We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average hotel, more 3 stars than 4”
Review of La Siesta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Siesta Hotel
Broendby, Denmark
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“average hotel, more 3 stars than 4”
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Have stayed here for 2 weeks. it is an average family hotel, with 60% Russian guests.
Food was boring and almost the same for 2 weeks. We had half-pension, and after one week we were tired from the same food, and kids disco with the same 5 music numbers, which was actually played very loud, that was a little bit annoying.
Room was OK.but one afternoon I killed one cockroach in the room, BAD experience.
The maid cleaned (made look like she did) every day, but we always found her long black hair after. One day I killed some night butterfly(moth) by the door, and it was lying on the floor for the following 5 days.(so much for cleaning), but she made bed everyday.
We stayed in Alexander room and we got bottle of wine as a gift, and I poured it in the toilet straight away, because it tasted horribly.
For breakfast you can get pancakes ( which you need to wait for to be fried) eggs, bacon, sausages, fruits, muesli, some very bad bread, which you can only eat if toast it, and some croissants and other danish.
For dinner you can get meat, fish, different salads, vegetables, soup, cakes, fruits ( be fast if you want to get good one) and ice-cream.
Too bad, that parents allowed their kids to take food themselves - it often went bad. But restaurant is very big and there was always place for everybody.
Once in the week they had Canaries day, where they made shrimps and mussels.
We stayed in room 115, witch was actually close to the stairs, and we were often disturbed by people who got up in 7 in the morning to put towels on the sunbeds. So when you come to the pool at 9-10 there are no places left.
Every day at restaurant , when you order your drink , you will get a receipt (KEEP THEM), to the day you check out. All the drinks, and everything you buy at the hotel will be put on your room number.
We paid 28 euro for safe-case and 40 euro for full internet access in too weeks, they told us it would work great on the 1th floor, but it was very slow in the room, but even on the balcony it was not that fast.
Pool was warm and clean enough, but the most annoying thing was kids with water guns, who shot in all directions. A lot of sun beds were half broken.
They have a small gym, which works from 10 to 18, there are not so many machines, but you can do cycling, running , and stepping, and lift some weights.
We didn't try the spa, but it was very used by other guests. We found some manicure and so on outside the hotel, which was much cheaper than in the hotel
Hotel is situated close to the center, shopping, bars, disco, everything is max. 5 min away
The beach which is close to the hotel are mainly rocks with big waves ( good for surfing), but the more sandy beach is 10 min away.
We also asked in the hotel about renting a car, but the woman in charge, was not so serviceminded, so we got the car from the opposite street for the same money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fru_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    844
    496
    177
    113
See reviews for
805
910
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

When I looked up this hotel before I came I was scared. But when I got to Tenerife I was surprised. Things that people said weren't as bad as people were claiming. The shows were good. My kids really enjoyed them. My youngest daughter(6) got her picture taken with a 5kg Golden eagle and a 15 foot yellow python. She loved it. The food was ok. Always a good choice and different every day. Ok the hotel looked dated in some area's. The pool area. could do with work. The staff were friendly and if you tried to say. a few words in spainish(ie
hello, thankyou and goodbye) it
really made their day. My only complaints were that the pool was.
salt water and that people were
putting towels on the sunbeds the
night before.(sad). Also the drink
are pricey but beer(local) was ok.The location is really good. Lots of shops, rasturants and bars. It meets the needs of everyone. One tip get a mini bar(€25) and there fill it then when it's empty fill it with stuff from any of the local supermarkets. Dead cheap. 67cents for a can of coke.




shopping, restaurants and bars

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrlswrpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Great hotel, central to all facilities, good food, we had breakfast and lunch every day. Staff were all very helpful. Only thing I though was a diadvantage was the fact that you don't pay cash for drinks or icecream etc-it is all charged to your room. Also if you do have poolside room be ready to hear all nightly entertainment.

Room Tip: For a quieter holiday maybe not a poolside room as entertainment goes on untill 12 o clock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishsunlovers3of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is our 3rd visit to La Siesta Hotel, the first being 5 years ago, and comparing our visit back to 2006 there are noticable differences.

The cleanliness of the rooms has not changed, and remains at a high standard. We stayed at the Best tenerife 2 years ago and La Siesta is far superier for cleanliness.

The daily activities are good fro the kids and the team that run it are fantaastic. Quite a number of adults took part in these activities as well.

The pool was absolutely filthy for about 7 days ( the pool cleaner had to take time off work for a personal matter) and we had to complain, along with a number of other people in the hotel, for around 4 days before anything was done about it!

The pool area was not very clean. when we first visited La Siesta, an employee stacked up all the sun loungers everynight and then cleaned the pool area. It seems like the hotel needed to make some savings in this department as it wasnt cleaned on a daily basis and the lifeguard gave up his duties from 5pm to 6pm to stack the sun loungers..

The prices at the pool bar for food is exactly the same as it was 5 years ago, however the drinks have increased. We hired out a fridge and buy cans from the local supermarket to fill up with soft drinks for during the day.

The sun loungers were taken really early. I spoke with one person who came in at 4.30 and saw that there wasnt hardly a spare sun lounger available due to the towels being placed on them before people went to bed!

The restaurant staff numbers appear to have been reduced and at breakfast only two settings are set at each table. As there was four of us we had to go and find cutlery/crockery for us to have breakfast. The food standard has declined drastically - there wasnt really any selection for the children (apart from chips & pizza some nights). We ended up having to buy them their meal somewhere later in the evening.

Overall, like most other places, the Hotel appears to be cutting back to save money, and it is noticable. Decided after staying there this year that the negatives outweigh the positivies and we wont be going back. Other people we spoke to who had been to La SIesta a number of times previously also said that they noticed a decline in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mine-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Firstly I would like to say that I am by no means a snob when it comes to hotels - to my mind a holiday is a holiday & there are certain things to be expected from a hotel (such as repetitive meals, towels on sunbeds etc) & having read some of the previous reviews on this hotel before leaving I did think that some people were being very picky or just generally expecting too much........ however having now experienced the siesta for myself I would urge people to book somewhere else - there are many other 4 star hotels nearby which are much better, such as the 'vulcano' & the 'best tenerife'
Upon arrival at the hotel on Thurs 14 July at 9.30pm we were casually advised that our room wasnt ready & we would be sent to another hotel ( the hotel gala) for the evening - we accepted this, as mistakes happen, and duly made the trip to the gala. Whilst in reception we were told by a passing guest that the same had happened to her party, and also at least 3 other guests she had spoken to - so this is clearly a known issue at this hotel. We returned to the siesta the next morning at 11.30am (as we had been told to) & were advised our room would not be ready until 12.30pm - so again we accepted this and went for a walk. We returned at 12.45pm to then be told the room was still not ready, and would be another hour. We eventually got our room key at 2.15pm! This was a wasted day as the pool area was extremely busy and we had no chance of getting a sunbed, and we basically spent our first day hanging round waiting for our key, getting unpacked and settled.
We thought that we would not allow this to ruin our hols and so got up the next morning ready to start our hols - we woke up at 6.30am to find that 95% of sunbeds already had towels on them, and had to scrabble around to find one. We noticed on day 3 that most people were actually putting towels on beds before going to sleep, as we were returning to the hotel at around 1.30 am each night to see most beds taken. Hotel staff were uninterested, so we thought if you cant beat em, join em, and did the same. The pool aea was very nice, large clean pool ( a man came every day to test the water with a probe for cleanliness etc, very impressed) with a lifeguard every day. No Lilos allowed. Tip - pool is salt water.
In spanish hotels it is, in my opinion, to be expected that food will be repetitive, and meat cooked rare however there is usually something to be found which can be enjoyed. I did not find this in the siesta -- we were warned about the food by an old couple who told us they returned every year, but after this year would not be coming back. The food was awful, this is the only word for it. We ended up swapping our evening meal for lunch every day, as for lunch we could make do with a small salad - and then we ate out every night. I do not know how the siesta can be rated as a 4 star - the hotel vucano which is 2mins away is also a 4 start however there is a world of difference between the hotels in terms of the food. We also stayed ina 3 star hotel in gran canaria last year and ate much better there.
We also encountered some smaller issues whilst staying in the hotel - the safe broke twice and also our room key broke & the locks needed to be changed. On both occassions we found the staff rude, although to be fair there was some staff who were polite enough.
As I used to live in Tenerife and know the area very well, the issues we experienced were not the end of the world as I knew the best places to eat but for people who may not know the island, or have not budgeted to have to eat out so often this may be an issue. If you are truly wishing to stay in a 4 star hotel then do not pick the siesta, it is ours (and may other guests that we spoke to's) opinion that this is no longer a 4 star and needs to be reassessed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sambam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We get fed up of reading the bad reviews. I'm sorry but if people return like us, surely it can't be bad.
This was our 3rd time, and enjoyed it just as much as the last two visits.
They've added extra little things to the rooms, new doors on the bathroom and a new flat screen tv in the room. The tv will now stop one continued complaint we read, no english tv. On certain channels you can now select english by pressing the menu button and then go down to sound.
The evening entertainment was varied yet again, and we saw many acts we hadn't before.
The food was varied as well, with many meals changed. I would recommend the fresh fish cooked in front of you, canary potatoes and the orange ice cream.
The service gets better each time we go. Treat the staff how you would like to be treated. If you speak two simple spanish words, Hello - Hola and Thank you - Gracias, to them they appreciate it. Special mention has to go to the two senior waiting staff Enrique and Manuel? and the busy bees who are Tino and Carmen. All remembered us from before and gave us warm welcomes and fond farewells every day.
Summed up, La Siesta is a wonderful hotel in a quiet location within walking distance of the 'noisy' part with the advantage of being perfect for families.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club Alexandre room, spa access and pool view included
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ErdyCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

having been to the la siesta a few years ago i had no problem going back.
All was as expected, the room and hotel in general were clean although the pool area could get a bit messy, not the staffs fault, just lazy holidaymakers who can't be bothered to use the many bins provided. Another issue is that a lot of the sun beds were a bit worse for wear and a big pile of them sat forlornly in the corner of the pool area looking rather unsightly.
Food was good and plentiful and the dining room was calm and relaxed. Beer and soft drinks were on the high side but wine prices at dinner were out of order. I did not see many people bothering with wine at dinner. Think the hotel has shot itself in the foot with their pricing, we are not all russian oligarcs.
The position of the hotel is very central and i would recommend paying extra to have a room facing the pool.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arnoldlayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de las Americas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gala
Hotel Gala
#29 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
Hotel-Apartamentos Andorra
#19 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Siesta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Siesta Hotel

Property: La Siesta Hotel
Address: Av. Rafael Puig Lluvinan, 21, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Siesta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your La Siesta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
La Siesta Resort
La Siesta Tenerife
Hotel La Siesta Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing