We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just love this Hotel”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our 6th visit to this Hotel. Have tried other hotels but always return to the Med Palace, Children meet up with friends who are also frequent visitors and have an amazing time. We love the location, the pool area, the friendly staff and excellent service. Yes the rooms could do with updating but they are clean and comfortable. Always meet up with lots of families who return time and time again. Just booked our easter break and really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allisonpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

We welcome many returning guests who have made friends with other guests during their various visits. With the time we are all becoming a big family, which is a pleasant experience for both, staff and guests.

I would also like to take the time to thank you for your loyalty, much appreciated.

We are very happy to know that we will have the pleasure of your company again next April. Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you need. As usual, we will make our best to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    878
    1,082
    620
    219
    156
See reviews for
904
1,436
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel for 8 nights for a friends wedding and were greeted at reception with a glass of champagne which was a nice touch. Our rooms were okay but definitely need a bit of updating to go along with the rest of the hotel.
The location is great with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops on your doorstep. There is quite a lot of noise at night especially if your room faces the street but we still managed to sleep fine.

Sun beds are relatively easy to get but during the time of year we went you can only really sit a certain side of the pool to get the sun! So you may want to head down early to grab one.

The main negative of the trip was problems with the lifeguards/security. There was a large number of us which kept growing as people arrived for the wedding throughout the week. The lifeguard seemed to think we didn't all belong there and frequently asked to see our room cards. We showed him straight away yet he still kept hanging around and asking others. He did this on numerous occasions resulting in us asking to speak to the manager. This is totally unacceptable and we were made to feel like yobs! We were not in the slightest being lary or outspoken so it was absolutely ridiculous. After being shown the room cards it should have been enough for the lifeguard/security to see that we were paying hotel guests and not some randomers off the street!! Guest which may I add brought an awful lot of business to the hotel considering how many there was of us!

Don't bother bringing lilos, balls, pool games as the lifeguard will blow his whistle at you and prevent the fun! The pool is huge so I can't really see why a lilo or ball would cause a problem.

The maids didn't really get round to tidying the rooms until about 4pm which is fine if the weather is good but difficult if you need to be in your room earlier. I appreciate it is a large hotel so perhaps more maids are required.

You have to pay to use the fridge in the rooms which is a bit silly considering it is supposed to be a 5* hotel and the fridge is empty.

Breakfast is good and lots to choose from.

Overall we had a good time in Tenerife and at the Mediterranean Palace it just needs a little bit of updating and the lifeguards being taught a lesson or two!


Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SimplyBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

As I explained to one of your colleagues, who also took the time to share here his impressions, any member of our staff would ever do anything to annoy a guests withount a justification.

Our security staff must take care of the hotel safety in all ways, and our rules are for everyone, including those about the use of lilos in the swimming pool, regulations imposed by the spanish laws that we must all respect.

This has never been a problem for any of our guests, as they understand the need of following certain rules to ensure that everyone feels confortable.

Regarding the room condition, we have the intention to carry out a full refurbishment soon and I hope you will be able to visit us once this has been done.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is our 5th visit (4th to Med Palace and 1x visit to Cleopatra), staff are friendly, location is superb.
Really hope the property is renovated before our next visit as other guests have said it is tired. It was nice to see the same familiar staff still working there.
I am a Business Travel Agent and wouldn't say the hotel is 5 star - I understand it has the facilities for a 5 star but I'd say its 4 star.

Repeated negative points from most current and previous stays:
* check in/out process can be very long - lengthy queues
* decor is ageing
* I dont think the allocation of rooms is considered - ie travelling with young children and being accomodated right above the main entertainment area is not suitable with loud noise until after 11pm each night (room 3045)
* in-room food/beverage menu is horribly overpriced and NOT competitive to local restaurants.

Repeated positive points from most current and previous stays:
* breakfast is brilliant - range, choice is fabulous - thats why the restaurant is SOO busy!
* New Thinking of You store offers good value for money on coffees, baguettes/ picnic boxes.
* Mercedes airport private transfer
* Room cleaning staff are lovely
* Aqua aerobics is a good laugh


Suggestions:

* name badges for staff
* really, really need more white seating/benches in the outdoor area of the kids club - slide/playframe and in the heated pool area. There has only ever been one seat to sit on!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squizb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for the time you´ve taken to write such a detailed report regarding your recent and past stays at our hotel, as well as for your suggestions on how to improve our service, much appreciated.

I will share your comments with my team, as I know they will make a good use of them.

We are aware of the need of a room refurbishment that hopefully we will carry out soon. At the moment we are in the middle of a new project that all our guests will be able to enjoy from the beginning of 2014.

We will be most pleased to welcome you again soon. Once again, let me thank you for your suggestions.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

First impressions were that this looks like a nice hotel; hotel lobby, exterior and pool areas looked quite pleasant. But, we then got to our room. It was small, unclean, had a dodgy lock on the patio doors and our view was terrible. The bed was like sleeping on wood and we barely slept all week. The rooms desperately require work.

The food was OK. There was plenty of choice and empty trays were quickly replenished, but the quality wasn't the best. Some things were better than others.

Our service at this hotel was awful. We were travelling as part of a large group for a wedding, but the staff were not bothered by the fact our friends had brought so much business their way that week. In fact, it was the opposite. As we were in such a large group we were often questioned by the lifeguards and hotel staff about if we were really staying at the hotel. On more than one occasion we were asked to show our room keys. We never saw them ask anyone else at the hotel outside of our group, but we were never loud or disruptive and did not deserve this discrimination. This was not good enough, and they didn't seem bothered that we had been offended by them constantly approaching us. We had paid good money just like everyone else.

The pool was nice, but don't go to this hotel if you are a family or in a group. You are not allowed to have fun in or around the pool unless its an organised activity by the hotel. The lifeguards do not allow inflatables, balls, toys or anything else fun in the pool. There is a tiny kids pool that allows this but there is no room for adults or older children to do anything. As an advertised 'family' hotel, it doesn't really cater for that fact. The only up sides were the football pitch, and the organised activities looked good for the kids.

The location is very good, and this has the potential to be a great hotel, but requires refurbishment in the rooms and some other places. The major change required is the staff's attitude towards the guests and the hotel's approach to providing good customer service.

Despite all this, we still had an amazing week in Tenerife; the wedding at a different hotel was fantastic, and we got to share the holiday with a lot of our friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etcetera13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to know that the quality of our service has not been up to your expectations.

For us, all guests are equally important, whether they come in groups or individually, and all are treated with the same care and attention by our staff.

This includes monitoring of safety standards throughout the building, especially in the pool area where the improper use of unauthorized items can be detrimental to the safety of other guests.

Although I do not know the circumstances, our security personnel only requires the identification of a host with good cause and never intending to cause any trouble, but to ensure that safety conditions are optimal within the resort.

I'm sorry this has caused you inconveniences and I offer you my deepest apologies for them.

I really appreciate your suggestions and promise to look into them to improve the points you mentioned.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have always had super service
Although decor throughout the hotel and rooms has become tired and dated ...we recognise the 25 years that they have been there and understand that there is a refurb programme planned.
Buffet breakfast was hectic and a bit like paddys market and a tad intimidating .... That said there was plenty of choice and food often replenished ... Loved the Cava to kick the day off!
Outside of that you cant beat the location which is between both the upmarket shops and the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

I´m happy to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and benefit from the hotel surroundings.

We have planned a full rooms refurbishment that hopefully we will be able to carry out soon.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you again soon. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arrived, checked in and took luggage to room which was on ground floor. As is normal for me, first thing I did was to open patio doors to let some air in and check out the view. Did not get as far as checking the view as first thing I noticed was that the patio door had been forced open and the metal-casing, that had once housed a lock was bent and distorted and the lock had been completely removed. Ground floor, easy access from car-park, no lock on patio door, I don't think so! Returned to reception and after my remonstrations (look-it-up) I was eventually give a new room on the 5th floor. Much better I thought, although the lock on the patio door had also been forced at some time in the past and it appeared possible to climb from balcony to balcony! The rest of the hotel, ambience and facilities were ok'ish.

Room Tip: Do not accept a ground floor room unless you have thoroughly checked the adequacy of security!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertN817699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

I was aware of this incident and as we could verify the lock was locked and had to be forced by our maintenance staff before your arrival to open the door. A new lock should have been placed before your check in. Unfortunately this was not done on time and as a result the lock was broken on arrival.

Please, accept my most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

I hope the rest of our services and facilities have pleased you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel yesterday. Me my husband and out 16 month old baby. Upon arrival we were given so terrible sparkling wine but my baby was given water in a champagne flute. When asked for a straw we were told they don't have straws.

Anyway. The room they have allocated us is terrible to say the least. It's so dated everything looks dirty, the tiles are cracked and move every step you take. We asked them to clean the room because it looks dirty. We we came back they had cleaned it but there was still hairs on the floor and even a safety pin :-(

The pool area is tired and grotty. I can not wait to leave to be honest. I would NOT recommend anyone coming to this hotel. It is not suitable for children unless you want them to have a dirty cot. Have the real possibility of cutting their feet on the dodgy tiles and be worried about touching things cause everything looks so dirty. Oh and did I say the room is the size of a postage stamp. Really unhappy here!!!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Kateb7122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to read that your first impressions has been so negative. I hope that the issues you have mentioned have been solved to your satisfaction.

Unfortunately the information you provide is not enough to contact you personally. However, do not hesitate to inform our staff of any aspect of our service that is not up to your expectations and they will do their best to improve your experience at our hotel.

Kind regards,


Esteban Sedano
General MAnager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,957 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Oro Negro
Catalonia Oro Negro
#19 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing