We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Fantastic Time at The Medterranean Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is the 5th time we have stayed at the hotel and I guess that is a good indication we like it however this is the 1st time we have posted a review! The hotel is for us perfectly situated at the very edge of the resort bordering Los Christianos and has a very upmarket feel with an abundance of good quality bars and restaurants on the hotels doorstep as well as some very good quality shopping and has direct access to a lovely beach. Check in is always very well organised and as fast as I have experienced with the added touch of a glass of champagne and most importantly the staff are friendly, imformative and welcoming. Our room was on the 5th floor with a beautiful sea view, room safe,wifi and fridge were provided foc and the tv had the best selection of English channels we have experienced with all the main ones plus a selection of satelite channels. There was a huge double bed, good wardrobe and storage space and a lovely bathroom complete with power shower. The hotel complex has an abundance of facilities and a huge swimming pool with ample sunbeds, good to see a hotel having a policy of not allowing the reserving of beds prior to 9am and actually enforcing it! On this occasion we opted for half board and for a large hotel the quality of both breakfast and dinner was good with enough variety to ensure even the fussiest eater would find something and finding a table was never an issue. Many people seem to debate whether the hotel is 4 or 5 star as claimed? It probably isn't the most luxurious 5 star you could find but certainly fantastic value for money, better than any 4 star hotel we have stayed at and many costing much more which is a point I think many reviewers seem to have lost sight of. This is a great hotel suitable for all types and I have no doubt we will be returning again and again. Thanks to the staff and management for another great holiday!

Room Tip: Pool and se viw rooms are probably quieter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodlife50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,998)
There are newer reviews for Mediterranean Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 2,998 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

This Hotel (good for families and couples) is in the best location and is part of the Mare Nostrum resort made up of 3 Hotels, the others being Cleopatra (good for older client and couples wanting slightly quieter surroundings) and Sir Anthony (luxury). It is situated between Playa de las Américas and Los Cristianos, both within walking distance but far enough away, also the beach is right outside the gate by the swimming pool.
Just outside the front of the Hotel is a new looking area full of shops and great restaurants. Directly behind them is a strip of bars all with different singers, bands or karakoe but as its isolated to only a handle full of bars its a great place to have an evening drink and be entertained for all ages. The Hotel is large with a massive pool and very clean but unfortunately now is very dated. Really really needs a revamp to match its surroundings. But if you dont mind that the decor is dated/warn and can appreciate that it is clean then would highly recommend, especially worth upgrading to room with own plunge pool on your balcony.

Room Tip: Room with plunge pool recommended
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Mrs. LizMLondon,

my name is Estban Sedano , General Manager at Mare Nostrum Resort. I wish to express my sincere gratitude for having taken time to write such a detailed summery of your experience at Tenerife and about your stay at Mare Nostrum Resort.
Your feedback is very important for us, as it gives us the chance to improve to achieve the standards you expect.

On behalf of the Mare Nostrum Resort team we hope to have the chance to welcome you soon again at Mare Nostrum Resort.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stayed at Mediterranean Palace for three days before a week at Hotel San Blas in Golf de Sur. The Hotel is very dated and tatty round the edges, Best viewed once dark. Although in need of a complete refurbishment the hotel and room was very clean.
As for people moaning about 5 star rating, star ratings have nothing to do with quality or service, being based solely on amenities, 24hr room service, gym, concierge, lift etc. The price tends to give an indication of quality, you are not really going to find luxury for under £200-£300 per night. Plenty of 3 or 4 star boutique hotels can offer a luxury stay if you pay the price. Unfortunately you get what you pay for.
We had a sea/pool facing suite which was functional except for one of the t.v’s and the mini bar not working. The room was very spacious and comfortable, however I am not entirely sure why, the room had two bathrooms which were both identical?!.
Breakfast was excellent, the usual multi nationality cuisine, which cannot be faulted; did not eat in hotel apart from that, as there are nice restaurants surrounding the hotel.
Staff friendly and attentive, all in all an enjoyable stay, would stay for a few days again in the future as very cheap hotel in great central location for promenade walks and decent restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayden F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Mrs. Haydenfoster,

First of all I have to thank you for sharing your experience at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel with us, I am Esteban Sedano General Manager at Mare Nostrum Resort.

In reference to the television and the minibar we have to apologise, in order to eradicate this kind of situations we beg you to contact your reception as we have a 24 hours technical service a the Hotel for all this kind of problems, we are working to make your stay as comfortable a possible and I assure you we will do our best to arrange everything.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again at the Mediterranean Palace. I assure you we will continue working hard.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager Mare Nostrum Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

this is our eighth visit, and my second review on this hotel, and it still feels like the first time. this time we stayed b/b, food always good staff pleasant and rooms clean, yes they are a little dated, but i look at the bigger picture, its in the best area, we got a glass of champagne on arrival plus being an eclub member, we were invited to a cocktail party in the chill out bar on the roof, a bottle of champagne on ice in our room and later on in the week a bottle of wine we still enjoy our stay at this hotel and the surrounding area, one of our favourite bars- lazy daze, has now relocated to the same block as the george next to noelia sur hotel, a lovely stroll were you will get a warm welcome from mick lorraine and danny. we recommend both hotel and bar.

Room Tip: join eclub on hotel website before you travel.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mapaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esteban Sedano C, Director General at Mediterranean Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Mr mapaly,

thank you very much for your comments on behalf of your stay at the Mediterranean Palace Hotel. Let me introduce myself, I am Esteban Sedano General Manager at Mare Nostrum Resort and I have to give you my sincere gratitude for trusting us once again for your holidays in Tenerife and for sharing your experience with us on this web page. It gives us power to continue working hard on the good direction.

We really hope to welcome you soon again at Mare Nostrum Resort.

Yours sincerely,
Esteban Sedano
General Manager
Mare Nostrum Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel must have received its 5 star rating 20 years ago. The rooms are shabby and not very clean. The bathroom had a pungent smell of urine; the tiles were grimy and the bath had several poor quality repairs done to its enamal base. The sun beds were uncomfortable and the sun shades torn or had holes in them. Dont expect hot food; you will be disapointed. Paid for half board but ate out as food was so bad. Any positives you might ask. The pool view was nice from the fourth floor!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

If you want better go to cleopatra palace. It's ok here but hill view rooms are a bit out of date ! The location is fantastic though ! Sports bar should introduce sky sports. No Ryder cup or prem league football ! Pool area and entertainment is really good ! Pretty good hotel !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wysie588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Booked into this hotel bed n breakfast in late September 2012. We were given a mountain view room. Yes you could see Teide and the mountains but unfortunately if you wanted a peaceful room this was not it over the main road and noisy until late. Also the rooms need updating and refurbishing the shower in the bathroom had mould in it. There was some renovation work going on in the foyer downstairs which we were unaware of during booking. Breakfast was like a football field I have never stayed in a hotel where people didn't at least have hot drinks served to them at the table. This was like organised chaos and an accident waiting to happen you had to get your own teas and coffees. The food wasn't great the fruit seemed to me to be of a substandard quality and not very good. I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: Do not book a mountain room if you want peace and quiet. Ask for pool or seaview room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lassieinblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.1 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#6 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Tenerife
Sol Tenerife
#32 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,500 reviews
1.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,694 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa de las Americas
Tigotan Lovers & Friends Playa d...
#5 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediterranean Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediterranean Palace Hotel

Address: Avda de las Americas s/n | Playa del Camison, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#22 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: $136 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mediterranean Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 535
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect choice for a family vacation, this gorgeous hotel on the Playa de las Americas - the best beach in Southern Tenerife - has the largest, most exciting and safest Kids Club on the island. It is located right next to the best leisure center and shopping area of Tenerife - making it the ideal place for all members of the family to spend an unforgettable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Expo Hoteles, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mediterranean Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Mediterranean Palace Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
Hotel Mediterranean Palace Tenerife
Med Palace Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing