We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DESERVES TO BE NUMBER 1”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Europe Villa Cortes
Certificate of Excellence
isle of man
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“DESERVES TO BE NUMBER 1”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This really is a first class hotel and unlike similarly rated hotels, really does deserve 5 stars.
I stayed there on a half board basis and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
There is a feeling of quality throughout the whole hotel and the staff were very pleasant, helpful and tried their hardest to make my stay enjoyable.
I suspect a great deal of thought goes into every detail of planning and running the hotel.
The furnishings have a Mexican theme and are best described as older fashioned yet sumptuous.
The rooms are all slightly different and probably half as big again as a normal hotel room, with a good size terrace. A very large modern TV, sofa, table and chair. Large, spacious bathrooms.Beds are large and comfortable. No detail has been spared really.
Location is central and excellent. The hotel has it's own private beach, a spa and a large outdoor pool (not heated).Sunbeds are luxurious and there are free pool towels.
Buffet breakfast is excellent and will suit various tastes, eggs are made to order.
As the hotel has only 151 rooms there is a quiet, relaxed feel about mealtimes with enough staff there to serve efficiently.
If half board, it is waiter service (not buffet) and a choice of 4 items for each course. The quality of the food is remarkable (a bit like fine dining) and is far better than the normal buffet food at similar hotels. There are also 2 special theme nights included on half board and they were excellent quality.
As there is no entertainment during the day or night, there is always a feeling of quietness and calm.
They have a kids club but I am not sure how busy it would be, as I suspect it mainly caters for couples.
Wi-fi is available free in the lobby but is 10 euros if you want it in the room. That is about the only downside to this hotel.
I have stayed at and reviewed the Cleopatra nearby, and thought that was excellent, but this hotel really is hard to beat if you want superb luxury and excellent service.
All in all, while not perfect for everybody, this is about as good as it gets for 5 star hotels.
Interestingly, I used a lot of taxis while there and all the taxi drivers thought this was the best (and most expensive)hotel in Playa de Las Americas.
There are some good deals online where half board is similarly priced to B&B.

Room Tip: I had a pool view room and I suspect these are best. I was leaving at 4.30p.m on thelast day and I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your very detailed comments about our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much with us.
We work every day to improve the service we offer to our customers
We are delighted to see that we reached your expectations and that you enjoyed your time in our house and will surely take into account your wifi remark.
Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back soon in the Europe Villa Cortés.
Best regards,
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    213
    75
    31
    22
See reviews for
251
640
30
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have been to most of the five star hotels in tenerife and have found that the Villa Cortes is the best for ,' Cleaniness, Friendly Staff, Food, and Location. Rooms are first class spacious and very well appointed, Pool area excellent with plenty of sun beds available. Breakfast everything you would need, Staff always willing to help. This is our fourth visit and certainly wont be our last to this First Class Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 501Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is very important to us, to our ongoing improvement process, know the opinions of our clients.
We love to hear that you enjoyed so much in our hotel and that you will visit us again.

Best regards,
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

A lovely hotel, the building is stunning. The room we had everything but a view, as we were on the first floor the trees and plants have grown up and although the swimming pool and sea were just there we could only look out at a 'forest'. The pool area is lovely and clean. The sound of the waterfall was very relaxing, but I found it strange that there was no pool service. You would have to go up to the bar to order your own drinks, which would then be brought to you in plastic pint carlsberg beakers. I know for safety reasons glass should not be around a pool, but drinking wine from a pint beaker is not very 5*, maybe a better quality plastic could be found. The food at breakfast was excellent and my husband said his eggs were the best he's had from a hotel. Could do with some sort of host, as the first day we were left waiting a while. As we were not there long we didn't use the hotel to it's full and never came into contact with many staff, but those we did were lovely, very professional, especially the reception who gave a great first and last impression. Would recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europehotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Europe Villa Cortes, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank to share your opinion on Tripadvisor. It is always important for us to read the opinions of our guests, in our work to improve the service offered to our customers.
We will consider the advice on the improvement in glasses used in the pool area.
We are glad you enjoyed both breakfast and the treatment received by our staff.
We hope to see you in our hotel soon.
Best regards,
The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Ricardo the manager works hard to present a 5 star experience from the staff. The rooms and pool are well used but the hotel restaurants seem to be under used with most quests choosing to use the many restaurants nearby. The beach bar is well used during the day but again needs some good music or entetainment to attract quests in the evening.
We enjoyed our break and would return but the hotel has a lot of potential which could be used to attract more business in the evening.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Milvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Its not a low bud hotel but considering the high level of service and fantastic location its not that expensive either . . .
The first thing to notice is the "palace like" entrance. There´s a porter waiting to assist the from the moment you arrive.
The rooms (standard room) are tidy and spacious but i would recommend to take the ocean view if possible.
I didnt try any of the fine restaurants at the hotel but the breakfast buffet is amazing.
The best things however are the fantastic location, the great privat beach and the serenity this hotel offers. Thumps up for Villa Cortes

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I feel I must write another review for this excellent hotel. We have never really been accustomed to going back to the same place time after time but we have just returned from Tenerife last week and are looking forward to a trip in six months or so back to the very same hotel...the Villa Cortes. Four times we have visited recently and the standard is still superb. From recognition at reception and personal attention from Ricardo Caceres the very efficient and thoughtful manager to the superb rooms and location of the hotel in one of the best sites in Las Americas .... everything about this hotel adds up to a great holiday. A big thank you to the manager and to all the staff for making our holiday memorable.
Ivan & Audrey Gordon
Northern Ireland

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ivangordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arriving late on a Friday evening to be greeted by Ricardo (Hotel Director) at reception set the scene for the rest of our holiday. Check in was very quick and efficient and we were shown to our room and all amenities explained before our luggage was delivered to our room.
The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in. Bathroom with good shower and separate toilet. All you would need was provided in the room - soaps, shower gels, comb, toothbrush etc. Good sized fridge with complimentary water on arrival. The maid service was excellent throughout our stay with fresh towels and turn down service every night. The view we had was wonderful - full sea & pool view and able to sit on our balcony both during the day in the sun and in the evening and watch the sun go down.
We stayed B&B and the breakfast was wonderful - all you could ask for and more. Excellent quality of food with freshly made ommlettes. We were always up quite early and never found the restaurant busy at any time.
Sunbeds were plentiful and comfortable. Clean towels provided as required. Not too many problems with beds being reserved - but it still happened. Pool area was quite - just ideal for relaxing and reading your book. The beach bar ( accessed via a tunnel under the promenade) was also an excellent place to have afternoon drink and watch the surfers or watch the world pass by.
Service throughout the hotel was excellent. The maid service is worthy of special mention.
Outwith the hotel there was an abundance of good restaurants to suit all tastes all within easy reach. We did not see any entertainment in the hotel but plenty was available every night - again within easy reach of the hotel - some good quality others not so good quality.
All in all a most enjoyable break during which we celebrated a birthday and an anniversary. We will treat ourselves again to a holiday in Villa Cortes.

Room Tip: Sea view room are well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ScotlandRosslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resort & Spa
Hotel Las Madrigueras Golf Resor...
#1 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.1 mi away
Green Garden Resort & Suites
Green Garden Resort & Suites
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
0.1 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#23 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europe Villa Cortes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europe Villa Cortes

Property: Europe Villa Cortes
Address: Avda Rafael Puig s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Europe Villa Cortes 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* Gran Luxe Hotel, located in the south of Tenerife Island, just in front of the Atlantic Ocean, separated from the beach only by the sea promenade. Each of our rooms and suites are exclusively decorated with Mexican elements, which enhances further the personalized environment.Enjoy also our rich gastronomic offer and discover various types of international cuisine like Mexican, Bavarian, European cuisine and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Europe Villa Cortes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europe Villa Cortes Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Europe Hotel Cortes
Villa Cortes Tenerife
Europe Villa Cortes Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing