We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Hotel Vulcano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is our ninth stay in this hotel and it gets better every time.As stated by other people this is an hotel mainly for over 60's(especially in winter)It does not offer all inclusive like it's sister Hotel the Bitacora(just across the road)and hence more younger families tend to go in the Bitacora.We had 14 nights 5th to 19th Feb and hope to increase that next year to 18 or 19 days

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    903
    292
    51
    28
See reviews for
431
1,618
55
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (995)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our second time in three months at the Vulcano. Liked it so much last November, couldn't wait to come back. We were not disappointed, all was great. Despite being busy the staff, and the amenities at the hotel coped very well. Looking forward to the next time.

Room Tip: If you want to go, suggest a pool view room, they are quieter than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

hi, myself my wife my 17 year old son and 5 year old daughter have just returned from a 7 night stay at the vulcano,, we can not fault this hotel, the staff from reception to managment are so friendly and cant do enough for you. we stayed in 2 pool view rooms and they wereas ever clean and up to a high standard, myself and my wife both work very hard and look forward to our holidays and every time we visit this hotel we are happy with the outcome. the food is superb and the day and night entertainment is very good (mainly older people stay in this hotel but the staff all welcome kids with open arms ) if you want a 4 star hotel and kept to that standard during your stay then look no further, it is so peaceful and pleasand but also you can be lively if you want to by joining in the day time activities. i would describe this hotel as a family run hotel !!! ie the staff make you feel like one of thier family ( spring group you should be very proud as there are not many hotel chains like this ) we cant wait for our 2 week stay this coming august and are already looking to book again.i hope this review helps. the davies family.

Room Tip: book a pool view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

visted in january for 19 nights and most of that time the hotel was full to bursting
dinner was very very busy whatever time you went. sometimes a queue for the show cooking but you just had to queue or wait 10 minutes for the queue to go.
not so many fillet steaks as there used to be and they could use more onions in the dishes to enhance them i think.
strange music in restaurant. a trumpet player tuning up maybe?? then a sax player tuning up!! why can't they put some decent music on.
spoke to the mangeress regarding traditional canary music piped through the speakers on canary gala evening. she said good idea. but i wonder if that will ever happen
champagne on sunday mornings.
delicious porridge every morning. i wouldnt bother getting up for breakfast if the beautiful porridge wasnt on. i dream about it.!!! mmm!!
sometimes a queue for breakfast but they soon get everyone seated.
the breakfast fruit juices are so diluted, so i just drink the water but i did see a jug on a couple of mornings only of a smoothie. plus everyday there is tomato juice.
the comments book in the restaurant has now been disposed of.
it was an interesting book ,reading other peoples comments.
head waiters do not show you to a table unless it is very busy so you have to find your own.
someone found a cockroach under the melon slice, so watch out!!
took my computer for the first time and i was pleasantly suprised that i could receive the internet in my bedroom. and on the balcony.i was on the free wifi.
i skyped my neice everyday and most days bar 1 or 2 the reception was excellent.
i was in room 250 and we received yorkshire tv so could watch calendar.
other friends room tv was tuned to border tv. strange.
105 tv channels.!!!!!!
beds were very very comfortable but i had a stain on my sheet. not nice.
but i have to say the sheets were lovely and smooth and soft. must have been egyptian!
not enough drawers. 2 little ones and 3 cubby holes in the wardrobe.
sofa in the bedroom has seen better days but it is a good place to dump all the things that has no place to accomodate them.
bathroom grouting wants bleaching. i've just done my own.
bathroom cornice wants rubbing down and painting. i've just done my own.
it's called upkeep to keep things looking nice and presentable.
the managers just need to lie in the bath and relax and look around and then they will see what needs doing.
one thing that is fantastic is the shower. it makes my electric shower look rubbish.
the power is fantastic and there is 5 different shower heads.
we had sun every day for 19 nights and maybe because of their solar panels it kept the pool at 28 degrees, gorgeous.
but beware of the suction hole on the right side as you go down the steps and just by the light under the water. i leaned against it and it sucked against my costume and my skin and it was terribly painful. mentioned it to the manageress. she said nothing wrong with it. steer clear of it.!!
they were bagging beds in the moonlight. not a lot were bagged and there was always some empty on the "top deck"
it 's always the front row that gets bagged.
but there were always a few sunbeds left in the afternoon and that with the hotel fully booked.
i noticed a very high police presence on the sea front. thats good.
music from robert phillipe in the vulcano does stop early at 11.30pm. bitacora goes on till 12am.
you have to ask for your kind of music. i love latin so he plays me a few requests a night.
but there is so much going on around the town, there is something for everyone.
the trouble is, with the vulcano full and people coming in from outside the dance floor was full to bursting, so i have to go elsewhere to dance where it is not as crowded.
if you want an hotel with younger people, the best tenerife is full of younger folk and more kids.
if you like dancing on your own go to the bitacora, it is an empty floor there most of the time, and it is much cooler in the bitacora as they open the big windows.
vulcano never opens the big windows to let any cool air in. why??
anyway we are allready booked for 22 nights next january.
a good way to spend my birthday and this year we missed all that snow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grumbleweedleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Thank goodness for Hotel Vulcano. We had two excellent weeks from 25th Jan to 8th Feb.The older age group deserve such a lovely hotel with people of same age all enjoying themselves.Don"t agree with previous review .This is a great 4 star hotel.Vulcano don"t change a thing.

Room Tip: Pay for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

7 floor hotel with games and entertainment laid on - very predictable/you know what you are going to get after one day kind of hotel. Lots of customers seemed to stay in the hotel and not go out much. Two streets from the sea in Playa las Americas. The meal plan is for breakfast - which was good and evening meal each day (and no option to just choose breakfast). The evening meal was a buffet, which after a couple of nights was very samey and very anglicised - not a lot of Spanish influence evident! Staff were mostly friendly and helpful, although beware the woman checking room numbers when you come into the restaurant - forget to bring your paper room slip with you and she would make you feel like a criminal - Spring Hotels need to teach her what customer service is! Each day there were games organised through the day in the pool, the games room and lawn with results announced in the bar in the evening with winners presented with certificates in the middle of variable quality entertainment. A good place to explore from and the surrounding areas were very accessible with beaches in 3 directions and lots of restaurants, bars and shopping. Two pools at 21 and 28C with sun loungers packed like sardines around it! Room basic but OK; safe, mini-bar (even empty), beach towels all paid for at an extra daily rate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed from 5th Feb to 12th at this hotel which I chose because it has a reputation for having a mature clientele and we wanted a quiet, relaxing week. We got just that, allocated room 034 on the ground floor but this room, along with all from 002 to 040 get absolutely no sun, a shame because we had a lovely patio with table, chairs and loungers but couldn't use them because it was too cold in the shade. The room was shabby and could do with updating with cracks and signs of previous leaks on the ceiling. Cleaning was poor with a quick flick and a change of towels most days. The beds are really hard and uncomfortable.
Whilst we were there they were replacing the hotel's name and stars signage. We joked that they had made a mistake by putting up 4 stars when this is clearly an average 3 star hotel. They have signage by the pool clearly stating that sunbeds cannot be reserved and towels will be removed but every day the same people reserved the same sunbeds and didn't appear till late afternoon, you know who you are!! We were still able to get sunbeds late afternoon without any fuss but these guests, who were returning guests, seemed to think that they had a right to them.
Restaurant staff were very efficient and food was ok. I would say breakfast was better than dinner with numerous choices of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruits, breads and the choice of eggs cooked to your style. Dinner was often trays of vegetables and potatoes which were cooked till they were mush but the show cooking station where you could have your meet or fish cooked as you liked it was good. Unfortunately I spotted a dead cockroach in the dining room one night and when I alerted the waiter he just put his finger to his mouth to say 'shoosh' and swept it away with a serviette!
The evening entertainment was aimed at the older clientele and not our cup of tea but that's ok because we would go out to the other bars, watch a show and come back for a nightcap. The bar prices in the hotel were very good and sometimes cheaper than outside.
We spoke to several couples who return year after year and some who stay for 4 weeks in the winter each year but even they said that the hotel has changed and is not as upmarket as it used to be and does not offer the food choices that they used to, such as lobster, crab and prawns at dinner and champagne at breakfast. They obviously come because of the friendly staff, the room facilities available for the disabled traveler and the feeling of being safe and quiet in the hotel. That's why we booked this hotel but sadly we would not return because there are other hotels in Las Americas which really are 4star.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 002 to 040 in the winter months as they get no sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northener53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#10 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Tenerife
Best Tenerife
#25 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Vulcano

Property: Spring Hotel Vulcano
Address: Avda Antonio Dominguez Alfonso 8, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Vulcano 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hotel Vulcano is strategically placed in the nicest part of Playa de las Americas. Next to the beach, the best shopping and entertainment area and 1 km from an 18-hole golf course Las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Spring Hotel Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vulcano Tenerife
Vulcano Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Tenerife Volcano
Vulcano Tenerife
Spring Hotel Vulcano Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing