We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Spring Hotel Vulcano
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Best Tenerife(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Optimist Aparthotel(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunprime Coral Suites(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sur Beach(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Spring Hotel Bitacora(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zentral Center(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Club Europe Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Cleopatra Palace Hotel(Playa de las Americas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,722)
Filter reviews
2,722 results
Traveler rating
1,338
978
313
54
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,338
978
313
54
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjeff leytonpool areaspring cardarona granolder clientelepool towelssister hotelaverage agesuperior roomage groupexcellent hotelhotel catersgreat holidayplenty of choiceevening entertainmentpool attendantbreakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,763 - 1,768 of 2,722 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Check in was a bit slow as we arrived at the same time as a coach but was efficient once we got to the desk. Our room was not ready (only 11am) so we stored luggage and went off to explore, the hotel is in a good location near to beach, shops and restaurants. We had a lovely ground floor room which had a patio with own sun loungers, unfortunately due to the late time of year we did not get any sun but would recommend these rooms for the summer months as the sun loungers by the pool are extremely close together (touching!). There is a canopy if you want the shade. We paid 2 euros a night to have an empty fridge and with the supermarket nearby could do our own lunches. We only had breakfast in the hotel as there are some lovey restaurants expecially in Los Christianos and we prefer to eat out. Breakfast was excellent with everything that you can think of there. Huge buffet and omelette station. Even champagne on Sunday! If you upgrade you get bath robes and pool towels but we did not think it was worth the £75. There is entertainment each evening which we didn't stay for, from the comments from the other guests some was good and others not so. People have commented that this is a hotel for older people and not being in this bracket we were a little concerned but was great and made a change from rowdy groups waking you up at at hours of the night and there was no small children screaming either. Was lovely to have a heated pool to use. Maid service was excellent. Very comfy beds and we could even sleep with the door open as you could lock the shutters. Was very strange seeing the Christmas decorations when it is 25 degrees! The botanical garden in reception amazing (verging on Vegas!). There are load of activities put on during the day of you need something to do, darts, pool, shooting, shuffleboard, pentac, aqua aerobics etc

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are execellent for personal sun loungers but imagine good views from high floor.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cazzy0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Please don't be put off by first impressions after the very efficient and welcoming check-in. The predominance of elderly guests and store of scooters may give the impression of visiting a care home, but this is not the case and the average of guests fell dramatically after the first 2 days of our holiday. Atmosphere was very friendly for such a large hotel, and keeping up with the older guests presented a challenge on occasion.

The location behind the Safari Centre is excellent for access to all that Playa has to offer - relatively easy walk to Los Cristianos and to Puerto Colon and beyond. The hotel reception and botanical garden are well kept and relaxing area for whatever you want to do quietly - you can even have a conversation uninterrupted, or use the WiFi. The dining room is generally well organised - better than most in Tenerife, the food is of good quality and mostly from a wide choice. Steaks are particularly popular. The bar is well run with good service and the entertainment on the whole of good standard esp the 3 Tenors. Pool area is well kept - but not a fan of the slatted canopies for shading from the hot sun.

The only real criticism is the dated furnishings in the rooms - the beds were great however, and room always spotlessly clean - daily, bedding changed regularly, good flat screen TV with wide selection of channels.

This is a good quality hotel, well run, and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Higher floor 3 or above for quieter rooms
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Another good week. Pity I had my I phone stolen by a lady hotel guest in the lobby area.food good and nice pool view room . Better to book directly with hotel.Our10 th time here. Good area. Love Tenerife. Will stay at this hotel again but bring a cheaper mobile with me. I'm not blaming the hotel for my hotel lost , they were very helpful with CCTV and police. It was just this very mean lady who took this phone from a 70 year old man

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This was my 6th time staying at the Vulcano in Tenerife and again we had a excellent time. You will not find better food .We have yet to find its equal, We had a lovely room and again the staff were wonderfull.We have recommended the Vulcano to any of our friends going to Tenerife.Thanks again for a great holiday.

Room Tip: Corner room large and sunny.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MMM96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Vulcano, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Dear Jim,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your stay in Spring Hotel Vulcano

I am pleased to hear that once again you returned to our hotell and look forward to your visit sometime in the not too distant future!!

Best regards

Beatriz Roque
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The ‘Vulcano’ is a typical concrete-and-glass building of its type and age. It is located centrally for most Las Americas facilities, at the rear of the Safari shopping centre (where the once-coloured fountains are now colourless as the coloured discs seem to be stuck), between that shopping centre and the Guardia Civil. It is handy for local TITSA public buses, the nearest stops being just across the road from the hotel , slightly to the right and at the beginning of the street opposite. Nearest place to buy the €15 prepayment bus cards is a ‘Spanish Style’ shop - out of hotel, turn left, about 200 yards on left. There is a supermarket just outside the hotel – turn right, and just over the pedestrian way, at basement level. Sadly, there is no vehicular or pedestrian access directly from the hotel towards the shopping centre; all guest traffic is through the main hotel door.
The hotel, as indeed the resort and the nearby Los Cristianos and Costa Adeje waterfront areas, are disabled friendly, though there are some steep slopes if one wishes to go further inland, and there seemed to be a high proportion of disabled guests. The guests were mainly, but not exclusively, British. There seemed to be quite an influx of Irish guests about 1st December.
The hotel is built on a slope, with reception and main inside bar on level 1 and pool access and restaurant on floor 0. There is lift access to all floors, and the lifts usually (though not invariably) follow the buttons pressed. At busy times, there can be a wait for a lift, contributory factors including limited capacity when motorised wheelchairs are involved and the unfortunate habit of some guests to stick their feet in the doorway on arrival at a floor to complete a lengthy natter rather than have any consideration for those in the queues forming elsewhere.
The reception hall is roomy and impressive, extending to the equivalent of about 4 floor levels, with a lot of greenery and even a “botanical garden” area within it. In summer, it is probably very pleasant; but in November/December, we found it rather damp and cold. Behind the reception area is the bar where the evening entertainment takes place. The architect seems to have drawn inspiration for this from the average 1960s multi-storey car park, and it has an ambiance to match. It is a single, large but none-too-high room, with dozens of square concrete columns which prevent any decent view across the room. The majority of seats are semi-circular bucket-type chairs with their bases about a foot off the floor. I sat in one for an hour or so for our rep’s welcome meeting, and after only five days I was again able to walk without a limp. There are some different seats at front and back, which I would recommend for taller guests. The evening entertainment started at about 8 p.m. with the resident team – “golden oldies” played by either Robert Philippe on his keyboard or Javier on his guitar. At any given time, there were one or two dozen people dancing near the performer (old-tyme, not break!). They were OK if not really to our taste, and sadly at times they each played so loudly that conversation was difficult. Hundreds of half-tipsy geriatrics trying to make themselves heard over an excessively noisy entertainer was really not good. We preferred plinky-plonk to twingy-twang, but that’s just personal taste. At about 9.45 p.m. the in-house entertainments team presents certificates to the people who’ve won the usual dreary daytime activities. I don’t suppose the winners would tell the folk back home that there was only one other contestant, a 95-year old lady with a white stick … The presenters were ladies who were hyping-up a rather tedious function, and they seemed to prefer to shout and squeal into the mike rather than just turn up the volume, so that the pitch of their voices rose, their English was less than perfect to start with, and there were multiple speakers around a bare room with lots of intervening columns. Anyone who could make out more than 10% of what they said probably deserved a certificate more than any of those who got one. At 10 p.m. there were professional acts, of the usual “adequate but not exciting” sort. The Beatles tribute group weren’t too bad; their enthusiasm made up for much of their lack of ability. However, we thought the Elvis impersonator was dire; if he has a day job driving Routemasters around the Moon, he really should hold on to it.
For me, the main problem with all entertainment in the bar was the intervening concrete columns, supporting the hotel rooms above. The bar would work so much better if it could be moved into where the “botanical garden” is. Yes, the columns have been decorated, and mirrors set diagonally at the corners, to try to cut down their negative impact. However, there are just so many columns that almost no one beyond the first few rows can actually see the live acts. The restaurant and circulation area underneath the bar are similarly affected. The hotel has recognised the problem by installing monitors throughout the bar so that guests can try to watch on-screen the entertainment that they had expected to see live. However, the screens depend on an unmanned fixed camera. Robert Philippe at his keyboard shows up OK. Javier and his guitar are largely OK, though you’d never know whether or not he had any feet at the end of his legs. Not unnaturally, the professional acts played to the live audience rather than to the camera; and that’s a problem. Try watching a gymnastic-type act where the performers keep disappearing off the screen. Try to watch a magic act where you’re sitting twenty or thirty feet from a domestic-size monitor and the camera has not the definition to keep up with the performer so the whole image is blurred anyway. They really need to have a major rethink about the bar and entertainment. The service by staff in the bar is usually, however (if not always) quite prompt and efficient.
One quirky item I would mention is the signs on the various conveniences in the hotel, which are not quite standard. Given two signs side-by-side, one can tell the difference; one has a slight skirt, indicating the ladies’ facilities unless presumably one is a male Scot or a Greek in national costume. Seen singly, however, one is not quite so sure, especially when one has just come from the bar. The missus endured a long wait in a queue, only to find a particularly geriatric man emerge from the sole trap in the ladies’ after about 20 minutes. Conversely, whilst I was washing my hands in the gents’ one morning, a lady burst through the door and told me in rather plummy tones that I shouldn’t be using the ladies’. She beat rather a quick retreat when I invited her to use one of the urinals behind her … Anyway, just watch out.
The room was spacious and comfortable. It was generally well cleaned. There was the usual detachable shower head over the bath, with a hinged, rigid screen which was better than a curtain. I think that there was also meant to be a non-slip surface in the bath; but due perhaps to a combination of age and vigorous cleaning, it was absolutely smooth. We were in the wing overlooking the pedestrian way between the Guardia Civil and the Safari shopping centre. There was some noise in the early hours from revellers returning to wherever, but it was minimal. A flat-screen TV was available, with BBC1, ITV1 and ITV1+1. Unfortunately, due to the volume of the live entertainment from Ristorante La Karina on the walkway, it would have been at least difficult to listen to it or to get any sleep before about midnight.
The pool area was quite large, and well-supplied with loungers. There was a notice posted about towels left unattended 9.30 – 10.00 a.m. being removed by staff, but they never were. In November/December, we found that large parts of the pool area were in shade and quite chilly, so sometimes one could not get a warmly-placed lounger. Many loungers with towels on them were left unoccupied all day; and some guests would occupy one lounger for a while then move to another during the day but leave the old towel on the old lounger. The odd parrot visited the trees in the pool area, but by far the commonest birds were pigeons. The entertainment team did physical jerks in one of the pools from 10.30 a.m., in which perhaps two dozen participated. The more petite of the staff (she’d have made one hell of a PTI!) led from the poolside and had them doing things in time to rather loud music, whereas the lass of more generous proportions tended to put on her noise machine then get into the pool and do things which seemed to have nothing to do with the cacophony she’d brought. When the physical jerks finished, activities seemed to start up in the adjoining Best Tenerife Hotel; and the noise from them was such that peace was just an aspiration. If you want to spend your holiday relaxing quietly around a pool, go to another hotel (other than the Best Tenerife) or take a good set of earplugs.
The restaurant serves a good and varied range of breakfasts and evening meals. There is no queueing for the maître D’ to find you a place; just pile in and find your own. Evening meal starts at 6.30; but arrive then and you’ll find the restaurant pretty full already.
I was surprised that on 7 or 8 occasions over a fortnight’s stay I had to go and replace cutlery set out on the table or in dispensing boxes as it had the caked-on remains of a previous meal still attached. The crockery was often set out still damp, sometimes positively wet, and one did just wonder how clean it really was. No antiseptic handwash was provided in the restaurant area. We would advise against occupying the tables situated conveniently on the main gangways near the food carousels; we found other guests bumping into us or our tables whilst we were eating, food tipped onto us or our table by other guests, and we were frequently coughed and spluttered over. It is of course hard to cover one’s mouth when carrying a plate in either hand; but most guests just didn’t seem to care even when their hands were empty. Add to that a personal observation that probably over ¾ of the guests I encountered in the gents’ left the room without washing their hands (even when they’d just emerged from the traps), and all in all I think I understand why we both ended up with various bugs from which we are still trying to recover a week after returning home. One can always blame the hotel, but truthfully the blame lies with some irresponsible and selfish guests.
That said, the food was plentiful, varied, and of a good standard. The staff don’t seem to have twigged that “mashed potatoes” are not supposed to have a consistency suitable for hanging heavy wallpaper, and the vegetables seemed to have been stewed for hours then strained through a hessian sack; but the meat was of a better quality than generally in the Canaries, and well cooked and of good variety. There was rather too much gooey gelatine and plastic cream in the cakes provided for desserts, as seems to be the wont of every hotel in the Canaries. For some reason, the restaurant didn’t seem to have enough coffee cups; in mornings, there was usually plenty of coffee, tea, saucers and spoons, but one often had to hunt around the various carousels to find a cup (often still wet) to press into use. The staff were courteous, and hard-working; but we were less than happy when, when my missus raised her coffee cup to have a sip, one waitress seized her saucer and ran off with it … Still, I suppose she was keen.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WartsAndAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springhoteles, Community Manager at Spring Hotel Vulcano, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an extensive review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Spring Hotel Vulcano.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments and hope we can welcome you back to on a future occasion.

Best Regards

Bea Roque
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews