We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occasions and have always had super service
Although decor throughout the hotel and rooms has become tired and dated ...we recognise the 25 years that they have been there and understand that there is a refurb programme planned.
Buffet breakfast was hectic and a bit like paddys market and a tad intimidating .... That said there was plenty of choice and food often replenished ... Loved the Cava to kick the day off!
Outside of that you cant beat the location which is between both the upmarket shops and the beach.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

I´m happy to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us and benefit from the hotel surroundings.

We have planned a full rooms refurbishment that hopefully we will be able to carry out soon.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you again soon. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,664 - 1,670 of 3,133 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Arrived, checked in and took luggage to room which was on ground floor. As is normal for me, first thing I did was to open patio doors to let some air in and check out the view. Did not get as far as checking the view as first thing I noticed was that the patio door had been forced open and the metal-casing, that had once housed a lock was bent and distorted and the lock had been completely removed. Ground floor, easy access from car-park, no lock on patio door, I don't think so! Returned to reception and after my remonstrations (look-it-up) I was eventually give a new room on the 5th floor. Much better I thought, although the lock on the patio door had also been forced at some time in the past and it appeared possible to climb from balcony to balcony! The rest of the hotel, ambience and facilities were ok'ish.

Room Tip: Do not accept a ground floor room unless you have thoroughly checked the adequacy of security!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertN817699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment.

I was aware of this incident and as we could verify the lock was locked and had to be forced by our maintenance staff before your arrival to open the door. A new lock should have been placed before your check in. Unfortunately this was not done on time and as a result the lock was broken on arrival.

Please, accept my most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

I hope the rest of our services and facilities have pleased you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel yesterday. Me my husband and out 16 month old baby. Upon arrival we were given so terrible sparkling wine but my baby was given water in a champagne flute. When asked for a straw we were told they don't have straws.

Anyway. The room they have allocated us is terrible to say the least. It's so dated everything looks dirty, the tiles are cracked and move every step you take. We asked them to clean the room because it looks dirty. We we came back they had cleaned it but there was still hairs on the floor and even a safety pin :-(

The pool area is tired and grotty. I can not wait to leave to be honest. I would NOT recommend anyone coming to this hotel. It is not suitable for children unless you want them to have a dirty cot. Have the real possibility of cutting their feet on the dodgy tiles and be worried about touching things cause everything looks so dirty. Oh and did I say the room is the size of a postage stamp. Really unhappy here!!!!

Stayed: October 2013
9  Thank Kateb7122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m very sorry to read that your first impressions has been so negative. I hope that the issues you have mentioned have been solved to your satisfaction.

Unfortunately the information you provide is not enough to contact you personally. However, do not hesitate to inform our staff of any aspect of our service that is not up to your expectations and they will do their best to improve your experience at our hotel.

Kind regards,


Esteban Sedano
General MAnager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Its been quite a while since we were in Playa De Las Americas, about 12 years. We booked only 2 days before we were travelling due to having to cancel a cruise so we wanted to chose a name that we recognised. We hadnt stayed at this hotel before but remember walking past it many times and how impressive it looked.

Overall it is still quite impressive, certainly outside. The pool area is pleasant and well kept and the gardens are very nice but it is let down by the inside of hotel public areas are again dated with much black and white marble which just feels dated.

We had booked a standard double room with pool view but on arrival we upgraded to a suite which cost quite a lot of money. Space wise and with the double balcony it was fine but it just all felt old and a bit tacky. The bed was massive but very hard - we put blankets under the bottom sheet to soften it up a bit and thankfully after a couple of days the maid put us a mattress topper on the bed without our asking which was good.

The bathroom was spacious enough but still the awful black marble tiles and the bath just took forever to fill probably due to the water coming out of what looked like the overflow.

We got no special privileges or perks for the large extra charge for the suite which you can usually expect.

We booked on bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast was quite good with lots of choice and very helpful and pleasant staff. The reception staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

The entertainment programme left a great deal to be desired and made it very difficult for anyone to sleep much before 11pm as they had all the doors open to the entertainment room and due to the open design of the main hotel area with an atrium reaching up all 6 floors the horrible sound carried at full blast up to all the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't thing there is a way to choose a good room, sounds like they are all tired, including the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzifloozi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your opinion.

I´m sorry to read that our decoration is not up to your expectations although I hope you have found the service correct.

We intend to carry out a room refurbishment soon and update rooms to what a guest like you would expect.

The other two hotels within the resort have been recently updated and I invite you to visit our web page for more information and pictures, as well as prices and availability. You can also contact us for any assistance with future bookings.

Best regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just back from 10 days at this hotel. While the hotel bedrooms are in great need of refurbishment (dated and some repairs to showers etc required) I cannot let that take away from what is a great hotel. We did half board and were not disappointed. Food was excellent and there was always a great variety on offer. The staff at Reception, the Restaurant and in the Pool and Kids Club were fantastic. The Pool and Kids Club is great if you have a family as there are many activities on offer for both young and old. The kids took part in mini-golf and driving technique (they get a drivers licence on completion!) and for the adults there is a gym, dance and pilates classes (with the wonderful Marcia) and aqua aerobics daily (with gorgeous Cristina, who would inspire you to do the class everyday as she was full of energy, fun and my god could she move). The pool would be full each day for this class with both men and women, young and old so it worked for everyone. Its a pity the staff don't wear name badges as there are a few more people who I would love to mention as they went the extra mile to make you feel welcome, one was the Argentinian bar man in the Terraza Bar. During our stay the hotel put on a free show which was made up of hotel staff, it was thoroughly entertaining and we were treated to free drinks afterwards too. It made us as customers feel valued, which is a rarity these days. I will definitely be back and have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool are nicer but more expensive. however is you don't like noise they won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ao134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment about your recent stay with us.

I´m happy to know that you have enjoyed your holidays with us, specially thanks to the hard work of our entertainment team. Their dedication is much appreciated by all of us. I will pass them a copy of your comments so that they can enjoy them too.

I´m also glad to read that our staff show has pelased you.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon. Do not hesitate to contact us through our web page for anything you might need regarding future bookings. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We have just come back from a one week stay at the Mediterranean Palace and was disappointed with the standard of the room which was allocated to us. The rooms are tired and in need of immediate modernisation. We asked to view other rooms of a similar grade but these were equally as bad. The standard of accommodation was not what I expected for a hotel which is rated as 5 star. Compared to other 5 stars hotelswhich I have stayed in on other hotel resorts this would rate as 3 star.
The room was too small, there were no armchairs and table in the room, the furniture was old and the room was dominated by a high set of drawers with and old Grundig cathode ray tube TV planted on top of it. There were a number of cracked tiles on the floor, two broken tiles with sharp edges or tiles where the grout was missing leaving exposed edges creating a hazard and a risk of foot injury.
There are a few quirky points which I would not have expected to encounter in a 5 Star rated hotel. There was no tea/coffee facilities provided within the room rate but available at a charge of €5, there was a fridge but it was locked but would be made available for a daily fee of €2.85. There was a charge for ice! which is free in Travelodge!!

Other that the above the hotel is in a greate location, the staff at reception are good, the Customer Services are readily available and the chambermaids are first class.

Outside the room the hotel is good, breakfast is a feast but can be busy. The pool area is huge and ample sunbeds but the many cracked, loose or broken tiles with sharp edges arn't a good mix with bare feet....
The terrace overlooking the pool is excellent but the weaving on the rattan furniture is showing its age and has perished on all the tables at the time of our stay.
From the many similar comments posted to Tripadvisor if the management of the hotel don't get the mesage they never will. I understand that 60% of guests return which means that 4 people in 10 don't come back and those four will generally tell other of their experiences.

One final point to the management - get rid of the plastic figures adorning the entrance steps and shattered throughout the hotel. There may have been novel 25 years ago but they now look "tacky" and detract from the appearance of the hotel.

Stay at your peril

Room Tip: Good room, what good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JordiCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your opinion.

I´m sorry to read that the general standard of our rooms has not been up to your expectations.

We are aware of the need of a room refurbishment that we intend to carry out as soon as possible. However some of the points you have mentioned show that processes that are perfectly defined have not been followed up by our maintenance team and I promise to take the necessary measures to correct this immediately.

On the meanwhile maybe you would enjoy the services and facilities of one of the other hotels within the resort, whose information, pictures, etc. you can find in our web page. Both have been renewed recently and this might encourage you to visit us again.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed for a week in November and had a great time.
The Hotel very good for children by the looks of it although there were very few at this time of the year .
The rooms were clean and toiletries and towels replaced daily,
Only slight moan is they could do with a bit of modernisation.
The breakfast is 5 star affair although some times it can be very busy but once we worked out the best times to go it was great.
Highly recommend the Area the hotel is situated and you are spoilt for choice with places to eat , entertainment and shops

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pitlessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Dear Pitlessie,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion here on TripAdvisor.

I´m glad to know of your satisfaction with our services, facilities and location.

I also appreciate your suggestions, which will be taken into consideration in future refurbishments.

We will be happy to welcome you again in the near future. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information on prices and availability or for any special request. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,135 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,758 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
682 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Las Palmeras
H10 Las Palmeras
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $130 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Selenta, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing