We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sol Tenerife
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

It's a struggle not to give it 1. Room was ok. Really noises from the pubs next door. Reception staff weren't great and would talk to each other while you stood there and waited for them to finish. One day there was a group of young guys at the pool drinking with blow up dolls and were not asked to get rid them which was not suitable for what was supposed to be a family hotel

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2Stuffed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Pat O ,

Thank you for writing your impressions about your stay.

We are very sorry that you left our hotel with such a negative impression. We are having meetings with the town council reporting this situation and we expect that bars and discos respect noise level law/regulations and respect hotel guest’s rest. That group had to be a stag party but if it happens we will ask them to get rid of them for respect to others guests.

Once again thank you for writing and we remain at your disposal.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    1,038
    767
    384
    298
See reviews for
521
1,557
122
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just spent a week at the hotel (5 October - 12 October). The location is great. Plenty of bars, restaurants, close to the sea. Hotel itself is fine, clean, plenty of variety of food which is good. We worried about the noise but it is in the centre but we didn't have a problem. Overall great holiday.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jeanette B,

Thank you so much for your review about your stay in October.

We are very pleased to know that you had great holiday and enjoyed our hotel for its location, cleanness and food.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TENERIFE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Winderfull food, great location, very kind and helpfull staff especially Vesna slovenian girl who worked at reception

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank NENAD J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear NENAD J ,

Thank you so much for your review about your stay .

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy our hotel for its location, our food and our staff who try to be always helpful with our guests. We have transmitted you comments to Vesna.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Staid here in 2nd October for 1 week after reading reviews i was terrifed of getting robbed.Got a safe for ten euros for the week and had no probs.Hotel is immaculate good cleaners,foods ok not brill but if you cant find anything to eat your a freak,what do you expect for the money you pay.The Easteren Europeans liked it that much they were filling there bags with it for later .Now the rooms thats a different matter you can hear everything people snoring,talking etc etc i dont now if it was because i think my room was split into two at one time and there was a set of dividing doors between them with an inch gap at the bottom.My remedy to this was to get a good nights bevy into me and didnt really bother me that much,the staff were all pleasent and the pool areas nice.Fridge in room,hairdryer but no iron and they dont have one in reception you can borrow .DONT BE PUT OFF YOUR HOLIDAYS WHAT YOU MAKE OF IT.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pony2027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear pony2027,

thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your comments about our staff, especially about our cleaners.

Once again thank you for writing your comments.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I came back from staying here a couple of weeks ago for a week. staff seemed friendly and room seemed ok, but thats where my good experiance of the hotel finished.

Most the all inclusive drinks are watered down
Breakfast was horrid, the english options was pants as only has sausages 1 day out of 7!!

The maides are thieves, before going i read up a few reviews on trip advisor on the hotel and noticed most people saying to watch the maiders as they steel your money etc, i has the DO NOT DISTURB sigh on most the time while staying, but needed my sheets changing so on this particular day i took this off. I had 60 euros in my draw and counted it before i went for breakfat, when i returned 20 of it has been taked and the room cleaned. I confronted the maid who denied it, i went and spoken to the hotel managed, who was friendly but offered no solution at all apart from call the police. (last thing anyone wants to do while on holiday)
Yes it was only 20 euroes, however it was the princible of it and thought he may of offered a complimentary drink or anything!!

IF YOU DO STAY HERE DO NOT LEAVE ANYTHING WORTH MONEY IN YOUR ROOM!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear mike w ,

thank you for leaving your impression about our hotel.

We apologize if you left our Hotel with such negative impression, especially when your comments about your stay could have been transmitted to us personally and were not done.

Our all inclusive includes local drinks but in any case we do not water down any drink. For international drinks we offer a gold all inclusive that includes most of the drinks that we have available in our bars and restaurant.

At breakfast we offer different products in a daily basis such as sausages, bacon, beans, fried eggs, pastries, several kind of bread , cereals, fruits … in order to satisfy all our guest’s tastes .

Regarding to your comment about your counted money, If something would have been stolen inside the hotel, it must be reported to the police although It were last thing anyone wants to do while on holiday because they are the authority to investigate what happened and people should not be accused or confronted without evidences and mainly when they are working. In any case we do not give money, compensations or complimentary services to some people who have mentioned it. Furthermore, we would like to remind you that in your room you had a safe at your disposal.

Once again thank you for writing and we hope see you soon in Sol Tenerife.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a room facing the sea, the view was very nice. Just one plug socket in the room. Very close to the beach. No parking spaces in the hotel parking, but I was lucky to find nearby where to park the rented car. The room was very small and hadn't a carpet on the floor. The breakfast was so and so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ioan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Ioan P,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time in writing your impressions with others users as a Senior Contributor about your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rushden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

was very worried after reading the reviews but got there and was amazed, we got a room facing the sea the view was amazing, went all inclusive, food was really nice with lots of choice and lots of pasta which was perfect for me, loved how they all stand in row to greet you when you walk in restaurant. entertainment was great had a brilliant Chinese circus act really enjoyed then, strip was loud but after a few drinks you cant hear it anyway but if u don't like noise then its simple you shouldn't stay in this hotel. my one and only bad point is wish there was more English channels and should really have flat screen tvs for a 4star but id say there rest of hotel is 4star! all staff very polite and helpful no problems what so ever.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanneRushden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear joanneRushden,

We kindly would like to thank you for the time you have spent to share your comments on this website with others users and for having chosen our hotel to spent your holidays, even when you were worried after reading some reviews in this forum.

Thank you for your positive comments about our team, our food and our entertainment. Your comments about TV and TV channels are very helpful for us in order to improve our service and facilities in a near future.

Once again thank you for taking your time in publishing your comments and we look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#17 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,732 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#21 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing