We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Tenerife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good but not 5 star”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights, advertised as 5 star but 25 year old rooms! Staff excellant though and food excellant. Private beach is great benefit. Hotel decor is all black and white. The wood facing on bedroom door was broken and pulled off, some broken tiles on floor, slight smell in toilet. But cleaned properly every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Diana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I hope that you have enjoyed our services during your stay.

We know of the need of a room updating that will be carried out soon and will solve the little issues caused by the age of the hotel.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future. Do not hesitate to contact us through our web page for anything you need. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    1,054
    602
    214
    149
See reviews for
866
1,403
51
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (733)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Having spent the fist seven days of our holiday at another hotel we decided to extend our stay in Tenerife for a couple of more days. We got a great B&B two night deal at The Mediterranean Palace. Not quite the advertised 5 star, that is the hotel itself. However Davids welcome, attitude and service on check-in was better than 5 star plus . The very welcome glass of bubbly on arrival and Davids really friendly welcome put our previous hotel to shame.
A well laid out and relaxing hotel celebrating its 25th anniversary was a very much enjoyable experience. Our first floor pool view room, was very well appointed with the bathroom facilities being the highlight. Breakfast although buffet service hac plenty of choice and well presented right through until 10.30 am.
For location, value, service and overall experience we could not fault this hotel and will most certainly seriously consider for a longer stay if we visit Tenerife again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid lower floor rooms above the hotels main entrance as these are facing a quite busy inter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting here your short but positive review.

I´m happy to know of your satisfaction with our service, specialy thanks to the profesionalism and helpfullness of David. I will pass him your congratulations.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you for a longer stay. you can check prices and availability at our web page.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Just spent two weeks bed and breakfast here booked when we were offered 25% discount as part of the 25 year celebration and it was terrific value for money. The hotel was very busy, as was the whole of Las americas / Los christianos with cafes, restaurants throughout the resort enjoying good trade the two weeks we were there. The location of the Mediterranean palace is fantastic and does account for much of the satisfaction received, however the friendliness of the staff was also good throughout our stay. The rooms are in need of refurbishment, outdated television compared with the Costa adeje gran readily springs to mind but we don't go to Tenerife to watch television so it's not a big problem for us. The basic facilities are catered for with plenty of hot water in the mornings and throughout the day. We stayed in a sea view room this time as apposed to a pool view room and were disappointed. A high pool view is as good as a sea view at lower cost. Overall though the price of this holiday at the Med. palace was far cheaper than any of similar comparable hotels we looked at before booking and overall it was a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level pool view, it's as good as sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skizzlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments here on TripAdvisor.

I´m glad to know that you have enjoyed our facilities and surroundings during your stay.

We are aware of the need of a room refurbishment that we will certainly carry out as soon as possible.

We will be pleased to welcome you again in the future. You can visit our web page for any information on prices or availability or any other querie you might have.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Returned from a weeks holiday at half term and we were apprehensive given the negative comments we had read, all of which can probably be justified if you are exceptionally discerning and expecting the very highest standards, which I suppose 5 stars may imply. All the facilities / experience we had were good or very good except perhaps the evening entertainment which in my view was not great but equally not poor. This probably explains the low audience numbers but so would the fact that everything else outside the hotel is so convenient.
All our experiences with the staff were great and the fitness / day time entertainment people were outstanding - my personal stars were Marina from day time entertainment and Toni on reception but picking these two out is a little harsh on the others. The weekly show put on by the hotel team is really amazing given they told us they are not professional artists
I'd say book with confidence unless you must have world class and then pay more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

I´m glad to know that in general terms, your stay with us has been positive.

I will pass your congratulations to the entire hotel team, specially to the persons mentioned by you, great professionals and much appreciated by both, guests and Management.

As you have experienced, there is nothing like one´s own opinion about things, as impressions may vary a lot from one guest to other.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information regarding future stays, as well as for contacting us for special requests. We´ll be glad to help you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had read the 'mixed' reviews on tripadvisor, and were a little apprehensive of our visit with low expectations particularly of the rooms. However, our fears were soon dispelled as the room was actually fine.Yes, they could do with renovating, but I have stayed in 5* hotels in Britain with far worse bedrooms. The balcony was safe for our son to play on (though could do with better cleaning), and there were nice touches like a bottle warmer in the room.
The hotel is celebrating it's 25th anniversary, and would have been incredibly impressive when first built, but the sheer size of it is still incredible, and our one year old son absolutely loved whizzing up and down in the glass elevators!
The kids club was great. It is clearly aimed at slightly older children than our toddler, but the staff were caring and kind, and we were struck by how clean all the facilities were - the soft play area was being cleaned thoroughly every day and was spotless.
Meal times are quite a sight/scramble. I was unimpressed with the food at first, but it seemed to get better as the week went on. It is busy, and they could possibly improve on quality if they reduced the variety on offer. We stayed on half board and breakfasts were a winner, whilst the evening meal had good and not so good days. One note though - they need to improve the hot water facilities at breakfast, the queues were huge and it took ages to fill a small pot of tea for one.
The location of the hotel is great. The beach outside the back is nothing special, but makes a great change swimming in the warm sea when you have had enough of the huge pool.
Getting a sunbed at the hotel was an issue. The hotel says it doesn't allow people to reserve beds, and will remove unattended towels, but we never saw this and it was being completely abused making it difficult to get two seats together in the sun unless you got there early.
There is plenty to see and do at the hotel, and enough outside to keep you interested if you venture out. The staff were friendly and helpful, and clearly enjoy working there.
We will be back - maybe not next year, but once our son is old enough to enjoy all the activities on offer at the kids club.

Room Tip: Room Tip: If you have a young child, take the standard room (not the pool side) as even though it lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SibboLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time invested on writing such a detailed comment about your recent stay with us.

I´m happy to know that our service and facilities have been better than you expected. As a big resort we try to please all different nationalities and tastes, which is not always easy.

I would also like to thank you for your suggestions regarding our breakfast buffet and sun bed service. I assusre you they will be taken into consideration.

On the other hand I appreciate your comments about our Kids Club, one of our main family services and much cared for by all of us.

We will be glad to welcome you whenever you wish. do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information or for contacting us. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2013

It was our 3rd visit in Mediterranean Palace and me are looking forward to return as soon as we can. The hotel has a great location with amazing pool and unbeatable sea views. Hotel staff are friendly and welcoming. Our speacial thanks to reception manager Eva Miro. On arrival we were given a room with air condition units next to us and it was quite noisy. After our conversation with the reception manager our room was immediately changed and upgraded with beatiful sea view.
During our stay we had a couple of small issues and Eva was allways very helpfull and everything was fixed on the spot. She really made our stay unforgettable. Liza

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosen-Veta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive post and for your nice words to our Head Reception Eva Miró.

I am sure that she will be pleased to know of your satisfaction with her service. she is an excellent professional and her attitude and helpfullness are much appreciated by all of us.

I am also glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay and that any issue has been immediatelly solved by our staff.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you again in the near future. Do not hesitate to contact me through our web page for any special request. I´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here many times and each time getting noticeably neglected. Not 5 star - room standards very poor. Broken hair dryer, damaged tiles in bathroom, holes in bath filled in, dirt on the back of doors, toilet leaking, no fan in bathroom for shower/condensation. Broken glass top on bedside table in bedroom - risk of cut for children. Broken furniture if outside bar area. Very slow service for a drink in evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHOctober2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for showing us your disappointment.

I´m very sorry to know that your recent experience with us has been so negative.

We always try to maintain the same standard of service although comments like yours show that we don´t always achieve this.

Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

Although you have expressed your intention of no returning, I would suggest you to visit ourweb page and consider the possibility or using other hotels within the resort, more modern and maybe more suitable to your likings. I would be pleased to assist you in future bookings.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#9 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#23 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expo Hoteles, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing