We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be going back”
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Palmanova, Spain
2 reviews
“Will be going back”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Had a lovely time here. Stayed between 21-28 November so much to do around the hotel too based right on the seafront but quite central too all areas which are within easy walking reach. Lots of food to choose from though sometimes it's could have been hotter it was always nice. Drinks were good too, we were all inclusive which is easy. We had a great view from our room 1165 which is tower b on the top floor we could see right over the resort and the sea, lovely. Good hotel and location for all ages.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Kerry H,

Thank you very much for share your experience about your stay at the Sol Tenerife on Tripadvisor. We very much appreciate your kind words about our hotel, It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed our hotel although we regret to know that we did not reach all of your expectations.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in order to provide the best of our service to make your stay more comfortable. Looking forward to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    1,133
    816
    408
    315
See reviews for
573
1,688
133
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We travelled as a group of 3 couples, the other 2 couples wanted high floor rooms for the views - me, a vertigo sufferer as low as possible! So they were allocated rooms on the 11th floor, and we had a very nice room on the 2nd floor (result!!) - in other words they work very hard to please everybody. (and yes I am a bit biased here!!).
Our room (204) was nice and quite as it faced Block B away from Veronicas & Starcos - the noise from these areas is quite insane, and gets louder after 5 AM until it finishes at 6 AM. As a frequent traveller to Tenerife I knew exactly what I was in for! The other 2 couples in our group asked to be moved after the first night, having been unable to sleep, and after 3 days when rooms became available, they were moved to the 9th floor on the same side of the hotel as we were on. Apparently the noise levels were a lot better. Our TV only seemed to respond to the buttons on the set, not the remote and the picture was poor quality B&W (yes black and white!), we didn't complain however because we could only find BBC World and CNN. There was no Shower Mat in the bath which was quite slippery so it's worth being a little cautious. The cleaning staff did an excellent job
There are only 2 lifts in Block A - (I assume the same in Block B) which seems inadequate for all the rooms in the block, so lots of people were taking the stairs.
We were on a B&B basis; the breakfast was a little "hit & miss" sometimes items from the hot buffet were cold, the selection of cold meats and cheeses was poor as times. There is only one toaster and the queue for this was worse than for the lifts! However the restaurant staff do a remarkable job in clearing tables and keeping it clean. The tables also seem to be well spread out, so it's not oppressive in there.
It does seem a little stingy to have to pay for WI IF in this day and age, when you can go to many of the bars in the area, spend 1 euro on a beer and have it for free.

Room Tip: We had room 204 and I would recommend rooms facing away from Veronicas and Starcos
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear David M,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Sol Tenerife for enjoy your holidays.

We are delighted to know that you have a wonderful stay with us. Be assured that we have taken note of your comments about your bed preferences and we hope next time you come to Tenerife we can reached all your expectations.

Thank you once again and we hope you come to visit us again soon. I would like to take this occasion to send you a cordial greeting.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was the worse hotel I have stayed in Tenerife. Whatever all others wrote are true. This is a run down hotel like most others which have 2-3 stars, I fail to understand who gave them 4 stars? Melia should kick them out their system, I booked on their website, thinking that it's one of their hotels, but according to their big pony tailed and arrogant Reception Manager so full of himself, they are NOT MELIA! But only SOL !

I thought having a MELIA Club Card meant something, but they charge for Internet and in room safes rental too! Hey Sol/Melia: Why not charge for Hot Water and WC paper too while you are at it ripping off your captive audiences? Their Website is misleading, mentioning that they have Wifi Internet and in room safes, TV ( antiquated CRT types) Air con etc. But they conveniently fail to signal that some are charged as extras! Just out side the hotel, all cafés, Restaurants and Bars have free internet , even Mc Donalds have it!

Better still; get a temporary SIM card for your mobile phone from Vodafone (near the Columbus hotel) with an Internet package, for about 25.-Euros you get 100 minute calls and 1.5 G internet. That's less than one day's internet rental at the Rip-Off hotel and such like it. Do not buy SIM cards from the little Indian souvenir shop next to the hotel entrance.

The Hotel's Supermarket also near the reception area is a rip-off too, just behind the hotel in front of Mc Donalds there are 2 mini markets with much cheaper products line Water,Juices etc. ( same brands)

The only advantage is the location which is nearest to the beach and the night life entertainment but full of loud drunk English tourists. But they are a welcome change to the Scandinavian pensioners and Russians at the hotel. The B'fast buffet is mediocre with the basics that are the same everyday.

Housekeeping maids and Front Desk clerks are kind, efficient and friendly.
The Management is absent or invisible. I imagine hiding from complaining guests......

I wished I had chosen to stay in another hotel and paid more, but I had little choice due to high season, all good ones where full or overpriced. In any case I will not return here or stay at any other "Melia" hotel group anywhere.(SABENA)

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms with Sea View. Away from the Lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GRN-GVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear GRN-GVA,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience in the Sol Tenerife Hotel because it is really important for us to know how your stay was.

We are sorry if we did not meet your expectations, be assured that we have taken note of your comments in order to enhance our services. We hope that you will give us other opportunity to accommodate you, in order to recover your trust in our hotel and provide you with the best of our attention to make your stay a memorable and very special experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Looking at some of the comments on here i must have been to another hotel. We stayed in room 307 B block the room was not very big but what do you want to do ballroom dance. The room was very up to date and the decor looked as though it had just been done. The tv was from the dark ages, i have thrown better in the bin. The maid service was great they made the beds up in a different design everyday. The Hotel was very clean. Reception staff were all very friendly and sorted any problem out. As for the lifts i never felt anything at all. The breakfast was ok but it was not very hot at times. Dinner you had a good choice something for everyone. They cooked a fish and 2 meats fresh on the hot plate. It could be a bit noisey but if you ask for a room overlooking the pool and gardens it minimises the problem.

Room Tip: Ask for pool and garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Graham P,

Thank you for have given us the opportunity to welcome you at the Sol Tenerife.

In addition, we really appreciate your comment because it teaches us how to enrich our services day to day and, furthermore, it helps us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests. Looking forward to welcome you again in the Sol Tenerife to provide you with the best of our attention for recover your trust in us and make your stay an unforgettable and very special experience.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

just back from this hotel an its a complete rundown joke. rooms the size of a shoe box.tv is stil the original one from 1979 when the hotel opened, lifts feel like they bounce of the walls in block b..an I aint joking.breakfast was cold huge choice but really was like being back in a school canteen,just not enjoyable everyone crammed in like a wwf royal rumble. one thing good I can say is the german receptionist named vesna is a pure joy always smiling an waving at everyone an even seen her dancing! but overall this place is overpriced and wont return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiggersaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Tiggersaur,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor!

We regret to see that the hotel services didn´t met your expectations. This is not the standard of service that we use to so rest assured that your feedback has been shared with all the staff in order to improve our service.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further assistance that you may need. Looking forward to have other opportunity to welcome you to the Sol Tenerife.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Overall the hotel was OK - good food - lovely pool and nightly entertainment. One super girl from outside Hamburg Germany called Tara - very friendly and very helpful.
Sadly the hotel was near a night club that went on until 6am every night and we were in Block B which was directly across from the night club and room was very dated.

Room Tip: Choose quiet room in block A with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Marian005,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Sol Tenerife.

We appreciate the time that you have taken to post your experience on Tripadvisor. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and it helps us to monitor the service we provide. Be assured, that your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Was clean and tidy, block a was better than block b. rooms in block b at least 15 years since they had a refurb.
All inclusive was poor, food was the same lunch and dinner and for 7 days.
It was cold or lukewarm at best and did not look good.
Best food was the snack bar
Pool area was adequate BUT as the hotel is popular with mainland Europe getting a sun bed was a joke. They were putting towels out before the teens got back from the bars. One morning I saw them putting towels out at 5am!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pawsonjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Pawsonjp,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Sol Tenerife. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sol Tenerife, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,870 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,460 reviews
0.6 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing