We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The smell !!, needs some TLC” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The smell !!, needs some TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I had a look at this hotel in 2012, liked what we saw, once back home we booked a week at the end of Feb 2013. Never been in a 5 star hotel before was quite excited, had to pay 5 star monies and wait until 2013 before we could enjoy it.
Upon arrival all seemed good, glass of bubbley, a bell boy to help with luggage, smiley chatty reception, that's where the smiles ended. What miserable faces the staff seemed to have, sorry our cleaning lady gave us a couple.
Meal times, food was plenty but didn't think it was 5 star, certainly had better. The staff were after your plate,dishes before you had finished your last mouthful. Not a very calmy atmosphere, we were on holiday to chill out not to be rushed. Had to pay extra for a glass of water with your evening meal( what a cheek )
Our rooms were adequete, could have done with a deep clean and a lick of paint, I expected something alittle special THIS IS A 5 STAR HOTEL, paid 5 star monies.
Worse to come, smell from bathroom that filled all our room 3036 was sickening we had to move,which meant re packing suitcases and then unpacking not happy about, to be far staff were very quick to help and do. Sure management knew of this problem. Other guests complained of smells also in their rooms.
Not going to bore you with any more stuff, but owners and management of this hotel need to open their eyes, look at what prime location they have got, which is excellent, give this hotel some real TLC and make it a 5 star that stands out and to be proud of.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    960
    540
    195
    126
See reviews for
776
1,281
47
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

What can I say, stayed here for 1 week with husband and family friends. The hotel is out of this world. The staff are fantastic, the pool is beautiful. Breakfast you had everything from English to continental, always being replenished. Situated right on the beach and very close to bars and restaurants. Definitely going back, so sad to leave there.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sef77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of Las Americas in front of sandy beaches. You need just to do few steps from the swimming pool to be there. So, this is a plus. The swimming pool itself is very big and nice, with bar and restaurant and close to babies and kids facilities (baby club, microwave, bottle warmers, playground....).
Although we found it to be overpriced considering the food good but not excellent (for a 5 stars hotel) and the rooms not perfectly clean (a bit dusty). Moreover the half board didn't include any drinks, not even a jar of water and drinks were so expensive!
Good that they had vegetable and meat/fish puree food for my 7 months old son for lunch/dinner and we had a bottle warmer and a kettle in our room.
Overall, a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Valentinaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel end of February for one week.The location is perfect near to many restuarants, shops and beaches and the area is flat. We have been to Tenerife many times and have often stayed close to this hotel so this time we gave it a try.The staff were very welcoming on arrival and it didn,t take long for us to be shown to our room. I agree that the room was probably a bit dated but it was very clean comfortable and there was plenty of wardrobe space.The bathroom in our room was spotless and spacious.We went B&B and there was a good selection of food available. Being part of the Mare Nostrum Resort you could go and use the facilities of the other hotels in this complex. The public areas were clean and very nice. We had a nice holiday and we would stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cyprusaddict09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 4th - 9th march 2013. I would really like to know what determines the star rating of a hotel as this is not five star. We had a great holiday and I would stay there again so I will list the positives first.
The position of the hotel is fantastic, right in the centre of the up market part of Las Americas and a nice ten minute walk into Los Christianos. We had a room above the entrance which was great for people watching and we were not disturbed by the noise from the road.
The swimming pool is huge, with plenty of sunbeds available. Its very attractive, clean and tidy. Towels are available for a 15euro deposit.
All the staff were courteous and helpful. We went in the gym and participated in the aqua aerobics which was made enjoyable by the enthusiastic entertainment team. Also, free diving lessons were available, but I didn't see anybody having a go. So plenty on offer to keep you entertained, not in your face and always polite.
The food in the restaurant is of a very high quality and plenty of choice. Everything I had at breakfast and evening meal was delicious, I dread to think of how much weight I have put on.
The public areas of the hotel are spotless, very airy and impressive. The drinks are a bit expensive and I can't comment on the hotel entertainment as we like to go out in the evening and walk our meal off! The safe in the room is free.
The negatives.
The bedroom furniture is awful. The hotel is celebrating being open for 25years this month and they must still be using the original furniture. An old box 20inch Grundig telly stuck on top of the ugliest tall boy set of draws I have ever seen, with an opening in the bottom for a fridge you have to pay for, I woke up in the night and thought it was someone looming over me! very dated black furniture. Stippled plaster walls. The bathroom is just average Its such a shame, as it really spoils the hotel and how on earth can this be five star accommodation. When I have stayed in far nicer four star accommodation (Dream palace noelia sur, round the corner, for instance).
Our balcony light did not work, I went to reception on the Saturday, Sunday and Tuesday to ask for it to be fixed, eventually the bulb was replaced on the Wednesday.
The toilets at the swimming pool area stunk to high heaven, even first thing in the morning. The ladies is situated after the gents, the smell of urine was terrible. We stayed poolside all week and I only once saw a member of staff replacing tissues and emptying the bin, I never saw anyone actually cleaning them.
I was not offered nor did I see a hotel questionnaire.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here end of February 2013, for 1 week. The hotel is definitely not 5*!! Don't let me put you off by saying that though....it is a decent 3* hotel & is perfect for a week in the sun. The staff are friendly & helpful; although it always seems to take at least 10-15 minutes to be seen at reception as they are always seem so busy there! Our room was very dated & basic, but there was a fridge, a safe, a tv, plenty of wardrobe space (with hangers), comfy beds & a decent shower. Towels were changed whenever you requested them to be so, bed linen was fresh every 3 days or so.

The rooms were only surface cleaned & require a thorough deep clean (hence the difference between 3* & 5*). When we arrived, our bedroom floor was dusty & the fridge was filthy, so we asked for it to be cleaned (the staff were embarrassed about this & tended to it straight away....although there was minimal difference to be honest). If you want a hot drink in your room then take your own travel kettle, tea bags & mug as this was surprisingly not provided.

The breakfast was great & catered for all tastes, with plenty of healthy choices and as much as you want. Can't comment on the lunch or dinner menu as we were B&B. The location is excellent as the back of the hotel, via the pool, is straight onto the beach & accessible walkways all along the coastline in both directions. A nice selection of restaurants and shops can be found literally 2 mins away, accessed via the front of the hotel. For those with mobility problems, virtually everywhere in the vicinity was flat & easily accessible with lifts to the upper malls of the shopping areas.Transfer to & from the airport is straightforward & roughly 30 minutes.

All in all, a decent enough hotel for an averagely priced & cheerful week in the sun...with a great breakfast & plenty of shops, bars & restaurants all within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeeSept2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
310 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Very large hotel and very busy, particularly at meal times, although the food was good with lots of choice.
Rooms are pleasant although a little tired looking.
Staff are friendly and helpful
Joined in the water aerobics at the pool, I was on the beach at the time so that will indicate how loud the music was, so not the most relaxing place to stay. On the whole I think the loud music was the only negative experience for me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank awayagainBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#3 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz
Aparthotel Parque de la Paz
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#36 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#16 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Property: Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing