Sir Anthony
Address: Avda de las Americas | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sir Anthony 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only beachfront boutique hotelon the stunning Playa de las Americas in Southern Tenerife, this luxury establishment has 70 sumptuously furnished rooms with a terrace, offering a panoramic view of the beach. The attentive staff provide personalized VIP service with unparalleled attention to detail. Located only a few steps from the largest entertainment and shopping area of the island, it is the ideal spot to spend a perfect dream holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Expo Hoteles so you can book your Hotel Sir Anthony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Anthony Hotel Tenerife
Sir Anthony Tenerife
Hotel Sir Anthony Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing