We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Had a great holiday this hotel was lovely, we booked b/b and had a 3rd floor sea view room. It was breath taking!! Breakfast was very good, the choices were great and everything was hot, really loved the eggs to order! It was a good area for eating out, nice bars and shopping. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sexybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your short and positive review.

i´m really glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will be happy to welcome you again in the near future.

Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    857
    1,066
    606
    215
    150
See reviews for
881
1,412
52
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I felt the Hotel was in between Average and Very good - so good!

the hotel was clean and well run. it was myself and my partners birthday and they gave us an extra added touch of bubbles and cake for breakfast.

the breakfast was average in terms of quality but excellent in terms of quantitiy. there was everything from fruit to chicken nuggets........

the pool area is perfectly place to get maximum sun and the pool was clean.

overall i didnt feel the hotel was a London 5 star but more 3 to 4. the gym you needed to pay for and in most 5 star it is free. I was unable to get WiFi in my room but could get it across the road in the restaurant!!

I would stay here again as i felt its pretty much the best Tenerife has to offer in Play Americas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive review.

I´m happy to know that you have enjoyed our services and I hope to solve the wifi issue soon so that all our guests can enjoy a better signal inside the rooms.

Nothing will please us more than welcoming you again in future visits to Tenerife. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

As always location is always my priority. Who wants to spend half your holiday on public transport travelling to the place you want to be? This hotel is on the beach. You literally go out of the garden, across the pedestrianized promenade, which is flat and goes for miles in either direction, and there is the beach. We came as a couple last year and enjoyed eating out in the dozens of little restaurants along the 'stretch' each evening. This year I've come alone and had half-board. This has been fine for me as I've felt very safe just walking upstairs after dinner. Food is just like any other hotel, pretty standard and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Pool-side noisy, mountainside much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrejusFrejus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m glad to read that our services and facilities have been up to your expectations, as well as the hotel location.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

Do not hesitate to check the best promotions on our web page.

Warnest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We have just returned from our 4th visit to this hotel and were disapointed. The hotel itself is as good as ever, however, the food at dinner has gone down considerably. We decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary here as we had always enjoyed everything about the hotel. We found the food to be unappertising, not very hot and not presented well. The only thing that was hot was that which was cooked on the grill whilst you were standing there and then the selection was limited to pork tenderlion, with beefsteak one night and then entrecot the next, then pork chop and then the next turkey escolope. The grilled fish comprised , dorada, groopa or swordfish, they did have grilled prawns and grilled salmon one other night but rang out of the salmon at 8pm (the dining room was open untll 9.45) The food on the so called carvery was also limited and only luke warm. On our anniversary night (we didn't go out because it was very very windy) we had cream of bird soup which tasted neither of chicken, turkey or anything else, then we plumped for the roast beef which was tough, chewy and tastless so we settled for ice cream. My husband and I are not fussy eaters and do like to be adventureous trying different things but we had spoken to quite a few other people who also had complained about the food at dinner in previous years leading them to go Bed and breakfast only. I have to agree the breakfasts were very good, especially having to cater for so many people. The staff are some of the friendliest we have ever met and we love the ambience of the hotel as well as the location. We did receive notification from our tour operator that they had down graded from 5 star to 4. Would we go back? yes, probably next year for my birthday and it would be B&B only. This time we didn't book a sea/pool view room which we regretted as the mountain view rooms can be very noisy from the road noise and as it was very windy we couldn't sit on the balcony (not the hotels fault) people watching. The safe was free as was the wifi. It was a shame that the hotel appear to be cutting costs and there was no maitre D' so there didn't appear to be anyone in overall charge for any complaints, however that said, the dinning room staff worked very hard with always a smile.

Room Tip: Sea view or pool view are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwendoline030645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to read that our buffet service has not met your expectations. We always adapt our offer to the petitions expressed by our guests at our quality questionnaires and your comments will be registered for future changes.

I will also share your suggestions with our kitchen team. Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

We will be happy to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I found the location and hotel very nice however I had two complaints which had a big impact on our holiday.
1. Breakfast - this was average at best. Fresh fruit was limited and not the juicy ripe fruit I had envisioned. Fruit was not fresh. Bread selection was ok. Salad selection was OK. Cooked food selection was low quality. There was all you could drink Cava so we enjoyed that the first morning but that was it. Coffee was not good.
2. Wifi - wifi connection was terrible. It meant I had to pay for roaming to check my e-mails etc. for a 5* hotel, the least I expected was Wifi!!!

Other than this, location was nice, pool was nice, staff were fine, room was fine. V clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maeve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments.

I´m sorry to read that some aspects of our service and facilities have not been up to your expectations.

We are now installing a new wifi system and this is the reason for the problems you encountered during your stay. the purpose of this change is to improve the speed and quality of the signal received inside the rooms. Please, accept my most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a relaxing week here, we found the staff friendly and the hotel comfortable but a little frayed. Half board food was excellent but self serve and a little like a canteen. In short no longer 5* but the location and price give value for money

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you veyr much for your comments.

I´m happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will soon carry out a full room refurbishment and I hope that you will have the chance to visit us once it is done.

I suggest you to visit our web page for any information on special promotions and availability.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDDERSFIELD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Upon arrival we were met with a glass of champagne or cava which was lovely. The reception staff were really pleasant and helpful. The hotel itself is beautiful and clean. The food, there is plenty of choice for everyone, if you can't find anything that you like, you are too fussy.
Perfect location, loads of shops, bars and restaurants across the road.
Some of the reviews I read before I came said you had to leave big bags outside the restaurant, there was non of that, there were plenty of empty sun beds , yes lots were reserved but lots were not too.
The negatives - the rooms are a bit tired and need updating, but then again we only slept in the room. We would have liked a kettle in the room, but again that didn't spoil our holiday. The biggest negative for us was the uncomfortable bed !!!!!!!!! I have slept on better beds in a premier inn!!!!
If you want to look around for some rust and a cracked tile I'm sure you may find them, this was a very good hotel for a fly and a flop week for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VEEHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing here your nice comments.

I´m happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will take good note of your suggestions.

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in future visits to Tenerife. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for special promotions and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
2,871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
587 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#8 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Expo Hoteles, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing