We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep going back”
Review of La Siesta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Siesta Hotel
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Keep going back”
Reviewed May 12, 2011

Where do i start??! My partner have been coming here every June for the last 4 years. In love with it. Has a lovely homely feel. Not modern like a lot of others but impeccable hygeine and amazing staff.
Food- Gorgeous. Always hot. Plenty of variety.
Personally we avoid the barbeque night after we went year 1. Food doesnt seem to be up to the same standard as in the resteraunt daily and it is a very long wait in between courses. Other than food is great.
Location-Ideal, smack abng in the middle. posher area to your left and the fun chavvy area to your right. Both within a 10 min walk.
Rooms- Very good. plenty of space. Always clean. Good facilities. We opt for a superior room which includes pool view and an hour per person free in the spa every day. Well worth it just for that alone!!
All in all we cannot fault the place, hence us keep on returning.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ellieb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    886
    516
    185
    119
See reviews for
865
946
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Have just returned from La Siesta on what was a very relaxing holiday. Having read previous reviews was very apprehensive about what to expect. Can only give an account of our experience at the hotel. Arrived in the late afternoon and was greeted by very friendly and professional gentleman on the reception desk who checked us in. We had paid for an Alexandre suite and was given a room which did have a pool view but was immediately above the outside entertainment area. As we are not late night people (tend to retire at 11.00pm) we went back to reception and asked to be moved to a less noisy room. This was facilitated on the Monday morning as the hotel was full. New room was in a perfect location on the 1st floor, overlooking pool and near the Spa which we used most days and was really worth the extra ugrade.
The breakfast was really good, the nearest to an English breakfast that I have ever had abroad but the sausages are never the same as in England. Plenty to eat and drink. Dinner was O.K, salad bar and soup really good and you would always find something to eat at the hot counter no matter how fussy you are. Restaurant staff were very effecient, in fact too effecient as they sometimes took our food away before we had eaten it. We decided to go up one at a time to avoid this happening.
The swimming pool was lovely and not too cold but was salt water. Always got a sun lounger and parasol.
Plenty to see and do and we visited the Railway Tavern across the road and saw a very funny comedian. Went to 2 markets on a Sunday and Thursday and got some good bargains.

Please don't listen to all the bad reviews as I feel that some people expect 5* plus for the money which the hotel is not, but a good, clean, central location and friendly hotel. If you speak to the staff curteously then you will receive the same back. A waitress fell over in the restaurant and was obviously hurt. The next day we enquired with the head waiter on her condition and he was quite taken aback that we had asked after her. He always remembered us after that.
We would definately go back to La Siesta and may do so in September but book direct with them.

Room Tip: get room overlooking swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Previous research stated food was bad, so just booked bed and breakfast. Hotel not clean above or below eyelevel, towels grey and worn along with the torn bedsheets. No pool towels or prior warning to bring them! Staff unhelpful and grumpy. Only foreign language tv to match the all language hotel entertainment, all except ENGLISH!!!!!! The only positive is its central location. As for the resort of Las Americas, give it a miss unless your prepared to be robbed for everyhing from food and drink to everyday items. I'le stick to the friendly resorts of TURKEY from now on. PS tourists are now made to feel an imposition to the resort as opposed to a boost to their economy!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de las Americas hotels

bolton
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Stayed here over Easter and had a great holiday. The hotel is in a great location, 2 mins from the sea and under 10 mins from the safari centre. The hotel is very clean and the food is fairly good, excellent fruit and salads to choose from. The hot buffet was not quite as good and slightly limited in choice. The staff are quite friendly. The entertainment looked and sounded poor and was very noisy until midnight. We really struggled to get a sunbed and usually didnt bother as the hotel was full. Front desk were very helpful. All in all the location is great and the hotel is fine as long as you get yourself a good deal, we paid £100 per night for 3 people full board which I think is great value!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon4101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This could be a good hotel if they just got some of the smaller things right.

When we first arrived, we were greeted with a grumpy (male) receptionist - never a great start to any stay.

We were given a room on the 3rd floor (If I were you, I'd recommend the 2nd floor as the lifts to the 3rd floor are at the opposite side of the building...bit of a walk!) but the receptionist didn't bother to ask if we wanted to use the safe. We did but assumed it was free (it's €2 a day), so had to walk back to reception (again, it's a bit of a walk from the 3rd floor) to get the key.

Rooms were fine. Good size and nice balcony (we were facing the hotel next door) - a double bed would have been nice rather than two singles that kept moving apart. Rooms were cleaned everyday (around 3pm) and towels changed.

Breakfast could be improved by actually cooking the food (bacon looked boiled and greasy - sausages looked microwaved) and by cleaning the utensils occasionally (spatula for picking up the fried eggs was covered in old egg). We ended up eating breakfast down the road. Coffee was fine though!

- Indoor spa/sauna etc was nice, but wasn't included on our booking (€15 for two).
- Wifi was non-existent on the 3rd floor - connected to somewhere else instead!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karma77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Just returned from a week long stay at the La Siesta - we went for a relaxing week in the sun and this is what we got. The rooms are comfortable and clean, the beds are pretty comfy compared to many other hotels I have stayed in, in Spain.
The food was nice, lots of fresh fruit and vegetables which I like, I particularly enjoyed the Mexican themed night. The restaurant staff were very pleasant and friendly but watch out for other guests if you are younger like me the older generation seem to think it is ok to barge in front of you and push you out of the way.
We never had any trouble getting a lounger by the pool and there always seemed to be plenty going spare, the swimming pool was really nice and always plenty going on whether it be Aqua Aerobics, Water Polo etc.
The best thing that La Siesta has in my opinion is it's location - a five minute walk one way to the nice area where the Safari Centre is or 5 minute walk to the beach, no need for any taxis.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura-Beth19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chick1981
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2011

hotel is ok. I don't think it's a 4 star. Rooms are ok, not too bad but could be updated. Food is ok but the same everyday. Location is good but half a mile or so to the beach. Reception staff are unhelpful and most restaurant staff are rude and horrible. Animation/entertainment team are good, just the 2 of them. If you are unable to get a late check out they don't offer a courtesy room, you have to use the gym showers, not nice if you have children. Overall if you get a cheap deal it's ok but not worth full price.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chick1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.6 mi away
Hotel Troya
Hotel Troya
#38 of 58 in Costa Adeje
1,541 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Gala
Hotel Gala
#28 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
1,643 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Best Tenerife
Hotel Best Tenerife
#25 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#27 of 58 in Playa de las Americas
2,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Siesta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Siesta Hotel

Property: La Siesta Hotel
Address: Av. Rafael Puig Lluvinan, 21, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#9 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Siesta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Siesta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Siesta Hotel Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas
La Siesta Resort
La Siesta Tenerife
Hotel La Siesta Tenerife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing