We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont stay”
Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont stay”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

i dont know what hotel the peaple are writing about, its not the sol tenerife i was booked into!. The rooms are small shabby cells. I went all inclusive what a joke only allowed to have one drink then return 15 min later this was ontop of queing at the pool bar, witch is only at night no lounge to sit and drink . restrant is a cafe not what i would call 4 star no table cloths rude waiters cant get a drink untill they want to get it for you. so might not get one with meal again not what 4 star .food cold . threre was 4 in our party if you do go to this hotel you will be very dissapointed not a 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolmfj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear malcolmfj ,

thank you for publishing your comments about your stay in our Hotel.

We are very sorry that you left our Hotel with such a negative impression.Unfortunately we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and would like to apologize for it.
We are controlling food temperature in every service to guarantee it is kept as must be in a buffet. In summer we organize shows at the pool area due to good weather and after summer we do our shows in the lounge bar.

Once again thank you for writing and we look forward to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    1,171
    829
    416
    326
See reviews for
597
1,743
138
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Don't normally leave reviews but I am doing with this hotel stayed here for a week from 18th - 25th august all inclusive originally booked another hotel but after reading reviews about it went back to the travel agents 3 days before we left and asked to change hotels had to pay an extra £400 to change though! Arrived at 10pm and got told restaurant was closed so had to eat out on first night, got given room 1155 faced straight on to Veronicas didn't get to sleep until 2 and was wide awake at 6, asked if we could hire the safe but someone had taken the key home with them so the staff did everything they could and moved us to 1106 (they even let us look at it before we took it) was so much quieter than the other room. The rooms and every where in the hotel were spotless got fresh towels everyday and our bedding changed half way through the week (hire a safe so you know your belongings will be ok) didn't have no cockroaches in our room and didn't see any in the hotel only a few near the trees and some dead in the street (Esperanza think that's how you spell it) was a lovely cleaner she didn't want us to leave and also Vero behind the reception is very helpful and always smiling and went out of her way to change us to another room and also let us have a meal before we left because we didn't get one when we arrived. All other staff are nice and friendly and smiley though and we didn't experience any bad customer service. When it comes to the food side of things what a massive let down don't really get your moneys worth for all inclusive we eat out last 3 days of our holiday and its really cheap to eat out sprouts and peas and chips must be from the night before for breakfast as well as cereals, toast and what looked like uncooked sausages one morning we slept in and went to mcds for breakfast they was loads to choose from on an evening but it was lukewarm only thing that was warm was the soup and chips and snacks if you want eat pizza all time then this is the hotel for you but had to pay extra for other snacks which I thought you would get free with been all inclusive! If you stay and watch the entertainment on a night be prepared to que and sign your name and room number every time you get a drink but apart from the food which is a downside we enjoyed our stay and if this was the only hotel available if I went back to Tenerife I would stay in it but not all inclusive its a waste of money! Have a good holiday :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank youngsquiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear youngsquiff,

We thank you for publishing your experience about your stay in August with us.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy your stay for our facilities and particularly for our cleaning service in our rooms. Also that you found our friendly and smiley staff, especially Vero at the Reception and Esperanza in our Housekeeping Department.

Look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Hotel is excellently located oceanfront, near Troya beach. Has 3 pools, tennis court, market, parking (about 30 seats) etc. .. Rooms are large, the bathroom also, fridge, LCD TV, balcony with superb views. Breakfast is very good for the price paid. Nearby are shops, dozens of terraces, electronic stores, cigarettes, perfumes, alcohol prices down the open without charge. Negative I could mention the proximity of clubs, making music to resonate until 5 am, we are not bothered, was staying on the 11th floor of roads and tired during the day. For a holiday at a good price, definitely worth it!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adano11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Adano11,

thank you for sharing your experience about your stay in our Hotel.

We appreciate your comment about value for money.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

Myself and a few friends just had a 3 night stay in the Sol Tenerife and if I'm honest we didn't spend much time in the place itself. I requested rooms on a high floor in Tower B (away from Veronicas bars) and got it but only after alot of confusion over the booking at check-in. The hotel lobby and reception is presentable but nothing special, the rooms were the same. Food wise was a similar story, the usual as you'd find in a thousand hotels across Spain. It was okay but nothing to write home about. We didn't stay in the hotel at night so cannot comment on the entertainment at all, we didn't even use the pool. What this hotel has got going for it is it's location, if you want nightlife (as we did) this is perfect, if you want the beach (Troya beach) its on the doorstep. Above all else it was cheap! As mentioned I was away on a lads weekend and the Sol Tenerife served its purpose but I would not visit with my wife and kids!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMag35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear DanMag35,

thank you so much for your review about your stay in August.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy our hotel for its location and you had a nice lads weekend.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here from 18th-21st of August after moving from a terrible hotel. Rooms were great, breakfast was lovely but it was very very noisey.

Our room looked out onto the sea which was beautiful but also onto the Veronica strip. 4am and i was wide awake unable to sleep due to the noise.
If you are staying here perhaps get a room at the other side or take ear plugs!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Carrie477,

thank you for posting your experience about your stay in August.

It is nice to know that you liked our room and breakfast.

If you wish, for next time you can send us a request to ask for a specific room location.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is fantastic,the staff are excellent,right from reception to the entertainment staff..the pools are well maintained and the hotel itself is always spotlessly clean..I can't say enough about how good a feeling there is throughout the hotel,and I wish I'd found it when my own children were young,they would have loved the attention that the entertainment staff show all the kids..it's in a great place,by the beach and shops and I would recommend this hotel to both young and old..am definitely going to go back again

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Simon,

thank you so much for writing a review about your experience in Sol Tenerife.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy facilities also that our staff has helped to have an excellent holiday. We have transmitted your comments about their attention to our entertainment staff.
Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I read all the reviews before setting off to the Sol Tenerife and admit I was a bit apprehensive. I should not have been. Room spotless, nothing went missing from the room. Food excellent. Pools clean and with lifeguard. Plenty of entertainment laid on during the day. Night time entertainment certainly not 4* but all the team tried hard. The only fault is that the pool bar was usually only staffed by one person during the day and a couple at night, queuing for drinks at night was quite painful. I had asked for a quet room and got one, so no complaints there either.

Room Tip: I had a room in Tower A on the 6th floor,south side and did not hear anything from the Veronicas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel12T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo G, Director General at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Hazel12T,

We kindly would like to thank you for the time you have spent to share your comments on this website with others users and for having chosen our hotel to spent your holidays, even when you were apprehensive for the stay .

Thank you for your comments about entertainment and bar service. It is very helpful for us in order to improve our service.

Once again thank you for taking your time in publishing your comments and we look forward to welcome you again in a near future.

Kind regards,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,910 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#39 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing