We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit. Great hotel just need more staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“2nd visit. Great hotel just need more staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited this hotel back in January and we loved it. We have just returned again from an 8 night stay. We had pool view rooms which had lovely views and are a decent size. The best thing about this hotel is the location, right on the beach. Everything is great. Having paid for half board in January we decided on B&B this time as it works out about £16 each a night to go half board. The surrounding restaurants are much better quality food and it works out similar price. Definitely B&B in future. The staff are all pleasant and we really enjoyed our stay. Breakfast is superb so much choice but there is one huge irritant. Unlike the Cleopatra the Mediterranean has tea/coffee machines which are so slow and the queue in a morning is ridiculous. We tried different times but it was always the same. The jugs are also all nearly faulty resulting in scalds and spilling. Breakfast is also really busy with not enough staff to clear and reset tables. Only small things but it does need looking at as a lot of people were moaning. The Cleopatra have jugs of tea and coffee and this seems to work much better. We would definitely return to this hotel as the pool and location are fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Rachael N,

Thank you very much for your detailed and positive feedback, much appreciated. Let me also thank you for commenting on our breakfast service. The coffee machines had just been installed before your arrival and as soon as we noticed they were slightly slower that the precedents we added a few units to speed up the service. The problem has been solved now and the service is back to its usual rhythm.

I’m glad to know that the resort location and facilities have pleased you and we all hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon. Do not hesitate to contact us for anything you might need regarding your next booking. We’ll be pleased to take care of it.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano Cid
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    1,043
    597
    213
    149
See reviews for
859
1,392
50
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend last year and we absolutely loved it!

We were greeted by a stunning hotel with very helpful and friendly staff, our room was lovely and clean and was kept that way by the staff each morning, the breakfast buffet had a great selection and again the staff are on hand to help with whatever you need.

The hotel is right by the beach and main shopping area with plenty if bars and restaurants around. The area itself is beautiful and there is plenty to on the beaches if you get bird sun bathing.

Would recommend to anyone looking for a good fun holiday and likes to stay in nice hotels, it's not totally a 5 star itself but everything around it makes up the difference.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank partyparty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear partyparty123,

Thank you very much for your opinion. I can see it has been long since the last time you visited us and we hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again soon. As you have mentioned, our location is one of the best of the island, for not saying the best. Beaches, restaurants, shops…all together in what is known as the Golden Mile. We also try to offer the best possible service to our guests and the warmest welcome.

We will be happy to welcome you whenever you decide to return to Mare Nostrum Resort. Please, let us know any special request or need you might have. We´ll do our best to meet your expectations again.

Best regards,

Esteban Sedano Cid
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have just come back from another visit to this hotel. I choose it mainly because of it's location. It is on the promenade by the beach and also on the main shopping road which is full of restaurants. Everywhere is walkable and I feel safe staying there as a lone traveller.

The staff are very professional but I don't see anything of them apart from at breakfast and when I check in. I am sure if I needed something they would be very helpful. I have breakfast and then I am usually out of the hotel most of the day. I don't eat meals there as I prefer to try the restaurants.

There seem to be lots of facilities and things going on, including kids clubs and gym/water aerobics if you want them. There are also plenty of sun loungers although people seem to reserve them very early on.

I would possibly stay again but have been thinking about trying one or two of the other hotels a bit further down.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamgirlCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ideally situated opposite the safari centre in las Americas. The hotel is quite a big complex and the pool area is ideal for the size of the hotel. Free towels are available for the sun beds but you need a deposit of €15 refundable at the end of your stay.

Breakfast buffet bar is very good with lots of choice, don't expect English products tho. Omelet station is good. Lots of fresh fruit/cheese and cold meats as well has cava/fruit juice, tea and coffee.

Having stayed in this complex previously they have certainly spent money in certain areas, but could still do with a lick of pain here and there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank golazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Mr / Mrs. Golazzo,

I would like to thank you very much for your comments, much appreciated as they help us knowing if we are working on the right way and therefore continue working hard to satisfy you and make your stay an exceptional one.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast service; we appreciate your suggestion of offering more English products. At the moment we support trade and local products of the island and we also have a big variety of products for all nationalities, tastes and wishes.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel in a near future.

Bests regards,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location and is staffed by courteous well trained people. Breakfast is self service in a cafeteria type environment , saying that the food is pretty good although we expected waiter service in a 5 star hotel. Bedrooms are pretty tired and in need of a revamp but were cleaned well everyday with new towels provided daily. We booked a cheap deal direct with the hotel and thought the overall stay was worth the money. Pool bar serves the worst cocktails I have ever tasted, think they use fairy liquid to make a froth for the top??????? Agree with a previous post that the walls are thin , we could hear the couple in the next room speaking to someone on the phone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikegrant2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here back in April of 2010 for a week which a actually ended up being two weeks due to the ash cloud. I would recommend this hotel as its very clean and in a good location. the breakfast buffet had an excellent selection of everything from Iberian meats and cheeses, continental breakfast, cooked to order omelettes and cooked breakfasts and you can eat as much as you like!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I agree that some of the reviews of this hotel are overly harsh as it has many excellent points to commend it.
The location is perfect. Walk out the back gate and you are straight onto a beach and the promenade which in 10 minutes oneway takes you into the centre of Los Christianos or hours the other way to...........we never did find out as it goes on forever! It is also ideally placed for a couple of very nice commercial centres with a good range of quality shops.
The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful and work very hard to ensure your stay is not a disappointment. In particular the waiters/waitresses in the dining room deserve a special mention: in the evening theywork SO hard to successfully keep everything moving along smoothly. They could really do with a few extra hands to reduce the frantic pace at which they work.
Buffet dining is very good with everything (and a whole lot more!) you could want. There is a chef to prepare freshly cooked items at breakfast, lunch and dinner. We were on the half board option and especially appreciated the option of taking lunch or dinner, as we like to eat out in local restaurants in the evening.
The pool and surrounding area is very spacious so that although there were a lot of guests we never felt 'squashed'. There were enough activites during the day for those who wanted to participate and for those who didn't they didn't impinge on the serious business of relaxing in the sun. ( Loud music for about 1 hour at midday for the aqua aerobics and not all day long as a reviewer has posted)
And now to the rooms -- They are adequate size, clean and comfortable and have everything you would want----- but yes, The hotel is celebrating its 25th anniversary and room refurbishments are needed to warrant the 5* rating. I think this is why some people have been so critical as the rooms do not fulfill expectations.
Having said that I would happily return to this hotel for all the many positives I have mentioned,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toastedmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
1.1 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#7 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#10 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.4 mi away
H10 Conquistador
H10 Conquistador
#24 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Expo Hoteles, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing