We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“honest review”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sol Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sol Tenerife
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“honest review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here with 3 of my girlfriends from September 1-8th 2011 and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and was exactly what we had expected. Having stayed in a number of 4-5 hotels there are a few pointers I would give to prospective guests.

Location
The hotel is situated about 100 metres from the nightlife which continues to approximately 6am. For this reason the hotel is in a fantastic location for groups of friends or couples looking to go out until the early hours. While the noise is not particularly bad in the rooms which face away from the 'strip', generally speaking I would not recommend this hotel for couples or family seeking a relaxing time and uninterrupted sleep. It should be noted however that the entertainment in the hotel itself does continue until midnight.

Rooms and Facilities
The less than positive reviews for this hotel mention its star rating. In the Canary Islands a 4* hotel is not what most Brits would class as 4* - this goes for 90% of the hotels I have stayed in whilst in the Canaries. Therefore I would urge people looking for 4* luxury to look into the 5* and 5*+ hotels on the Island. The Sol Tenerife is good 3* star hotel, those who rate this hotel 2* have clearly never had the unfortunate experience of staying in in one!

The rooms are clean and tidy, with fridge and hairdryer and plenty of mirrors! The maids were fantastic and maintained high standards throughout our stay. Rooms are cleaned and towels changed daily and bedding changed every second day.

There are two pool areas and small childrens pool - we never had any problem securing sun loungers throughout the day. There is also a large reception with couches if you get too hot!

Food
The major downside to this hotel is the bands you have to wear even if you are only half board, however you get over the fear of tan lines pretty quickly! For lunches, there is a gate at the pool area which takes you onto the promenade where there are plenty of restaurants for lunch at very cheap prices. There are plenty of restaurants close by in Las Americas and food, even with the Euro exchange rate, is very cheap.

The food in this hotel was good/average, though the Sol Tenerife still provided excellent range of choice and local dishes - Typical Spanish style buffet. (buffet went on until 9.30pm for late eaters)

General Notes
Like every hotel drinks are expensive, though there is a small shop attached to the hotel and a spar across the road, so water or alcohol can be purchased there.

The nightlife in Las Americas is great for 20+, plenty of bars and clubs without the club18-30 vibe. While the strip is close to the hotel the area itself is well maintained and clean during the day for those who are worried about that.

Families and couples looking to relax should try the quieter areas of Tenerife such as Los Christianos or Costa Adeje. Like every hotel stay do your research before booking so you know what to expect - something which I think some people who have rated this hotel have forgotten to do.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaurenHurcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear LaurenHurcombe,

It has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and that our hospitality reached your expectations.

We were delighted to read that you have been overall impressed with the quality of our service. Your kind comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards that you have experienced during your stay with us.

Our appreciation again for sharing your experience, and we hope next time you come to Tenerife you may come for leisure and you spend more days with us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    1,075
    784
    394
    302
See reviews for
543
1,596
126
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sol Tenerife from the 2nd to the 11th September 2011.
We booked online, and used TripAdvisor to guide us to the best hotel on a budget.

The hotel is situated 100 metres from the start of the club/bar 'strip' and as such is in the direct path of the sonic boom that drifts from the aforementioned clubs/bars, which all compete at who has the loudest bass box.
If you're going for the clubs, this really is the best hotel for you!!!

Rooms
There are rooms that overlook the strip, and initally we were checked-in to one of these rooms. We lasted 1 night before requesting to move as our delicate little ears were sensative to the 1million decibel bass boom the continues to flow from the clubs/bars until 6am, every. bloody. morning!
The hotel staff were very accomodating to our request and moved us the very next morning after our arrival. (Judging by the list on the reception desk, we were not the only ones to request a room change).
We moved to a pool and sea view room, which was spacious, super clean and with the doors closed was quiet. The beds were a little hard - but we had clean sheets everyday, along with new towels and full room cleaning. Aircon is a little touch and go - although this may have been just our room, but it seemed to turn off at 1am and didn't restart until around 5am - which is odd, and hot!
To end the rooms, although clean and tidy, do not expect a 4* hotel room - think more along the lines of a 2*.

Food and drink

We were half board and to be honest, this suited us fine. Breakfast and Dinner provided with lots to choose from, ranging from fresh pancakes, bacon, sausages and eggs etc, along with continential breakfasts to many euopean dishes for dinner with fresh meats, chicken, turkey, pork and a variety of fish. All this said, the food is bland and is a little repetative, but filling all the same.
Drinks are expencive from the hotel, like all hotels with a half pint of beer costing 2.50Euros and a small bottle of water costing 2Euros.
We bought water and other drinks from the Spar shop across the road and saved a fortune! A 1litre bottle of Smirnoff vodka cost 10Euros.
To end the food section, not what you'd expect from a 4* hotel - more like that 2* I mentioned before!

Hotel

Dated but clean and tidy. 3 swimming pools, pleanty of sunbeds and activities throughout the day organised by hotel staff, (water polo, vollyball, aqua gym etc)
The grounds are a great sun trap, getting sun all day long, with a gentle breeze which makes tanning even better!
Nightly entertainment, ranging from 'Greased Lightning' to 'Fashion Show' - none of which we bothered with, but pleanty of people seemed to enjoy it, or at the very least watched it with occasional whooping and clapping...
In all, this hotel is not a 4* as advertised on its website, hotel building, annoying wristband, menus and any other Sol Tenerife paraphernalia that reminds you that you booked a 4* hotel and got a 2*....although the price you paid for it will probably reflect this! Don't be fooled into thinking your getting a super-dooper deal on a 4*, like we did!

Overall hotel/holiday expereience.
Even though I've complained, maybe unfairly so towards this hotel - our stay was made comfortable by friendly and polite staff and amazingly hot weather! We relaxed, did our own thing and enjoyed what Tenerife has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask to move from the club side of the hotel, which I'm sure every gets checked into a one stage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear AdamM,

We really appreciate your kind comment and the time that you have taking to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

It is a great pleasure for us to know how your stay was because it teaches us how to enrich our services day to day and, furthermore, it helps us with our continuing effort to improve the services quality for our guests because our principal aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests.

Hoping we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in the Sol Tenerife and return your trust in us to make your stay an unforgettable experience!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last October, we arrived quite late at night and the staff on reception were quite good, apart from they didn't give us our all inclusive bands so when we went to get a drink at the bar we were stared at like we were ediots, we went back to reception and asked and they gave us the bands straight away.
We got to our room and we were shocked, it was nothing like it said when we booked it, we booked a sea view double room, we were on the ground floor so our view from the balcony was a wall.... The beds were litrelly two single beds pushed together, so when you layed in them they would move apart from each other. We went down to reception and complained, and was promised a new room the next dat, we went back the next day and they just kept saying come back tomorrow, in the end we gave up and just put up with it. The cleanliness of the rooms were ok, bed sheets were not changed once in th 10 nights we were there, fresh towels every day, floors were sweeped, but there was cobwebs on the walls. The food was not great, breakfast was the worst, everything was soggy and tasted disgusting, lunch and dinner just seemed to be the same every day, not much choice, same with the afternoon snack bar, it was the same stuff every day, in the end we decided to go else where for food.
The entertainment was ok, different things every night, from karaoke to disco to tribute acts.
The location was perfect, walk out the back of the hotel theres shops, bars, resturants, mini golf, and best of all the beach. The most helpful bit was there was a hut on the beach, and a man you could talk to and book all your excursions with, he was very helpful and would advise you on the best places to go, we did Siam Park, Loro Park, Mount Teide and a boat trip, all were very good.
The sleep quality was ok, we were right above the resturant so could here banging and staff talking untill about 11pm at night, and from about 6am in the morning, also could hear the clubs quite loudly, but that's something you choose if you want a hotel on the strip of clubs.
Swimming pool was clean, and very enjoyable, was quite hard getting a sun bed every day, you would have to get there quite early in the morning if you wanted a good spot.
We wouldn't reccomment this hotel, we had a look around and there seemed to be alot nicer hotels around for around the same cost.
The location and weather was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatyN93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear KatyN93,

On behalf of myself and all the staff of the Sol Tenerife, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Tenerife, as well as for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, thanks to them we continously strive to strengthen the points that need to be improved, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Looking forward that new opportunity we ramain at your complete disposal

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

staff amaizing! every night show 22h + dances food good. clean, we stayd for 7days enjoy every min, very hot +33. was first holiday abroad and very happy to come back again! thank u all staff members for such a pleasent time!

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaJurene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear KristinaJurene,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Sol Tenerife for your stay in Tenerife.

We highlight appreciate the time that you have taken to share your experience with us and other guests through TripAdvisor because we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. We are very glad to know that you have enjoyed our hotel and all the attention and service that we provide.

Looking forward to welcome you in a near future, I remain at your complete disposal.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for a week in April.
The hotel is quite old in the room it is noticeable. Bad soundproofing in the room. Our room overlooks the Veronicas so we listened to music without leaving the room until 5 am which of course is not very good.
Breakfast like a great selection of tasty dishes all. Good area with swimming pool.
Near the hotel bus stop at Siam Park
The hotel for active unpretentious people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lecherep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Lecherep,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Sol Tenerife for your holidays.

On the other hand, we really apreciate the time that you have taken for tell us about your stay with us because your opinions and comments are helpful to us for improving our service and for achieve our guest satisfaction. Hoping we will have another opportunity in welcoming you to Sol Tenerife for provide the best of our attention to you.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

all i can say is sol tenerife is not at all what i expected, me my boyfriend and our friends (22-30 year olds) arrived quite late and check in was super quick, hotel lobby was clean and comfortable along with the rooms which were cleaned every day with fresh towels, even the balcony was swept! i would recommend going all inclusive as drinks can add up even if drinking coke ect just a note though not every drink wise is included in all inclusive. we had no problem with noise but we were lucky as we were put around the back of the hotel (rooms 862 and 863) we had music/singing from leonardoes but they shut at 2 so no real drama there. so now the food the only meal we didnt enjoy was breakfast but we always went down late so maybe the earlier the better! food is repeated but there is that much choice you cant complain as you can choose a different meal each night and the food is lovely. if all inclusive you have the treat of the snack bar, we wished we had left breakfast and used this as they had lovely toasted sandwiches and burgers so theres a tip! entertainment was brill and would recommend staying here, the only complaint and its really daft was the lack of plug sockets, i found my self drying and straightening my hair in the bathroom not the safest of places but honestly thats the only let down!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Katie A,

Warm greetings from the Sol Tenerife!! We hugely appreciate your kind and sincere words because for us your feedback is very important. Your comments help us to improve day to day to provide the best service to our guest. Thank you again for your kind rewiew and we hope to see you again in Tenerife.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Me and my boyfriend have just got back from 9 nights at sol Tenerife. We really enjoyed our stay, we had a problem with our room on the first night however the staff were great and moved us the next day.

We payed for half board and really enjoyed the breakfast they offered, dinner cuisine varied every night and you had lots to pick from!

The hotel is located right next to the clubs, but at night time the noise isnt bad aslong as the balcony doors shut.

We would recommend the travellers rest bar, located right near the hotel. €1.50 a pint. Football for the
Lads aswell.

We are going bk to Tenerife next year, but probably wnt return to sol Tenerife.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos F, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Tenerife, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Scarll,

First of all I would like to thank you for having given us the opportunity to accommodate you in the Sol Tenerife.

Also, I would like to thank you for such positive feedback about your stay with us. We are really pleased that you have had an impressive stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

We will be delighted to welcome you back and provide you our best to make your stay an amazing experience. I remain at your complete disposal.

With best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ole Tropical
Hotel Ole Tropical
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#28 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
0.3 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#18 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Tenerife

Property: Sol Tenerife
Address: Avda Rafael Puig Lliviana S/N, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#23 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 522
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 3 minutes walk from the beach. Sol Tenerife is located 200 m from the beach in Tenerife's Playa de las Américas Resort. It offers 3 outdoor pools with sun loungers, a tennis court and rooms with a furnished balcony with partial or frontal sea views. The air-conditioned rooms at Hotel Sol Tenerife feature tiled floors and cheerful colours. They are equipped with satellite TV, fridge, desk and chair. The private bathrooms come with a hairdryer. There is free Wi-Fi available in the rooms. The hotel has a kids' club, hairdresser and supermarket on site. Sports facilities include a volleyball court and a small football pitch. There is also a massage service. The Tenerife Sol's restaurant serves international buffet meals. There are also 2 bars, including a poolside bar. Las Américas Golf Course is 500 m away from the hotel. Tenerife Sur Airport is 14 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Tenerife Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing