We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top guys”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of McGuinness Bar - CLOSED

McGuinness Bar
Cuisines: Pub, British
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top guys”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We came here as a large group at the end of a long day and although it wasn't the busiest place the people who were there were really up for creating a good atmosphere facilitated by the fact that this bar is owned by the two nicest Irishmen this side of Dublin and most likely within it too. At the end of the day, it was what we were looking for - a good atmosphere, nice company and good drinks. Sure it might have been a bit empty but it has the potential to host many more and I'd recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vukojebinje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Sunday and we're looking for lunch. As most of the restaurant bars along Las Vistas Beach are full, we climb the stairs to McGuinness Bar. Menu is on a chalk board next to the entrance and is limited to baguettes and toasties. The beer is fine but the food is very poor. Certainly didn't expect the chicken breast (pre-pack slices) baguette to be warmed and accompanied by cheesy wotsits and other kids snacks. We won't return for lunch. From what other reviewers say, it's probably best as a night time venue. Great view given its elevation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deryck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Welcome back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Having been frequent visitors to this establishment when it was located in Tenerife Royal Gardens, we were most disappointed when it closed down. Having now relocated and re-opened in new premises, we visited this on our recent visit. Although for us slightly more out of the way, it is still in a good location. As always, Seamus made us welcome, still Great Guinness and live music from Adrian. As others have commented, his guitar playing alone is well worth the visit. We shall certainly be going again. Only negative being that they do not at present do food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATRICKDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Irish Bar -New Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The bar has moved to underneath the Chinese restaurant Slow Boat 2 and above The Breeze Inn, easy to find along the Las Vista Beach. The same warm , welcoming hospitality and great entertainment, as usual from Seamus, Shane and Adrian plus an added extra of a wonderful view out to sea from the large picture windows. We stayed at the Royal Gardens as usual and found it a nice walk along to see the lads every night for a few drinks ! ! Adrian has a great variation of songs every night . They hope to start selling food again very soon .Attached photos taken from McGuinness window.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tod305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The bar has moved but still provides a great night especially with Adrian's guitar playing. His repertoire of Irish, country & rock insures everybody's tastes are covered.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurencecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGuinness Bar also viewed

Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 
Playa de las Americas, Tenerife
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing