We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with my husband, can't fault the hotel or staff that work here. Breakfast is huge variety, spoilt for choice. Spa facilities are amazing not particularly cheap but you are in a 5 star hotel complex, definitely work the money. Nothing is too much trouble and is in a great location to the resort too

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleyjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for posting your opinion on TripAdvisor.

I´m happy to know of your satisfaction with our service and facilities and hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon.

Do not hesitate to contact us through our web page for any information on prices or availability. We will be glad to assist you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,655 - 1,661 of 3,100 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here in a large party at the end of August 2013. We arrived late in the evening and got off to a great start. 5 rooms all next to each other overlooking the pool. We have disabled members of the party so a low floor was requested, which we got. We were welcomed with Champagne, and it was a pool party evening, which immediately gave that holiday feeling.

But, once we got to the room we were horrified. We have a 3 year old son with breathing difficulties and when we opened the door we were greeted with a very overpowering odour of mould. we looked up and the celiing in the entrance hallway of the room was black with mould. After complaining to reception, we were offered a room directly over the pool party at 11:30pm with a sleeping 3 year old. We had no other option and no offer of an upgrade to a better room without paying so we had to accept. Luckily the pool party finished 30 minutes later at midnight. This resort is a place i have been before and have had reasonable service and rooms, but at the other hotel (Cleopatra Palace). This hotel, although has had some modernisation in public areas, needs more TLC to its rooms and please please please replace the furniture on the terrace above the pool as it lets you down.

Another thing to avoid is the Evening Ball held in the theatre location. It is a special event and costs around 35Euros per person and includes food, drink and entertainment. The food was nice and had a wide range of seafood etc, and other items such as steak and pasta. The entertainment was quite basic and looked like an olympic opening ceremony without the glits and glamour. As for drinks, the event started at 7:30pm and by 8pm they had run completely out of soft drinks. By 8:30 the place was half empty as people had got fed up and left to go elsewhere. We had asked for them to get some more in from one of the other bars in teh complex but they refused (poor service). We also left early into the evening and complained to our reception asking for a full refund. They took our details and we are still waiting for their reply nearly a month later. Avoid this evening if you are offered it as you will have better food and drink with even better entertainment elsewhere.

Overall, I would recommend or visit this place again as it is not the place it used to be and the staff and processes still live on its past glory days.

Hotel needs updating, Customer services need a review and the food, although is ok, it is apparent you are cutting corners. This is the perfect theme througout the hotel, "Cutting Corners".

Room Tip: Facing reception, teh left side of the hotel is in better condition than the right, and is away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank craig_n_kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your opinion.

I´m very sorry to read that you have felt disappointed due to different aspects of our service and facilities.

As you don´t provide personal information I am unable to verify the room condition and take any measure to correct possible failures of the cleaning and maintenance process.

Regarding the "Evening Ball", I assume you are talking about our Gala Diner, starting at 7.30 pm and finishing at 11.00 pm. Although we receive many congratulations about this special nights, I understand that we can not please everybody. However I must point out that we normally retire the last table at 11.30pm.

Please, accept our most sincere excuses for the inconveniences.

We will be glad to welcome you at any of our hotels in Tenerife. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for information on prices and availability.

Best regards,


Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Superb location. Pool great. Beach just across the promenade. Room spacious, comfortable and clean. Public areas - and staff - bright and cheerful. Staff also very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great, once you accept it's a buffet and there are lots of other guests, especially from 9-9:30. OK, the rooms need to be refurbished (rather aged furniture, plastic curtain on the small and rather untidy shower!) - but we knew that before we booked and it's nothing to be alarmed about.
My very personal grumble ... for some reason, the pool area is fed with bizarre unmusical noise for a lot of the time - including late evening. Very disturbing :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pookydoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pookydoodle, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Pookydoodle,

Thank you very much for posting on tripAdvisor your nice comments about your recent stay with us.

I´m most pleased to know of your satisfaction and of course we will be more than glad to welcome you again whenever you desire.

Regarding the noise you have noticed, although I haven´t been informed of any anomaly I will try to find out its origin.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information about prces and availability, also for any querie or special request. We´ll be glad to take care of your booking.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Thank you again Mediterranean Palace for another wonderful holiday. We have visited this hotel on so many occasions now and it never disappoints. The cleanliness of inside and outside the hotel is excellent and the breakfast caters for everybody. The pool is very welcoming and always plenty of sunbeds. The location of the hotel is wonderful, there are so many shops and restaurants nearby. There is always a nice little touch as well, a rose was left in a wrapped flannel and chocolates on the pillow. We will be back again next year.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trish026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Trish026,

Thank you very much for posting on TripAdvisor your nice comments about your recent stay with us.

I´m most pleased to know of your satisfaction and I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon at any of our hotels.

I would also like to take the chance to thank you for your loyalty throughout the latest years, much appreciated.

Do not hesitate to contact us for any querie or special request. We will do our best to please you.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I consider this hotel as a property ideal for corporate usage and less for individuals unless you like a busy enviroment .The location is in the heart of the town and ideal for bars and restaurants without having to call a taxi or self drive.
Personally I prefer a quieter location and more intamite surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Robert W,

Thank you very much for posting your opinion here on Tripadvisor.

I´m sorry to read that you have found the hotel too busy. From the three hotels within our resort, this is the one focused on families and therefore in summer there are plenty of activities for all ages.

Maybe you would enjoy a future visit to its sister hotel, with a more relaxing and personalised service that might suite you better.

You can visit our web page for further information about rooms, prices and availability. If you decided to return, I would be pleased to take personal care of your reservation and ensure you the quietest location and best service. Do not hesitate to contact me for any assistance, I´ll be happy to help.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We were pleased to return to the Mediterranean Palace Hotel having stayed here four times previously. The staff were polite and helpful with nothing seeming too much trouble. There was an enormous range of lovely food and drink available at breakfast to suit all tastes. The pool is really large and the aqua gym was great fun. It was our wedding anniversary during the holiday and we were thrilled to find our room artistically decorated with swans formed from towels, handmade flowers, balloons and an anniversary message. There are many features which still make this hotel so attractive after 25 years of being open, such as the lake on the lower ground floor and the Roman styling of the outside areas. The only downside to mention is that the rooms do need some upgrading now. However, we thoroughly enjoyed the holiday and would love to stay here again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Margaret 43,

Thank you very much for sharing with us your impressions about your recent stay in our hotel.

I´m glad to know that you have chosen us for the celebration of such special occassion and I hope our attentions and courtesies have been up to your expectations.

Nothing could please us more than welcoming you back at any of our hotels. Do not hesitate to visit our web page for any information regarding prices and availability. We wil also happy to assist you with your reservation.

Warmest regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just returned from our fourth visit to this hotel. As previous reviews indicate, rooms are a little tired and need some updating, but our room was spotlessly clean, air conditioning worked, television (although not flat screen) worked perfectly well. There is a safe and fridge in the room. Double bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. Nice buzz around the pool area, and pool/sea view from our room was lovely. We stayed bed and breakfast and there was an excellent varied menu. Restaurant was busy at times and tables could have been tidied up quicker, but we always managed to find a made up table, no matter what time we went down for breakfast. Noticed this year that the sun loungers had been replaced and hopefully next year the parasols will also be replaced. As mentioned, rooms are a little tired, but the lovely atmosphere in the hotel more than makes up for this and location is absolutely fantastic - with the beach, bars, restaurants and shops right on the doorstep. We will definitely be booking this hotel again next year.

Room Tip: High floor - pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Deborah M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share here your nice comments about our hotel.

I´m glad to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay and of course we´ll be more than happy to welcome you again.

We are aware of the need of a room refurbishment that we intend to carry out as soon as possible. Until then we will pay extra attention to the cleaning and maintenance services to ensure the quality of our facilities.

I will send a copy of your comments to our Maître, so that he can verify the buffet service and ensure that no one waits for a clean table at the restaurant.

I would also like to take the chance to thank you for your loyalty throughout the latest years, much appreciated.

Do not hesitate to visit our web page for prices and availability or for any querie you migh have. We´ll be happy to assist you.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#33 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,695 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
637 reviews
1 mi away
Palm Beach Tenerife
Palm Beach Tenerife
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $130 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expo Hoteles, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing