We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We enjoyed our second visit to The Vulcano, weather was beautiful and the heated pool was great, we're 60+ so probably fall into the oap category that a previous reviewer warned about, however we prefer an efficiently run and tranquil holiday above the hustle and bustle of a family orientated hotel and the Vulcano provides that 100%

Room Tip: It's worth up-grading to a Superior Room, and fifth floor or above gives a nice sea view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Brizos_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,503)
There are newer reviews for Spring Hotel Vulcano
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,503 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

After our latest holiday at the Vulcano Hotel in Tenerife we still consider this is an excellent all round hotel with very courteous and helpful staff. Its reputation for good food and good service is well established. We use the hotel because it is particularly disability friendly with a number of adapted rooms. It is well located in Las Americas, quiet but close to shops restaurants and beach front.

For some people buffet style self service dinner may not be attractive but at the Vulcano the food is consistently good along with the on site grill counter for fresh cooked steaks, fish and other meats. And if you tire of serving yourself the hotel offers a new feature - the opportunity once a week (Wednesday) to have an ‘a la carte’ dinner served at your reserved table. We enjoyed beautifully cooked and presented food, served courteously by head waiter Daniel - this 4 course dinner ( 6 when you count the appetiser and sorbet) was well worth the extra 12.50 euro.

A good hotel to relax and enjoy.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank SCorig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

a nice hotel deserveing its 4 star rating but be warned if you go jan/feb times the hotel is mostly full of pensioners not a problem but dont expect any late night raves.
the hotel is good and the food is very good plenty of choice so you wont go hungry.
Bad points. you have to pay for the use of the room fridge,plus 10 euro deposit for safe, the room cleaning leaves a lot to desire not much dusting done .rooms a little dated but passable also try and get rom on 6 or 7 th floor facing pool as you get sun most of the day.
Overall a nice hotel in a good location but maybe a little updating required,plus the staff are very friendly and helpful we enjoyed our week and would consider returning

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travlingmanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for a week in jan and had a great holiday ! Brilliant location as convenient for walking to places of interest ! Friendly staff and great selection of food ! We had a ground floor room which was very suitable for going to the pool but we got no sun ! Apparently you will have to wait until march to get any sun on the rooms from 1 to 40 !!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank activepal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our first visit to Vulcano but had been in other Spring hotels a number of times. We expected a good standard and were not disappointed.
First impressions created by Nora in reception indicated a friendly efficient approach to guests and their needs and so it proved throughout our stay.
The rooms are adequate rather than large but were very comfortable and spotlessly clean.
The foyer/atrium is now very dated and the jungle look must have reached retirement age, indeed the whole building is now at a stage where a facelift would improve the experience for guests.
The dining room got very chaotic and crowded at times despite the excellent staff making every effort to ease the situation. The buffet meals were of very good quality and the grilled meat and fish on offer was as good as we have experienced anywhere.
The bar area was comfortable and spacious and the staff, again, saw to your needs in a flash.the entertainment was mixes with good dance music in the early part of the night - a real crowd pleaser followed by 'shows' which varied from average to 'singers' more suited to entertaining in their own shower!!
The 'footprint' of the hotel is quite small so the pool area has just enough space for the regimented rows of sun beds, but there were plenty of spaces available throughout the day and beds were comfortable and towel changes available daily. The beach is about 10 mins walk away butch the hotel is very central and quiet at night.
The hotel caters very well for the clientele it targets i.e.: retired Northern Europeans, predominantly British, escaping winter and looking for comfort, friendliness and a good meal.

Room Tip: Pool view floor 5 or above.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kildaremercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Returned in January this year(2013) after last visit in November 2011 when I was disappointed. Very pleased to say the staffing issues have been addressed, the food was of an excellent standard both in choice & quality so it is again the best 4* in the best position in Las Americas. Yes it could do with a little refurbishment, in parts it does look a little dated, but that is our fault.How do you refurbish a hotel that is in a 365 day resort? when during our 3 week stay covering January & February the hotel was fully booked, although the only time you noticed the amount of people there, was at dinner if you went @18.30

Room Tip: Always book a superior room at least, they avoid any possibility of noise at night and the safe, poo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Devonwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in January and had a wonderful holiday.
Starting with the flights 25 minutes early arriving in Tenerife and 40 minutes early back to Birmingham, well done Thomsons
Arrived at the hotel and check in was pleasant and quick. We had e mailed the hotel in July 2012 to reserve a room with an xl balcony which includes 2 sunbeds on it. The price was 168 euros for 14 nights, but that includes a kettle with tea and coffee, free fridge, free safe and free change of towels, we were well pleased. Room 294 had sun on the balcony from 10am to 4.30pm, wonderful

The food was good, typical hotel food. Plenty of choice and always hot.
We only saw hotel enertainment 3 times, but those 3 acts were good especially the Three Tenors who were outstanding. Drinks in the hotel were no dearer than a lot of outside bars, in fact, in a lot of cases they were cheaper.

Would definately stay again, main reasons being location and very few children at the hotel.

Room Tip: XL balcony rooms 272-296 get sun all day
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank swaneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#26 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,638 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spring Hotel Vulcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Hotel Vulcano

Address: Avda Antonio Dominguez Alfonso 8, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#15 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $157 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spring Hotel Vulcano 4*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spring Hotel Vulcano is strategically placed in the nicest part of Playa de las Americas. Next to the beach, the best shopping and entertainment area and 1 km from an 18-hole golf course Las Americas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spring Hotel Vulcano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vulcano Tenerife
Vulcano Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Tenerife Volcano
Vulcano Tenerife
Spring Hotel Vulcano Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing