We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad Points - Overall.....Enjoyable!!”
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Reviewed July 17, 2009

My family and I (7 in total) stayed at the hotel on an all inclusive basis and my comments are as follows:-
Cleanliness - Very Good/Excellent
All Inclusive Food - Plenty of it, good choice every day, always fresh
Hotel Location - Extremely noisey due to the veronica's strip nightlife which we knew about prior to our trip as we have been visiting Tenerife for over 15 years. I took ear-plugs with me and once they were in, I heard no noise at all and had a great nights sleep each night.
Room - We stayed in Block B on the 11th floor and had fabulous views. Room contained a kitchenette which was a surprise to us
Staff - Always friendly and helpful
Room Safe - hired for a week, paid 13.50 euro's and got 3.50 euro's when the key was returned at the end of the holiday
Remote for TV - hired for a week, paid 5.00 euro's, got this back when the remote was handed back at the end of the holiday.
Pool area - adquate and no rush for towels on beds
Internet service - 3.00 euro's for 30 minutes, this was always busy
Disappointments:-
All inclusive deal during the day - extremely disappointed as staff were not consistent in their rules and each time we visited the snack bar for drinks, we always had to sign and detail our room number on a receipt although we wore 'all inclsive bands'. This was very frustrating and annoying as the queues were horrendous at times because of the 'signing' process.
All inclusive deal during the evening - waiter service was given to those who were not on the 'all unclusive' deal, so for us, we had to contunie to queue for drinks and again, this process was as detailed above.
Sockets in room - there was only one socket in the bedroom which was for the tv and one in the bathroom. This made it difficult at times as the socket in the bedroom could not be used at the sametime as having the tv on.
TV - disappointed as there was one channel per language and the UK was world news, no Satalite TV available.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel for everything other than the location as we favour the Parque Santiago end of Las Americas, always staying at Parque Santiago 3, but regrettably could not find anything available, hence the change of location. The all inclusive deal did suit each party member due to the euro not being particularly good at the moment.....this saved us a lot of money.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsCunnieEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear MrsCunnieEngland,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sol Tenerife. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests because it helps us to improving each day for provide our best to our guests.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,875 of 3,765 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2009

Arrived on the Tuesday and admittedly there was a mix-up with the rooms and we were transferred to another hotel for the first night, the Sol Tenerife staff were fantastic and changed us to complimentary full board to apologise for the inconvenience. We had heard nothing but bad reviews about the hotel and we understood that noise was likely to be an issue, however we could not hear a thing and had 8 pleasent nights sleep. We were on the highest floor in block A (nearest the Veronicas Strip) though so i can't comment on the noise issue elsewhere in the hotel.
Aim for a high floor and you won't have a problem! x

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HannahB73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Hannahb73,

Thank you very much for trusting in the Sol Tenerife during your visit to Tenerife.

Also, I would like to thank you for so many positive comments about our team. We are really pleased that you have had an impressive stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2009

HOTEL SOL TENERIFE:
my boyfriend and I (both 22) just got back from a good holiday. The hotel is situated perfectly so close to the beach and veronicas strip, which obviously means it can be noisy at nite time. The strip was great...go to oasis cocktail bar!!!! as for the hotel tho.....the day time entertainment at the pool is annoying, and the nite time is just as bad (the hotel staff feature in all the acts) and only last one hour, 10-11pm. The breakfast isnt particularly good but the evening meal had great choice of food. There are plenty sun loungers and space to lounge by the pools.
be prepared to be stopped everywhere you go in tenerife by men selling sunlgasses, fruit, donuts etc they are EVERYWHERE!!!! especially the beach! The PRs on the strip are particularly pushy so if you dont plan on a wild nite i suggest you dont go past. The designer shops are great!!! all in all tenerife was actually a good holiday, i just supplied the not so good news to warn people of it.

1  Thank claire_d_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Claire_d_20,

Greetings from Sol Tenerife!!!,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for publishing such as motivating words on TripAdvisor!!. I have shared your constructive and kind comments with all the team. We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay a new unforgettable experience!!.

With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I stayed at Sol Tenerife last year during the summer. As I am a younf person and I like to party I don't mind all the discos in the area, however it's nice to sleep after the party.
Unfortunately it was impossible,loud music played till morning hours.

Despite that I liked the hotel.
Rooms clean
nice two pools - but cold water!

food-average

close to the beach

as for me not a 4 star hotel , but good 3

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Zoffen,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sol Tenerife. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sol Tenerife, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future as well as provide you the best of our attention.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2009

First holiday experience, was amazing value, great place to stay, with great views from the room and pool.

Location spot on, right on the side of the beach and centre of shops.

Food of all varieties possible so no failure... even to fussy eaters!

Staff helpful and friendly and tried to help... day time entertainment great! Night time, not for the young but close to night life.

Can't belive our luck for our first holiday experience.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iluvbeingspoilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Iluvbeingspoilt,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Sol Tenerife for enjoy your stay in Tenerife.

We are delighted to know that we exceed your expectations and that you have a wonderful stay with us. I have shared your feedback with the rest of the team, who were very happy to know that their work have been highly appreciated.

We would like to thank you again for trusting in our hotel, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

hotel not up to the standard of the other 4 star hotels.it needs re-furb.the noise from the veronicas clubs went on till 4 or 5am in the morning and the noise is LOUD. we had no trouble getting sunbeds, but the hotel was not as full as mid summer . breakfast = great, there was every thing you could think of so no complaints there.we looked at several other hotels while we were there and the 4 star ones were all in better condition than this one.having said all that hol was great, but next time we are staying at the Mare Nostrum, which looked a lot nicer.the 'gym' also needs a major over haul as the equipment was old, broken and unkempt

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brobrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Brobrob,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sol Tenerife. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

However, we will take in account your comments, for your future stays in the Hotel that best fit your needs. We would appreciate, that next time you come to Tenerife, you will contact us by email therefore, we will provide you with the best of our attention and recover your trust in us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

As with previous reviews located in tower block A music till 4/30 then noise and shouting till the darling had gone home to sleep it of.Hotel was fine no problems with staff or food plenty of it .Weather was great and the whole areas inside and outside were kept very clean.I would visit again if i new i was not going to be in tower block A.As a person who stays in sol hotel on holidays this to me met the standards which they claims,apart from the niose from nightclubs in that area.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilly689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Tilly689,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Tenerife, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

We highly appreciate your comments, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved. Our apreciation again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Looking forward to welcome you at the Sol Tenerife.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#15 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
Kn Columbus Aparthotel
#30 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vanilla Garden Hotel
Vanilla Garden Hotel
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Park 2
Laguna Park 2
#51 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana s/n, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $64 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing