We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel return twice a year. Andrea.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel return twice a year. Andrea.”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and I must say it's the best, im in my late 40s and I don't care what people say about a lot of older people staying there at least its quiet with no loud disco music till the early hours, nice comfortable beds an friendly staff plus good food. Will be back there in November looking forward to it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aec48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    909
    295
    51
    33
See reviews for
436
1,630
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned 22/8 after 2 weeks at Vulcano,food very good,room clean but dated,staff very helpful and always polite.Great location with easy access to all amentities including beach ,bars ,supermarkets and bus stops.Stayed half board and had picnic lunch one day instead of dinner, picnic was huge.Only down side we found was we had gound floor room 070 located next to cleaning staff meeting room and there was constant bang from the door from the stairs door, other wise had a fantastic stay and would not hesistate to return.Tip place used towels into shower cubicle if you want clean towels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacsquiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I've just returned from a two week stay at this hotel with my two teenage sons (13 & 16) & wont be rushing back or recommending it to anyone.

After reading the review on this site I checked with my tour operator if this really was a spanish version of the Bayview Retirement Home, the assured me that in the summer holidays this was "Much more of a family friendly hotel", it wasn't. If crimplene slacks, polyester shirts sock with sandals & leatherette Bun Bags is your thing, please book now, if not please stay away.

As the majority of the clientele is very very old, everything is geared around them from the entertainment (Bingo & Bernard with his Rock n Roll Organ) to food with 14 different takes on "wiltshire farm foods" best cottage pie.

Even if this hotel changed it's niche there is still major faults.

Cleanliness
Our room was ok when we got there accepting blood on the bathroom times & handprints on the patio glass, but the cleaning was poor during the stay with sand remaing on the balcony for the entire two weeks despite asking everyday for it to be cleaned

Food
Very little variation, cramped & busy dining room with a very rushed feel. Food generally quite poor

Drinks cost
Exportnet & charged to your room with a 20% service charge, I paid 12 Euros for a beer & two cokes, then 25 Euros for a nasty bottle of Hot red wine.

Rules
Dress for dinner, inforced on men but wear what you want if you're a lady, seeing a portly lady in a 60 wearing daisy dues really did put me off my Branflakes one morning. No reserving of sunbeds, totally ignored & when I did move them I was reprimanded by the lifeguard.

Staff
Dreadfull, inefficient, rude, sullen, unhelpful & not once did they smile. I requested a Taxi one morning & was directed to the nearest Rank.

In sort
Please don't bother, you work 50 weeks a year for this break & this place isn't worth it & even if you are Diana Trent & Tom Ballard there really are better places to spend your pension

Room Tip: Differant Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
widnes
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned after a family week at the volcano hotel in Las Americas, the hotel overall was nice, situated near to lovely restaurants and bars, also near to the beach. Our rooms were overlooking the pool so were very spacious, air conditioning was vital due to the extreme sunshine, (can't complain about the weather), the pool area was disappointing, although they stipulated you couldn't reserve beds, by 8.30 all of the beds were taken, being in a family of 5 it was impossible to get beds together, the beds were very military placed in rows so you where're basically sitting on top of each other, we resorted to going to Parque Santiago II apartments and paying for beds, at least we could sit together as a family although it was an additional cost. Food choice at the Vulcano and quality were excellent, various choices for all diets. Drinks were slightly more expensive than local bars, which is expected for a 4* hotel. Overall would recommend although pool situation would stop us returning.

Room Tip: Pools overlooking the pool seemed to be more spacious than standard rooms, there were also ones with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marshall_halpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the hotel vulcano and once again it was a faultless holiday.The food is amazing and you have a various range of quality food from breakfast and evening meal. staff at the hotel are very friendly and cant do enough for you ( they work so hard ) the pools are spotless and the pool water is tested daily, lifeguard strict with diving in etc which is great and the hotel has a mixture of guests,,,elderly, familys and teenagers. we put our towels down early for sun beds but thats normal in any 4 star quality hotel ( cant understand why people moan about this ) the entertainment in the day is lead by ROMY and is fantastic they push the boat out and make sure you have fun, evening shows are great and you never have to wait for a drink with the waiter service.we stayed in 2 xl pool view rooms with free champagne free tea/coffee and extra gifts with bath robes and slippers.my 6 year old daughter was spolit rotton with the staff and we cant wait to return in febuary 2014 and august. we have stayed in many many 4 and 5 star hotels everywhere but this hotel comes out on top because they care that you enjoy your holiday ( thats rare these days ) thank you spring hotels and i highly recommend this hotel.....the davies family

Room Tip: book straight through the hotel for the best room and many exras
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

From your balcony in the early morning gloom and under moonlight, you can watch the undead, steal and flit around the pool area with their towels booking their sunbed for the days bake off. Don't blame the Germans, the worst offenders are Brits. These opposites of Count Dracula need to return to their preferred lair by the pool daily regardless that there are an abundance of sunbeds. There is supposedly a rule forbidding this practice but it was never put into practice. I would recommend a temporary barrier until a given time in the morning barring zombie entry. (cue screeching, groaning and howls from the twilight people)
That said, the hotel is very clean, the location is centrally placed in the resort for shopping and entertainment, the food first class and the staff very courteous and helpful. The hotel entertainment was passable but in this resort you won't be stuck to find something to suit your taste and within a short distance.
Would I return? Definitely yes! But with maybe Dr. Van Helsing as a travel companion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A bit apprehensive before we went after reading reviews about the average age of holidaymakers and the tightly packed loungers and strange sun shades at the pool. However loungers on the elevated terrace are not so bad. We booked a room on the 2nd floor with sun loungers on our balcony. Well worth it. Quiet around the pool during day and no loud blaring music. There was activities during the day but no pressures to join in. However, although there were some children about the pool area there is absolutely nothing going on for them. At night men must wear long trousers in dining room but females can wear whatever!! WHY?? Antiquated rules to keep the regular guests happy. All drinks etc charged to room which they say is to speed up service for clients. Pity as it means staff ( who were fantastic) lose out on tips. The evening entertainment is limited and varied. Finished by midnight and bar closed by 1am. Never enough to keep us at the hotel. The hotel is in fantastic location with lots of great shops bar and restaurants within walking distance which is a bonus. Apprehensive before we went and to be frank don't think we would return. The hotel does appear to attract regular (dare I say elderly) holidaymakers. The food was great, rooms lovely communal areas kept really clean but for us ( two 70 plus and two 50 plus) not enough to persuade us to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,781 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Vulcano

Property: Spring Hotel Vulcano
Address: Avda Antonio Dominguez Alfonso 8, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Vulcano 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hotel Vulcano is strategically placed in the nicest part of Playa de las Americas. Next to the beach, the best shopping and entertainment area and 1 km from an 18-hole golf course Las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hotel Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vulcano Tenerife
Vulcano Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Tenerife Volcano
Vulcano Tenerife
Spring Hotel Vulcano Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing